We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Rutland.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Rutland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Rutland Hotel
Ranked #33 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Rutland.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

Situated in a relatively quiet part of the city close to the university. Friendly staff, great breakfast. Rooms ok but difficult to get too. Air condition unit very noisy. Parking difficult due to small car park and very narrow parking slots!! Overall ok.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    112
    112
    63
    50
See reviews for
95
111
58
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Firstly the good bits, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good. We didn't eat there so I can't comment on the food apart from the breakfast.

That's all the good bits. The rest was pretty poor. The room was cramped, dark with poor lighting, the brick walls didn't help. The room was not particularly clean, there was someone else's hair grip on the floor. The bathroom was totally unacceptable for even a two star hotel. No toiletries apart from liquid soap screwed to the wall. The shower cubicle attempted to masquerade as a wet room, it was just a shower cubicle withut a curtain, and as for the WC, it's a good job I have recently lost weight because otherwise I would not have been able to sit on the toilet.

Very poor value for money, just about OK if you were staying for a function elsewhere but certainly not as a destination hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed hear for three nights on business and ill start with the room was ok but the food was poor at best cold and in seasoned the first night poor presentation and flavourless the next by the third night I ate out not a bad hotel but you may need a new head chef if this is the standard they have stayed June 24,25,26

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Igsjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

The hotel is a beautiful boutique-y feel with a superb modern edge. The standard rooms aren't the most spacious but they certainly are top class. The exec rooms are brilliant with plenty of space - would definitely recommend upgrading.

The food is also brilliant, real Yorkshire treats on the menu. The Yorkshire pudding starter is lovely :) Would definitely recommend the 'Chocolate Cage' desert too.. lush!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayleysw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

This is my second review of the Rutland Hotel. We enjoyed that much last time that we decided that another visit was in order!
A fantastic visit again, the room was beautifully clean. The shower was amazing!
We had a bar meal this time and was pleasantly surprised. I had Brie and Cranberry Ciabatta and my partner had the Rutland Burger. Simply done but beautifully presented. Breakfast was delicious, I only wish that I had a big enough appetite to sample everything.
This hotel is a gem of a place, it's quirky and unusual in its layout and the little garden behind the conservatory is nicely maintained and a little oasis of calm.
I really can't praise it enough. A special mention to Jason the General Manager, he was very attentive to our every need without being obtrusive. I can't wait until our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
1.0 km away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 53 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
1.4 km away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
1.5 km away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
1.7 km away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
1.9 km away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rutland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rutland Hotel

Property: The Rutland Hotel
Address: 452 Glossop Road, Sheffield S10 2PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
Price range (per night): RM389 - RM614
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rutland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at The Rutland and you'll discover an idyllic retreat, set in its own private landscaped gardens, away from the hustle and bustle of city life, yet just a short cab ride away from Sheffield's vibrant centre. A truly unique hotel experience, The Rutland offers modern bedrooms with stunning design features, a warm, relaxed atmosphere, fresh local food, and an exceptional level of service that sets it apart from other, sometimes soulless, city centre properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Rutland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing