We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
48
36
15
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
36
15
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tram route selection of beers camra good beer guide quick drink city centre bed and breakfast full english breakfast main road pub food rooms are clean sunday lunch convenient location night stay cooked breakfast brilliant stay enjoyed our stay ensuite
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2016

This hotel was perfectly located for our one night stay, to attend a music night, venue only 5 minutes away by taxi.
We only returned to hotel after 01:00 so the bar and live music was over and the hotel was quiet with no door banging or noise from groups.
We had room 1 which was spotless and quite cool on a hot summer night.
The tram system runs right past the hotel,and it runs on a Sunday morning.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sinesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

Excellent location a little out of the city centre but right on the tram route. Room was comfortable. Breakfast was great. Superb selection of well-kept beers featuring local breweries. Everybody was very friendly and helpful. Easy parking in the street. You must try the fish and chips. Would be great if you were heading to Hillsborough to catch a Wednesday game or visiting the kids at the university. A top base for elephant hunting if you are visiting #sheffieldherd

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank swindonqueso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016

The room rate at The Hillsborough Hotel are very reasonable. We stayed in room four, which is very roomy with good size bathroom. Tom's breakfasts are substantial and delicious. The pub features a good variety of well-kept real ales and (my favourite) a range of gins. There is a sunny conservatory, well-equipped with a range of children's board games. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the Sunday dinner portions are huge and very reasonable.
Parking on quiet side streets is free and easy. The trams into the town centre are about every seven minutes and leave just a few metres from the front door.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Irritableowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2016

Myself and a group of friends stayed here for 2 nights. I would highly recommend staying here, the owners and staff were very polite and couldn't do enough for us, brilliant. A good selection of beers....breakfast was spot on..really nice and the food available through the day is excellent and great value. We were all really pleased. The rooms are clean and suited our needs perfectly. I think the mattresses could do with changing though ....apart from that I cannot fault it and would definitely stay again. The Tram stop is a 1 minute walk and gets you into the center within 5 minutes and a late cab back is about 5-6 quid...perfect. If your using the trams all day worth getting a day rider ticket. Night life is great with loads of bars in the town center.

As said would 100% stay again for a similar weekend away with friends.

Room Tip: all rooms are good, as said mattresses could do with changing (but slept well none the less)
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Macc_Lad_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

Clean tidy, good beer. Coffee tea in the room. English breakfast, some cornflakes with milk, selection of jams.
Just left hotel, asked the staff how to walk to the train st and left. Minutes after, staff appeared in from of me with my charger. Knew where I was going and drove to catch me to return my item. Little thing maybe but shows there are good people. Thank you, will stay again while in Sheffield.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ebleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews