We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit gimmicky”

Oxford Castle & Prison
Book In Advance
More Info
US$14.51*
and up
Oxford Castle Unlocked Entrance Ticket Including...
Ranked #4 of 20 Museums in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Oxford Castle & Prison explores the 1000-years of Oxford's History. Led by one of our costumed characters, the rich history of the castle with a prison at its heart will be revealed to you. Climb St. George's Tower and take in the stunning views before descending into the atmospheric crypt, along the 18th century prison wing and into archaic man-made mound.
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Although the visit was informative (and I did learn a lot), the tour was a bit gimmicky with people being put in the stocks and others throwing toy rats at them. Probably well worth taking kids but not really an adult tour. The cafe next door took 40 minutes to heat four bowls of soup!!

Thank gill409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"guided tour"
in 201 reviews
"period costume"
in 23 reviews
"malmaison hotel"
in 23 reviews
"great attraction"
in 16 reviews
"great tour"
in 75 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 67 reviews
"spiral staircase"
in 17 reviews
"interesting history"
in 23 reviews
"worth the climb"
in 20 reviews
"interesting visit"
in 18 reviews
"come alive"
in 16 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 30 reviews
"mound"
in 131 reviews
"dolls"
in 144 reviews
"tower"
in 409 reviews
"character"
in 150 reviews
"highwayman"
in 42 reviews
Filter

215 - 219 of 1,749 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

We visited here on Friday and would say its a little expensive for the time it lasts but very enjoyable. The tour lasts around an hour and is full of interesting information. We have visited quite a lot of castles and would say this one is average. The view from the tower is well worth the 100+ steps.

Thank emzii_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

Came here with my family and really enjoyed the story and history behind the castle. The guide was fun and made the tour as interactive as possible. Would defiantly recommend a visit really worth the time thank you.

Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unlocked, Guest Relations Manager at Oxford Castle & Prison, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear Paul,

Thank you so much for your feedback on your recent visit to Oxford Castle Unlocked; it is wonderful to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience at our site with your guide, the Empress Matilda, and we hope you'll return again in the future!

Best wishes,
Duty Manager - Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

You need to pay in order to even enter into this castle or indeed to even climb the small hill adjoining it. We took the advice of others and skipped the overpriced tour.

Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unlocked, Guest Relations Manager at Oxford Castle & Prison, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear Sara,

It is disappointing to hear that your recent visit to Oxford Castle Unlocked was anything short of amazing; here at the castle, we endeavour to offer our guests an experience which will last a lifetime.
For health and safety reasons we can only offer guided tours through the castle site, and the £1 entry fee for the castle mound goes toward the conservation of this historical landmark.

We hope to see you return to the castle to enjoy one of our guided tours in the future.

Best wishes,
Duty Manager - Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2017

I'll be honest, i didn't want to go here. I love history and castles but hate guided tours so try to avoid them. I had a great time here though, the guide was dressed up and a bit cheesy but he was interesting to listen to. Only a small part of the tour is about the castle, most of it is to do with what went on when it became a prison. It was interactive but there was no pressure to join in if you didn't want to. There is a photo op at the end which was a nice touch. There is a gift shop and a small cafe opposite to sit in if you have to wait a bit for your tour to start.

Thank Jenna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unlocked, Guest Relations Manager at Oxford Castle & Prison, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear Jenna,

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback on your recent visit to Oxford Castle Unlocked; it's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your tour with us.
We endeavour to cater to all audiences, and ages here at Oxford Castle, and to make our tours enjoyable for each and every one of our guests.

We hope that you will visit us again in the future, hopefully to hear more stories from another of our amazing guides!

Best wishes,
Duty Manager - Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oxford Castle & Prison also viewed

 

Been to Oxford Castle & Prison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing