We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food and lovely place ”
Review of Gee's Restaurant

Gee's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Gee's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #111 of 687 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: US$10 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Our 2013 transformation remains loyal to Gee’s traditions of providing quality food & service in the most beautiful restaurant in Oxford. Whether flooded with mid-morning sunlight or under Oxford’s evening sky, Gee’s is the place to enjoy exceptional food in unique surroundings. The tables on the outdoor terrace are surrounded by the dense foliage of topiary & potted plants – & if you like the plants, some are available for sale. The new interior is filled with trees, new furniture, soft colours & lighting.Of course the important aspect of the new Gee’s is the cooking. A brand new kitchen incorporates a wood fired oven & a charcoal grill; food acknowledges the continued interest in the origin of ingredients, seasonality & the variety & abundance of local Oxfordshire produce.Gee’s remains the place in Oxford to enjoy a fabulous meal. There are dishes for sharing & dishes in two sizes to suit different appetites & times of the day. Expect great food to suit every occasion, served by knowledgeable & friendly waiters, in this beautiful, iconic glasshouse in North Oxford.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely restaurant, previously it was owned by a florist :-) Lighting is nice, the restaurant is comfortable. The food is very tasty (octopus and chickpeas with chili, and don’t miss the pasta with crab). Our waiter Alvaro looked after us very well. We enjoyed the dinner, service and ambiance. Very good experience overall.

Thank Tanagra93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OxfordGees, Manager at Gee's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Tanagra93,

We are very pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your evening. Alvaro is very happy you took the time to compliment his service in the form of a review. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (970)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 971 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Gorgeous venue, liked a lot the fresh bred and the tea o time cocktail...
The linguine with crabs where quite average however is definitely a place to visit for a nice brunch :)

Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OxfordGees, Manager at Gee's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear David,

Thank you for your review. We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit to Gee's. We do pride ourselves in using the best available ingredients, which is why we find your comment on the crab linguine very surprising. We hope the next time we see you, we can offer you a much more captivating dish. Be it a crab linguini or eggs benedict.

Kind regards,

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Well this was a great evening. Although food was not the focus of the night, everyone seemed to enjoy quantities of crab linguine and chocolate pot amongst other dishes. Everything went. We hit the wine list hard and had two really good Italians, one red one white, then a decent Montbazillac. The service was delightful. Would be very happy coming back here.

Thank Giles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OxfordGees, Manager at Gee's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear GilesT,

Thank you very much for your review. We put a great deal of thought into our wine list, and take great satisfaction hearing this reflected on your experience. We hope to welcome you back to Gee's soon.

Kind regards,

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Simple summary: Pretty poor.

It’s a lovely place. I get that. It really is nice. But the chairs! I’ve sat on more comfortable spikes. Seriously what are they thinking about with the chairs?

Then there’s the service. The waiter was at best grumpy. It doesn’t hurt to at least try and make an effort. Come on dude. Sure you’re bored, but you’re also there to try and make people enjoy it.

Then the food. Well the bread was fabulous. Can’t fault that.

Then the tapas. Dire. What on earth do they do with the chorizo? No flavour and the weirdest texture ever. Imagine a rotten peach - kind of cotton wool and juicy. Weird. The rest was marginally better.

Then we hit the low point. The burger. Ironically I’d walked past Five Guys and Byron on the way. Should have stopped at both. Better burgers and would still be cheaper. The “bun” was trying really hard to be trendy. Some weird Portuguese bread. Basically like two slices of Mothers Pride. Who makes a burger with two slices of bread FFS? You need a bun. Don’t be wacky. It’s just rubbish.

Then the cardinal burger sin: cold salad in it. It’s not difficult. No one wants a hot burger with a cold tomato!!

Ah it’s okay I think. The chips will make up for it. Doh! Is it just me or are chips supposed to be crispy? These were like they’d been left to gently sweat for a couple of days.

Then to add insult to injury it was 17 quid!! Amazing really. Maybe people in Oxford aren’t that bright if they accept such guff.

Thank aptomtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OxfordGees, Manager at Gee's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear aptomtom,
Thank you for your comments.
Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your recent visit to us.
The chorizo on our tapas board was cooked in red wine and therefore has a softer texture.
We serve our Gee's Hamburger with toasted Pugliese bread as opposed to a bun - not conventional but unique and delicious! We would have replaced your chips immediately had it been brought to our attention that they were soggy. Apologies.
Sorry to hear your waiter came across as grumpy, this is inexcusable and we've delivered this feedback to our team…

We hope you give us another chance soon.
Best regards,
Gosia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked for a cold March Tuesday,and arrived to a buzzy half full restaurant. We were greeted with a smile and given a nice table. Excellent house white and perused the menu. Ordered crab linguine and sea bass. Both beautifully presented 15 minutes later and both were tasty and of great quality. This is a pretty venue, lovely staff and our food was super. Highly recommended.

Thank yamdrachir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OxfordGees, Manager at Gee's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear yamdrachir,

Thank you so much for such a great review! We’re very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes,
Gosia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gee's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Gee's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing