We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous little place”
Review of Nibsy's

Nibsy's
Ranked #1 of 33 Coffee & Tea in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Description: We are located on Cross Street, a lovely little street right in the heart of Reading, in between Friar Street and Broad street. You can find us near the side entrance of Marks and Spencer's.
Restaurant details
Description: We are located on Cross Street, a lovely little street right in the heart of Reading, in between Friar Street and Broad street. You can find us near the side entrance of Marks and Spencer's.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

I can highly recommend the beetroot, date and dark chocolate cake alongside a golden latte. The staff are amazingly helpful and friendly and the food is fresh that day.

Big thumbs up to this place!!

1  Thank Ella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiLowe84, Owner at Nibsy's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hello Ella,

Thank you so much for lovely little review - so nice to hear comments like these - thanks for sharing!

Naomi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Don't have to be gluten free to enjoy cakes here. Coffee and walnut cake, Bakewell Tart superb. Staff friendly and happy.

Thank hviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiLowe84, Owner at Nibsy's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Hello!

Thanks a lot for this short and sweet review. See you again soon :-)

Naomi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

I’m only eating gluten free as my fiancé is allergic to wheat. However every meal here is never a struggle! The food is amazing and the service is top class! My only concern is the choice of cakes makes it impossible to choose one!

Thank Alexander Leona... K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiLowe84, Owner at Nibsy's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Hello!

Thank you very so much for this review! With regards to the cakes, just try something new every time you come, and you can work your way through them all!

See you again soon,

Naomi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

This place is an utter discovery. A place where coeliacs like me aren't merely tolerated but welcomed and fed with excellent food, great coffee and charming service,all at a reasonable price.
This will become a regular watering hole for me.

Thank WILLIAM1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiLowe84, Owner at Nibsy's, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Hello William,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and so pleased you've found us!
Yes, we are all about offering a safe place for those of us who are not able to eat gluten, and to just feel normal and not compromised! Whilst of course making everyone else welcome too!

Hopefully see you again soon,

Naomi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

We've been with Nibsy's since day one. First for my hubby and now also we our son, who is crazy about zebra cake (milioner shortbread ;) ) They can cater for vegan as well, which is great. We've been here for lunch and pop in just for cup of coffee always great experience. However on our last visit I've been charged extra for milk substitute. Not sure if this normal practice in every coffee shop, but it came to me as bit of surprise.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Monika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiLowe84, Owner at Nibsy's, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Hello Monika!

Thank you for your review and for supporting us since we opened our doors!

Back in 2014 until last year we didn't charge a penny extra for Almond, Lacto-Free or Soya milks. It's fair to say general consumption of these milks has gone up a lot and as I'm sure you're aware, these milks cost substantially more than cows milk. Last year we made the decision that we would charge 40p for Almond and Lacto-Free milk. Soya milk remains an option at no extra cost as many chains include soya at same price and we wanted to stay in line with other local coffee shops on this one.

I hope you understand why we took this decision, and hopefully we'll see you again soon ;-)

Naomi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nibsy's also viewed

Reading, Berkshire
Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to Nibsy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing