We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncomplicated food well cooked and presented.”

Portabello Restaurant Bar & Grill
Ranked #79 of 712 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$51
Cuisines: Contemporary, British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: A chic, cosmopolitan British restaurant bar and grill open from 9:30am all day every day serving great steak, fish dishes, classic burgers and more. Our menus change regularly with the season with our fixed price lunch menu changing weekly. We serve freshly prepared food with great British flavours in casual and relaxed surroundings. You'll find us in South Parade, a gorgeous little side road in Summertown, amongst trendy boutiques, galleries, wine bars and the North Wall Theatre. Come along for 'the best breakfast in town' from 9:30am 7 days a week and on Sundays come and enjoy a great selection of traditional roasts and superb sharing plates. Join us for Happy hour every week daily from 5:00pm to 7pm when all cocktails and champagne are £5! Let us treat you to a great fixed price menu available lunchtimes Monday to Friday - just £10.95 For two courses and £13.95 For three courses. Our children's menu is available every day and we have child friendly facilities. We can cater for parties of up to 100 guests with menus to suit. An impressive upstairs private dining area is available for all of your special occasions. Guests also benefit from our restaurant car park. Feel free to drop in for a glass of wine, coffee or a sweet treat at the bar or on the terrace. Reservations are welcome for anytime.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We hadn't visited Portabello for a while, but decided to give ourselves an Easter treat. It was a totally satisfactory experience, from booking to bill, and reminded us just how nice a restaurant Portabello is. The food was well executed and served in decent portions, the staff friendly but efficient, and although the place itself is casual, it's special enough to make it stand out from the average gastropub. It's not particularly cheap, but offers pretty decent value. Recommended.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jenesaisfckall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrik A, General Manager at Portabello Restaurant Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you for your warm review. We are so happy you chose us for your easter treat. And we look forward to giving you the same freindly and efficient service and good honest food on your next visit.

Thank you again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 36 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2018

Staying in Oxford we visited for Monday dinner. Very attractive premises, and a warm welcome from the staff. Very charming French waitress was efficient. Food variety whilst not cordon blue was well presented, and vert tasty. Excellent Malbec and Sauvignon Blanc by the glass. Prices reasonable

Thank yamdrachir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrik A, General Manager at Portabello Restaurant Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you kindly for your review. We look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully we can serve you on our terrace on your next visit.

See you soon,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

Today's visit to Portabello was a relaxed lunch break on our journey to Bicester Village before an afternoon shopping, although we had plans we were in no hurry and were looking forward to a relaxed lunch with good food and surroundings.
We really enjoyed our lunch, the food was super quality, with perfectly executed preparation and beautifully presented, the food itself was in fact the best aspect of today's visit.
The restaurant had a lovely atmosphere and everyone appeared to be enjoying their visit as much as us, the overall mixture of great service and relaxed location made you feel welcome and at home as soon as you were seated.
The only minor thing that would have improved our visit would have been for a little personal rapport from our server, asking our plans for the afternoon or how our journey had been.
Based on all aspects of the visit, the quality of the food, the caring service and the lovely atmosphere, I feel Portabello represent very good value for money and would not hesitate to recommend it to family and friends.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ziggyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrik A, General Manager at Portabello Restaurant Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Dear Ziggy,

thank you for your time and review. We are so very pleased that you had a lovely meal with us, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our service and i will see if i can get the floor staff to be more engaging for your next visit.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

Dined here last night. One of the three meals was satisfactory. The desert was small and very average. We were shocked when paying the bill to see that we had been charged just under £12 for a large glass of wine. We were asked when ordering if we wanted a small or large glass of wine. The cost of a large glass was not printed in the menu. The shock was compounded by the attitude of the waiter when we asked him to remove the discretionary service charge. He had to be asked twice. Overall disappointing for what looks to be a nice restaurant from the outside. On leaving the waiter said he hoped we’d return and that our next visit would be much better!! Given the quality of the experience this restaurant is not good value for money.

Thank Annette4353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrik A, General Manager at Portabello Restaurant Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Dear Annette,
thank you for your comments we do appreciate when our guests inform us when we don't get it quite right. Let me assure you your observations have been noted. We do hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

Visited here whilst staying in Oxford and was glad we did. Had a really lovely meal venison steak was cooked to perfection and was tender and tasty, sea bass was also good and cheesecake for dessert was delicious. A tad on the pricey side but worth it. Staff were friendly and helpful and the place had a good atmosphere. A great place for a tasty meal.

Thank Frizznut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrik A, General Manager at Portabello Restaurant Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Dear Fizznut, thank you, we appreciate you taking the time to write. We are very pleased that you had a good meal with us and we certainly look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Portabello Restaurant Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Portabello Restaurant Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing