We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal”

Ego Mediterranean Restaurant & Bar, Sheffield
Ranked #80 of 1,574 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$28
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Located in the stunning Winter Gardens and only a stone’s throw away from The Crucible and The Lyceum, Ego is a must visit for its Mediterranean food, pre-theatre dining and delicious cocktails. Connected to the St Paul’s Mercure Hotel, the restaurant is ideal for large groups, special occasions, business lunches and intimate dining.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Great atmosphere, good service and excellent cocktails! We went for the early pre theatre dinner menu served Mon-Fri till 7.00pm consisting of a 2 or 3 course meal and had starters of pate and calamari which were both delicious. Two mains of steak and frites, where absolutely gorgeous, the steak being the leanest we have ever eaten. We then had deserts of creme brulee and the cheese board (which was extra as was not on the set menu) the only gripe was the portions are very small (especially the mains) however it was a very nice meal, the service was excellent and the cocktails were heavenly. Would definitely visit again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank pointsofvue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Guest Relations Manager at Ego Mediterranean Restaurant & Bar, Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Hi there,

Thanks for such a great review - we are very grateful to you for taking the time to let us know what a lovely evening you had with us.
We will pass on your feedback regarding the portion size of the main courses to the kitchen team to look into and look forward to seeign you again soon..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 137 of 1,348 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018

Busy , so occasionally noisy, as you would expect . Food has always been consistently good quality, and an interesting menu, reasonably priced . The service is friendly and prompt. Good atmosphere. It is advisable to book in advance.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Gillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Guest Relations Manager at Ego Mediterranean Restaurant & Bar, Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Fantastic review Gillian - thank you so much!

We will look forward to seeing you before your next theatre trip - thanks again..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

My daughter treated me to a late lunch and cocktails yesterday afternoon. She's a frequent visitor to Ego - usually with her girlfriends. We enjoyed a couple of scrummy cocktails - even better for being 2 for 1! We both then enjoyed the fixed price 3 course menu which represented excellent value for money. Service was friendly and attentive, the overall atmosphere was very nice. Will definitely be going again soon.

2  Thank ABKL0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Guest Relations Manager at Ego Mediterranean Restaurant & Bar, Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Wonderful news - thank you!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your first visit to us and our prix fixe menu and cocktails were a success with you and your daughter!

We hope to welcome you both back again very soon..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Usually my favourite restaurant for the French martini ,ambience and food quality.
We have visited for many special occasions and found it amazing.
The past twice have not been of the same quality.
We visited with another couple and booked as ego members online and confirmed with the waitress on arrival. This should save 25% off the food bill, my husband settled the bill away from the table as he wanted to pay for the meal. The food was slow in being served and the veg under 2 of the meals very cold with warm lamb jus on top not usual .
The next day I noticed the discount had not been taken off and drinks we had not had the pleasure of drinking were also charged. Told there was nothing could be done when phoned and should have been brought to servers attention. Marked this down to experience and told my husband who is not normally keen to part quickly with money to check the bill in future.
We got a special steak night email so decided as going to theatre to give this a try
Booked online but no record of this when arrived luckily a table was allocated after one drink in the bar.
Starters were lovely
Steaks fillet med/well done ordered and sirloin medium but pointed out do not like burnt but need no blood.
After 50 mins wait after the starter and the need to ask how long as we had theatre tickets it arrived.
I told my husband the food was not cooked as we ordered but he said he was hungry and tried to cut the edge off his steak and it bled a cross the plate. I cut the sirloin in half and it was rare in the middle and cold .
We waited looking round and finally a man came over who got the waitress_ she took them to the lady who appeared to be in charge who came and asked us what was wrong. I know this had been explained to her and feel it was unnecessary to ask us again - she offered to have new steaks cooked which we now had 10 mins to get seated for the theatre performance.
My husband ordered an ice cream as he is caeliac he was too hungry to leave with just the starter, initially they offered to just take the fillet off the bill as the sirloin was ordered medium I agreed medium but not rare or cold.
Neither had been eaten, we were hungry, we had been embarrassed complaining and felt it should have been noticed before the food came out. I did tell her that was not acceptable when food is ordered to your liking and they took so long it should come as we ordered. We did not pay for either main in the end but it did spoil one of the few nights we have out alone.
Please Ego get back on track both with the food and customer service.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Libbykira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Guest Relations Manager at Ego Mediterranean Restaurant & Bar, Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hello Libby,

Thank you for your feedback. Please could you forward your contact details to info@egorestaurants.co.uk with the date and time of your visit and the reference SHE3003 and one of our management team will be in touch to discuss your review with you directly.

Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Come here very often and never ever have I had a bad experience!! Rocio is a great addition to the team, she’s a great waitress. The food and atmosphere is the best in Sheffield and I am very picky when it comes to restaurants haha!
Enjoy this place, it’s amazing!

2  Thank Lydia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Guest Relations Manager at Ego Mediterranean Restaurant & Bar, Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Good morning Lydia,

It's great to hear the you both enjoy visitng us and you love the food and atmosphere! We will pass on your great feedback to Roco and hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ego Mediterranean Restaurant & Bar, Sheffield also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Ego Mediterranean Restaurant & Bar, Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing