We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
9
23
25
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
23
25
9
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2011

A lovely welcome was received on arrival and the owners were very accomadating to the fact we were an hour earlier than expected.. our room was ready which was great! We arrived into Oxford by train which is opposite Becket House. Our room was ok, very dated and not particularly clean with a sink in the room, our bathroom was downstairs 2 flights.. I had the worst nights sleep here ever, I just did not feel comfy in the room at all. We spent most of the day out and arrived back just after midnight. We got up for breakfast which for beans on toast was a real let down!! We were sat at the train station waiting for our train with an hour to go due to wanting to get out!! NOT GREAT!

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Princessperkzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Perfect position (if you're travelling by train), friendly, helpful people, very good breakfast, at reasonable price. Slept well.

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ELear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

this BAB was excellent the location was great very close to the train station and very close to the city center the room we stayed in was very comfortable. also the briefest was very good we enjoyed our stay here very much great for money because its in the middle of oxford and usually its more expensive.

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harrold1121610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

A lovely little guest house with very frindly owners. yes, the rooms and the house are a bit old but really well maintained and very clean. It just addes to the atmosophere. We would prefer this kind of accomodation anytime to a sterile hotel. Great breakfast to set you up for the day. Very convienient location - only a short walk into town.
Well, we feel in love with Oxford and we will for sure be back and we will make sure we stay at the Becket Guest House again.
Thanks guys.

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karin-Oliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

I cannot fault the location. I had trouble booking direct with the owner and eventually did it via an agency. Becket House wasn't impressive from the outside; a broken window that has been taped up months if not years ago lacks kerb appeal. We had a double en-suite room. It was clean but for the money it was in very poor decor and repair. It had a random collection of old, cheap, (some broken) mis-matched furniture. The paper was peeling off the walls and ceiling and the paint chipped. Electrical cables were just run round the walls and nailed in place. One ran across the floor. There was green algae growing on the taps. To take our mind off the algae pictures had been cut out of a magazine and glued to the wall. The TV (which was new and worked well) was immediately to the right of the bed so you couldn't watch it from there. The bed linen was old and grey and the blankets were like something you give to the dog. They didn't look clean although I don't doubt they were. There was absolutely no cushioning in the mattress or pillows. Everything in the room looked to be the cheapest and any repair or decoration was the standard of amateur DIY. The owners appear to have tried to deflect the shabbiness by sticking pieces of contemporary furnishing, decoration and fittings here, there and everywhere. There was very little street noise but the property generated plenty of its own. It seems that some of the en-suites (like ours) have a Sani-flo/macerator toilet that deafens and shakes the room when you flush and from early morning I could hear and feel them going. Combined with people who didn't have an en-suite walking up and down stairs on paper thin, un-cushioned carpets and it was difficult to sleep past 7 AM. The breakfast room was light and tidy. Breakfast was OK but I've had much better. The couple who served us, who I presume are the owners, we very pleasant and chatty. I have seen several comments that say for the location the price it is very reasonable. We spotted a few B&B's while walking round that were in the same sort of central locations and same price bracket, so shop around. Apart from a good location and friendly couple there's nothing at all to recommend this place.

Room tip: Oxford is easy for walking and buses
Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Balgownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews