We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$285
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express Bath(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bailbrook House Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Abbey Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$185
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Henrietta House(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$96
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$406
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
24
6
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
6
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I stayed here during the 2010 Jane Austen Festival as part of a Jane Austen Tour and really felt like I had stepped back into her times. The wall paper in each room in something worth checking out and the only down side was having to take my luggage up the many stairs which some would say is all part of the experiance of staying in a townhouse in Bath.

Room Tip: Choose a double room on one of the lower flours
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladyhelga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This is a great location in walking distance to downtown. We parked the car & didn't drive it for three days. The rooms are decorated in period decor and they are very clean & well maintained. The manager and his wife are wonderful people and we enjoyed talking with them. They gave us great tips for what to do while visiting. If you have trouble climbing stairs ask for a room on the first floor. Note: they do not accept credit cards.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Bathwick Gardens is located in Bathwick the other side of the Avon, just a five minute's walk from the city centre opposite the Holbourne Museum. This location is the first positive - convenient for walking into the city centre. There is free parking round the back (if you have arranged prior to arrival).

This is a house built in the early 19th century, and decorated in a Regency style so it gives a fantastic taster of life 200 years ago. We were in the top floor (in the "attic" to be technical, but don't picture a pitched roof - it is a proper room!) in Mrs Smith's Room. If you're not young or fit the 77 stairs might be a bit of fun, but the view across of the church next door and further to the Abbey (beautifully lit up in the evenings) is a nice compensation when wheezing and trying to get your breath back!

For wont of a better word, the room was "quaint", perhaps a little tired but as it's a period building with a deliberatly old furniture that's to be expected. It is however very clean, and the modern en-suite shower room was great (with a fantastic powerful modern shower).

We loved the shutters on the windows, and the view across Sydney Gardens and, Holbourne Museum to the sunlit hills to the north of Bath were a delight in the mornings.

The owners of the B&B were very welcoming and hospitable, allowing you to come and go as you please throughout the day, and very helpful with any queries about the B&B or about Bath. Breakfast was either a lovely full English or an Austrian-style continental (the wife of the owners is from Austria).

One wee quibble was that much of the house is slightly colder than we are used to these days with our central heating, but that was how the house would have been anyway. Besides, our bedroom itself did have modern central heating so the room was heated fine.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stuart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

The building is a period home in a good location and tastefully furnished. We stayed in the bedroom on the top floor, which is "Mrs Smith's Room". Only minor complaint was the shutters were in need of maintenance but otherwise the room was great.
We chose this place as my wife is a Jane Austin fan. She loved it.
The house was spotless and had a very homely feel about it. The hostess was a lovely Austrian lady who made us feel very welcome.
The breakfast in the morning was magnificent. It was so good and wholesome that I was just chock full in not time.
The location was within easy walking distance to the Roman Baths which was the main purpose of our visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are different and have different appeal and qualities. Check the website photos for more info. http://www.bathwickgardens.co.uk/index.php Please give a helpful tick if you found my review helpful. Thanks.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PidynTeithio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at Bathwick Gardens at the end of August. As architects we were thrilled with the opportunity to stay in a Regency period town house, to experience the rooms, proportions, and views. Since Persuasion was one of my favorite films, that connection gave added pleasure to my stay. We stayed in Sir Walter's Room, a very large and elegant room with a lovely view over the back garden, the adjacent roofs, and the steeple of the local church beyond. The ensuite bath was very large with an antique commode and a bathtub. Every morning I would wake up and marvel that I was staying in a room that was so large and elegant.
The rest of the house is equally as nice with lovely period decorations. But like so many homes the heart of the house is in the kitchen. We enjoyed breakfast there around the common table with other guests and tasty English or Austrian breakfasts. Julian and Mechthild are warm and generous host with a wealth of knowledge about Bath, architecure, history, interior design, and custom wall paper. An Australian mother and daughter shared our time and we all compared notes on what to see. From them I learned to collect English tea towels as a souvenir. We always got a late start because the time at breakfast was so enjoyable.
It's just a 10 minute walk to downtown Bath, the Abbey, and the baths. It couldn't be more convenient and the neighborhood is lovely.
When we got back to the states, we popped in the DVD of Persuasion and enjoyed seeing our home from home again - although I'll take Julien over Sir Walter any day.
Stay at Bathwick Gardens - you'll enjoy Bath all the more.

Room Tip: Back rooms overlook the gardens and the adjacent church steeple.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KBSilverSpring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews