We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely early evening meal”
Review of Jars Meze

Jars Meze
Ranked #8 of 637 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Description: A lovely, Cozy, family-run restaurant close to town center. Warm Atmosphere, with breath-taking smell coming from our kitchen. We choose the freshest of ingredients and our food is as fresh as it can be. With a variety of options from meat, fish to vegetarian and vegan. Always keep an eye out for the specials of the day that are inspiration of mama. Our staff will give you the most warm welcome and make you feel like home, they will always be there to cover your needs and answer any questions you have. They are knowledgeable regarding our menu, and can provide options for anyone. We will try our very best to make your experience unique. See you all there.
Restaurant details
Description: A lovely, Cozy, family-run restaurant close to town center. Warm Atmosphere, with breath-taking smell coming from our kitchen. We choose the freshest of ingredients and our food is as fresh as it can be. With a variety of options from meat, fish to vegetarian and vegan. Always keep an eye out for the specials of the day that are inspiration of mama. Our staff will give you the most warm welcome and make you feel like home, they will always be there to cover your needs and answer any questions you have. They are knowledgeable regarding our menu, and can provide options for anyone. We will try our very best to make your experience unique. See you all there.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Four of us had an early evening meal and everything about the experience was super. Warm welcome, pleasant intimate atmosphere, friendly, helpful staff, very quick service and excellent food. (We had a section of small dishes that were all delicious). Definitely worth a visit (and a revisit no doubt).

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dwardSomersetEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (784)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 30 of 785 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The food was great and the atmosphere was really cosy. The staff was lovely and inviting and the place is really clean. This dinner has improved our stay in Bath, so we hope we can come back again in the near future! Thank you Jars Meze staff :)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chiara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Owner at Jars Meze, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Chiara,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
It means a lot to us and it helps us thoroughly.
I'm really glad you enjoyed both the food and the service as well as the atmosphere.
We hope to see you again soon and elevate your previous experience to new heights.
Yours sincerely
Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Although looking at the menu before arrival you may be a little unsure if you are not familiar with greek food, I can highly recommend just giving it a go.

On arrival our waitress was very welcoming, explained the menu well and gave top notch recommendations.

Everything we ate was delicious, the staff were friendly, pleasant and attentive. Can't recommend this place enough. Stop reading and get a table.

Thank Dean27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Owner at Jars Meze, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Dean,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
It means a lot to us and it helps us thoroughly.
I'm really glad you enjoyed both the food and the service.
We hope to see you again soon.
Yours sincerely
Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Everything lovely , the food and service excellent, first time here and won’t be the last.. fresh food in a great atmosphere.. thank you.

Thank cath1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Owner at Jars Meze, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
It means a lot to us and it helps us thoroughly.
I'm really glad you enjoyed both the food and the service.
We hope to see you again soon and elevate your previous experience to new heights.
Yours sincerely
Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a place. Went for dinner. Managed to get a table for two to eat at 8pm when telephoning on the day (morning).
A quaint restaurant, very homely, clean and welcoming. It has two floors. Toilets are upstairs (one for men and one for women), there are fitted hand rails on the stairs.
It was very busy (Saturday night). Caters for approximately 12 upstairs, 12 inside downstairs and 8-12 outside (front) under the awning.
The front window had a glass cabinet full of home made Greek desserts. We were seated right by this cabinet at a table for two. If you sit here and you are the one sitting with your back to the entrance/exit then know that the staff will be going into the glass cabinet to obtain the desserts, this is not a situation where you are being nudged or irritated whilst eating but just that you will be aware someone is there behind you and they are forever apologising because of it.
This is a proper family run business ( mum cooking all the food in the kitchen, Dad front of house taking bookings and organising things, 2 daughters waiting tables and hospitality (Maria was delightful, a real credit to her families restaurant) and the close friends who were also Greek, waiting tables and hospitality, Apo (waiter) was a star, he really looked after us and certainly knew his Greek history, fascinating having the conversation with him. Staff attentive, friendly and genuine.
So to the food - you can opt for a multiple dish meze or choose individual courses (starter, main and dessert).
There was so much choice so we asked Apo to choose 6 dishes for us.
There was a beef stew (Kokinisto moshariko), prawns, butter beans (gigantes from prespes) (OMG! They were sensational), aubergine with feta cheese (melitizana), sweet potato mash with cheese and bacon topping, pork strips with all the expected flavours of the Mediterranean. We also had a small basket of warm pitta bread. Most of the dishes came out at the same time which was fantastic and a real achievement considering how busy they were, the last couple were only about 5-10 minutes behind the others and worth the wait.
Each dish was a good size portion ( 2-3 people). We were starving and still didn't manage to eat everything but there wasn't too much left because it was too good to leave.
Then we saw the mouthwatering dessert called saragli (bit like baklava with crushed walnuts but the pastry much more moist and softer and with apple) being served to another customer. We were so full but we had to try some, and so we shared a portion and boy I'm so glad we did, it was amazing.
Bottle of Pino Grigio, 6 dishes, 1 dessert came to £73. The best £73 we've ever spent on Greek food, truly brilliant.
This is a must go to restaurant. Make sure you book.
Suitable for anyone and everyone, may be a bit tricky for customers with disabilities who cannot go upstairs to use the toilets or families who need baby changing facilities (bit too much of a tight squeeze and I didn't see any baby changing facilities), wheel chair users would be able to gain access inside.
I personally am shocked that people have reviewed this restaurant as terrible, there is nothing terrible about it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Genene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Owner at Jars Meze, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Genene,
Thank you very much for your kind words and for taking the time to write a review. I'm so glad you enjoyed the food, the service and the atmosphere. It means a lot for us and its important that our efforts are not going unnoticed.
We are super glad to have you again in the future and we hope that your next visit will be even grater than before as there are a lot more delicacies to try from our menu.
See you soon
Yours sincerely
Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jars Meze also viewed

 

Been to Jars Meze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing