We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very cosy and quiet, beautiful location.”
other travellers have booked this property
Fishermen's Retreat has been totally renovated reflect rustic area and character
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fishermen's Retreat has been totally renovated reflect rustic area and character
Our guests are entitled to many discounts with the Bath Reward Card.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
79 reviews
Fishermen's Retreat has been totally renovated reflect rustic area and character
Our guests are entitled to many discounts with the Bath Reward Card.
King sized bed with a large wardrobe to use.
The kitchen provided allows you too cook whatever you fancy, or you can explore the local pubs food.
The bathroom is small but practical with a modern walk-in shower and facilities.
The garden terrace at Fishermen's Retreat is perfect for the afternoon hours in the sun.
The private lower terrace in the cottage garden has BBQ facilities.
The archway leading into the second half of your private garden, ideal for a little stroll...
The Midford Brook stream runs at the bottom of the garden and there are also fishing opportunities.
The view of the meadows across the Brook at the bottom of the garden.
The view of Fishermen's Retreat terrace cottage from the bottom of the garden.
Outdoor decor echoes the fine touches of the cottage interior.
Few better ways to enjoy the sunny afternoons than outdoors in the Midford Valley.
Outside dining is the best way to make the most of our self-catering cottage surroundings.
The welcome sign post to our cosy cottage retreat near Bath.
This kingfisher was spotted by our gardener one morning.
We were put in for this  by our guests   and delighted to win the category for this global award.
The wheelwright offers a lovely dinner in Monkton Combe.
Castle Farm is a local farm shop and cafe a short walk up a footpath.
The hope and anchor is a pub situated on the cycle path a good stop for ice cream or drinks.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 79 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

liz R
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very cosy and quiet, beautiful location.”
Reviewed 7 July 2020 for a stay in July 2020

First stay under new covid rules. Everything seemed very clean and tidy, with a checklist of what touch points had been cleaned before our arrival. Hand sanitiser on the outside wall by the front door. Very quiet location, with tranquil seating area by the brook. The cottage was very cosy and the kitchen well equipped. Thank you for a restful weekend.

Date of stay: July 2020
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelique...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful, cosy cottage near Bath”
Reviewed 2 March 2020 for a stay in March 2020

Loved our stay at this lovely, cosy cottage just 15 mins out of Bath central. Beautiful view from the bedroom out into the river. Would definitely return in the summer to make the most of the lovely garden. Host was responsive and friendly

Date of stay: March 2020
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dizzyblon...
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful quiet cosy cottage,”
Reviewed 1 December 2019 for a stay in November 2019

Everything about this place is amazing, communication with Ann and Nicki was brilliant. The cottage is in a beautiful location and had everything you need and more. There was tea, coffee, milk and logs for the fire. Can't wait to visit again in the summer.

Date of stay: November 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2019
Fishermen's has just been renovated and you obviously enjoyed it.
Do come back...such a pretty garden in the summer.
Thanks v much for taking the time to write.

Best wishes

Ann one of the family team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosalind...
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in the Somerset countryside”
Reviewed 16 September 2019 for a stay in September 2019

The cottage is one of three each with a private garden that runs down to a babbling brook. Only the sounds of nature disturb the verdant tranquillity - the singing of the birds and the jumping of the fish. By the brook at the bottom of the garden is a well-arranged table and chairs where we lunched and took afternoon tea. It would have been nice however to have had a tray to carry our meals more easily down the garden. We were fortunate to enjoy four sunny days and would have wished for a decent parasol (there are two tiny parasols in the shed by the cottage door but these are too small to give any shade from 1pm onwards).

The cottage location is marvellous for country walking in all directions and one of us also cycled along the SUSTRANS trail which affords lovely views of the countryside. And there was even a walking stick and umbrella by the front door to encourage us to go out. We spent one afternoon in Bath - very quick and easy to reach by calling a local taxi.

Indoors everything was well arranged with great attention to detail (hooks on the back of bedroom doors) and very cosy. The mattress on the single bed in the smaller bedroom was however rather too soft for a good night's sleep. The kitchen was well-equipped and conveniently laid out. The only thing missing was a colander/strainer that prevented steaming our vegetables and made it a challenge to drain the peas!

We appreciated the responsiveness of the management who at our request refrained from the planned cutting of the grass so as not to disturb our tranquillity.

Date of stay: September 2019
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schedo X
Berkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Immaculately presented cosy cottage in a stunning location”
Reviewed 23 February 2019 for a stay in February 2019

My daughter and I have just returned from 3 wonderful nights staying at Fisherman's Retreat - we wish we could have stayed longer!

The location of the cottage is wonderful - it feels very private and rural, with an amazingly beautiful and well-tended garden running down to the river. There are many birds and animals in the surrounding countryside, stunning views, and all this set against a beautiful soundtrack of the river and birdsong - Fisherman's Retreat really is a very magical and special place.

What we found extraordinary is how perfectly located the cottage is to explore the city of Bath and surrounding area - we couldn't believe how quick and easy it was to travel into the lively centre of Bath with its many attractions and amenities, and to return to such a peaceful and cosy place in what felt like under 15mins.

The cottage itself is extremely cosy and well presented, we had absolutely everything we needed to self cater, and the very easily lit and maintained stove was a big highlight for us as the cottage felt warm and snug throughout our stay, despite visiting in February. There is also excellent central heating, plus all the mod cons you might expect.

Check in/out couldn't have been quicker or easier with the key box system, and the cottage was all warm and ready for us when we arrived. We were lucky enough to meet Nikki who is lovely, and it was clear that she was on hand should we experience any problems or have any questions. But everything was so well laid out and well catered for that we had no need to ask!

We would definitely return to Fisherman's Retreat again when visiting Bath - the combination of beautiful tranquility and proximity to the exciting city of Bath left us delighted, it's a real gem. Thank you, Nikki!

Date of stay: February 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.