We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience The Jane Austen Centre
from US$98.81
More Info
from US$23.66
More Info
from US$89.07
More Info
from US$104.38
More Info
Reviews (2,552)
Filter reviews
2,552 results
Traveller rating
916
715
482
254
185
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
916
715
482
254
185
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tea room gift shop introductory talk colin firth short film period costume afternoon tea cream tea small museum costumes novels quill regency ink tearoom persuasion characters
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 2,552 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Such a fantastic experience - not just for Jane Austen fans as thoroughly enjoyable and interesting for everyone!
Staff were brilliant and really created a Georgian atmosphere and experience.
Definitely worth a visit!

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank lucindah178
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JACentre, Manager at The Jane Austen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for your very kind review. We're so glad that you had a lovely time and hope your stay in Bath was equally enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had lots of fun here, staff were friendly and informative. Our guide Mr Knightley was brilliant and made the experience so much better! Will definitely be returning at some point in the future

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank Dream16071104860
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JACentre, Manager at The Jane Austen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for the review. I'll pass on your comments about our fantastic Mr Knightley. Look forward to welcoming you to the Jane Austen Centre again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Purchased tickets at the venue for a family. The introduction from a cast member explaining the family tree was very good. Cast members are very good in role. This was followed by looking at portraits and why there are few and inaccurate records as to what Jane actually looked like. The building itself has no link to Jane Austin although she did reside a few doors down (now a dentists) for a short time. There was a short film about places she lived in the area and then more exhibitions. Overall it was good and the theming was good. We went for afternoon tea and had scones and tea. There is a discount for people who have taken the tour. It was lovely, staff in character, friendly and welcoming. Overall an enjoyable visit. A credit to the actors who bring the story to life.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank HeatherC180
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JACentre, Manager at The Jane Austen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks very much for this thorough review. I'm glad that you enjoyed both the Centre Exhibition and your afternoon tea in the Regency Tea Room. It certainly adds to the visit.
I will pass on your comments to our actors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Everyone at the centre was friendly and helpful and actively came round to engage with you during the tour. The talks were interesting and informative delivered by enthusiastic and knowledgeable presenters. I will be back.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank louhow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JACentre, Manager at The Jane Austen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

So glad that you enjoyed your visit. Look forward to welcoming you back to the Centre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2021 via mobile

My visit to the Jane Austen Centre in Bath was underwhelming to say the least. Apart from two little films and an interesting 20 min presentation by one of the actors working as a tour guide, I could have found most of the information and facts about Jane Austen on Wikipedia. There was absolutely no explanation about the building itself and what relevance it had to the author, no ‘tasting of regency biscuits’ as mentioned in the advertising - and for £12.50 I would have liked a much more satisfying experience.

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank rachelmT407ED
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JACentre, Manager at The Jane Austen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

So sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit. To be Covid secure we had to remove the 'Regency Biscuit' experience. This will be back when we feel that our visitors are comfortable with this shared experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews