We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$149
US$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Holiday Inn Express Bath(Bath)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$119
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$202
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Bailbrook House Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aquae Sulis Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
High Beeches(Bath)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$129
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$99/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Brooks Guesthouse(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$143
US$129
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
SACO Bath - St James Parade(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Cranleigh(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$131
US$119
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pulteney House(Bath)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
24
6
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
6
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I have just come back from a hen weekend staying at Bathwick Gardens (also known as Sir Walter Elliot's House where I have put the same review). There were 11 of us and we took up both the self-catering basement apartment and rooms upstairs. We were looked after wonderfully by Mechthild and Julian who could not have done more to make our stay as excellent as it was. They tended to our every need, nothing was too much trouble, very friendly indeed. The breakfasts were lovely and loads of choice, and we had a fantastic candle-lit dinner on the Saturday night in the grand dining room. There was a large drawing room on the 1st floor that we enjoyed for pre-dinner drinks and after-dinner games and drinks. It was a pleasure dealing with Julian in the run up to the weekend as well and took the stress out of arranging a hen weekend. It is in a great location and only a short walk to bars, restaurants and attractions. We had our own keys and were able to come and go as we pleased (contrary to a previous review which can be ignored!)

This lovely place comes highly recommended, I'll definitely go back... fantastic weekend! And we had a very happy hen!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I have stayed in fine hotels around the world including places like the Mandarin Oriental. However none of which have the charm or soul which can be found in this particular B&B. My girlfriend and I had a wonderful stay in 95 Sydney Place.

I will summarise the highlights;

- Utterly charming staff - Gregarious, convivial, knowledgeable and hospitable. (At breakfast Cindy even went back to her own home (10 minutes away) to fetch a suitable outfit for my girlfriend so we could go cycling along the canal paths).

- The breakfast – A freshly baked exquisite Austrian delight. Accompanied with classical music, pleasant conversation and impeccable service. You will struggle to find a better breakfast experience anywhere else.

- Perfectly situated. Walk 10 minutes down historic streets lined with opulent townhouses over the Avon to emerge in the heart of Bath.

- Grade 1 listed Georgian townhouse overlooking a beautiful sun-kissed “Bath Stone” church. Walled garden, orangery, country kitchen and National Trust calibre dining room. You will be transported back in time.

- The B&B experience is akin to actually being the owner of a £3 million townhouse with your own staff. Something which most mere mortals will never achieve.

When compared to a hotel chain of the same price such as the Hilton. Choosing this B&B is really a no-brainer. Book your trip around the availability of this B&B and you will not be disappointed.

William & Harriet.

Room Tip: Book the Sir Walter Elliot Master Bedroom for the full Lord and Lady of The Manor Experience.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

This bed and breakfast is quite unique. You really do feel like part of the family and as if it is your home for the duration of your stay. The rooms are in a glorious Regency townhouse in Sydney Place, the same street in which Jane Austen once lived. The family occupy the whole building and although it has every possible mod con (including the most fantastic showers!) it still retains much of its original character. The rooms are spotlessly clean and the hosts - Julian and Mechthi - are charming, friendly and knowledgeable, yet never intrusive. For me, returning to this beautiful, welcoming home of an evening was as much a part of the Bath experience as visiting the sights during the day. The hostess is always smiling and positive and seems genuinely thrilled to see all her guests. She prepares either an Austrian breakfast or the full English. Austrian is my personal favourite, you are free to choose muesli, yoghurt, toast, cheese, fruit, eggs etc., and the hostess prepares dainty Austrian cakes or a little croissant. We ate breakfast in the conservatory which has views over the lovely garden and a pretty neighbouring church. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Bath!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen_Louise_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I stayed here during the 2010 Jane Austen Festival as part of a Jane Austen Tour and really felt like I had stepped back into her times. The wall paper in each room in something worth checking out and the only down side was having to take my luggage up the many stairs which some would say is all part of the experiance of staying in a townhouse in Bath.

Room Tip: Choose a double room on one of the lower flours
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladyhelga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This is a great location in walking distance to downtown. We parked the car & didn't drive it for three days. The rooms are decorated in period decor and they are very clean & well maintained. The manager and his wife are wonderful people and we enjoyed talking with them. They gave us great tips for what to do while visiting. If you have trouble climbing stairs ask for a room on the first floor. Note: they do not accept credit cards.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews