We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely tapas”
Review of Jars Meze

Jars Meze
Ranked #10 of 619 Restaurants in Bath
Restaurant details
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

We were visiting Bath on a Sunday and walked past Jars Meze. Having visited Zante a few months before the aromas were familiar and we felt compelled to try this restaurant. The staff were young but informed and helpful.
We selected a range of tapas including vine leaves, hummas, giganticas beans with pork, aubergines with cheese and some calamari. All portions were a good size and very tasty. We topped it off with a Mythos beer and a white wine. Totally delicious and highly recommended!

Thank Arnie12774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Manager at Jars Meze, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you for your review. We are looking forward to see you soon.
On behalf of Jars Meze family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

171 - 175 of 674 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2017

While on a recent visit to Bath from Canada, my wife and I so enjoyed the food and service was so good, we went back again during a short stay in September.

Thank ireland651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Manager at Jars Meze, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you for your review. We are looking forward to see you soon.
On behalf of Jars Meze family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

Went here for lunch today.
You’d be hard pushed to find better in Greece!
Cosy, lovely ambience with superb food.
Chose 4 plates from the Meze side of the menu to share.
All were pretty damned scrumptious!
And more than enough!
Saragli for pud was ..Sublime
Brilliant service from Aposolos. Explained the menu very well and ongoing service was a treat!
Will definitely return!
Many thanks!

Thank Artimus66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Manager at Jars Meze, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you for your review. We are looking forward to see you soon.
On behalf of Jars Meze family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

We had a mixture of meze dishes and all were beautifully cooked and delicious. Really enjoyed our evening and service was great. Lovely small, family run restaurant. Highly recommended.

Thank ruth b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Manager at Jars Meze, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you for your review. We are looking forward to see you soon.
On behalf of Jars Meze family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
15
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

Due to the great rating on TA we decided we couldn't miss this restaurant whilst visiting bath. We booked for 7pm and when we arrived we were offered our choice of two tables. We sat by the window. When the waitress took our drink orders she read from her pad her specific script abbot the specials. We weren't convinced that she would have been able to answer any specific questions about the food but was very pleasant. The menu looked great and as we wanted to try what we presumed would be a taster of all their best dishes (and they are a mezze restaurant) we choose their two person meat meze priced at £41. The meze was made up of dishes that you could by individually. My husband and I did comment also that there were 3 waiters and waitresses on which seemed overkill for the three couples that were eating at the time and a tad awkward in the already cosy restaurant. The meze arrived bit by bit which was great but when everything was on the table, they had to remove the candle as the table was so full. The food was very average. The meat was tender which was good but there was only one dish with any form of sauce. One dish was served on a bed of chips which was a bit odd but fine. The other meat dishes were just the dry meat, half the time tasteless, on the plate with some basic salad dumped on the side. All the dishes needed some kind of small accompaniment. We were determined to have a good time and just filled up on the pitta and some of the meat. When the waitress came over to clear our plates she asked if we enjoyed the food and I said that it wasn't really to our taste but perhaps we had ordered the wrong thing. I said that we thought the dishes would have been nicer with some small accompaniment like a sauce butt never mind. The waitress said that she wad sorry we hadn't enjoyed our meal and she would pass or contents on. Fine. No problem. Or so we thought!

The lady who appeared to be the manager then came over as we were getting ready to leave. We did not ask for the manager and did not feel the need to speak to her. She asked frostily what the problem was with the food. We replied that we weren't complaining but that it was simply not to our taste as it was just mainly meat on a plate which was not very enjoyable for us. She was very abrasive and made us explain twice what our problem was as if what we had said made no sense. She then told us that this was exactly what they do in Greece. I would like to reiterate that we had no intention of complaining! We simply said to the waitress that it wasn't to our taste! We wanted to pay for our meal and go home but the manager made the whole experience much worse by coming over appearing to be ready for an argument!

We may have come back and tried the main meals but because of the service, we definitely will not be coming back!

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Owner at Jars Meze, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear Sir/Madam,
We are sorry your time at our restaurant did not satisfy you. Thank you for your review, your opinion is valuable to our growing family business. Many members of our staff are new, and we always have new members joining the Jars Meze family. I’m sure you understand it takes some time get fully familiar with our menu and all we have to offer. Please do not hesitate to ask our waiters any questions as there is always a member of staff available to assist you. Due to peak times we cannot afford to operate understaffed. We acknowledge the size of the tables sometimes is not accommodating, but due to the size of our restaurant this cannot be avoided. We apologise our efforts to improve your evening seemed aggressive, we try to keep every customer satisfied with our food and service.
Kind regards,
Jars Meze family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jars Meze also viewed

 

Been to Jars Meze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing