We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not quite 5 star” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“not quite 5 star”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

NIce hotel,pleasant staff, good food and spa.This hotel ticks all the boxes but just lacks the final touches to make it a real 5 star hotel. Fine for a few days away but for that once in a lifetime experience that is 5 star there is better value for money.

Room Tip: our room could be accessed by room next door - our neighbours woke us at 1pm. Ask for room without a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank knight04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,015 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,819
    1,151
    617
    289
    139
See reviews for
551
2,556
61
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

I recently held a conference at the Macdonald Bath Spa in Bath, and the WOW factor as you drive up to the property certainly impressed my clients. Set in some fantastic grounds on the hill over looking Bath Abbey it is an excellent venue in looks and loaction. The staff are extremely attentive, being five star you would expect this, but, they go that one step further on every possible occasion. I booked the private dining room, The Admirality Suite, for my guests and the chandaliers and candles on a long table for 14 was as grand and as regal as you could expect. Food for lunch and dinner was excellent and the wine choices were also spot on the mark, as was the wiaters detailed descriptions of the cheeses... The rooms were well appointed, and quiet, with the use of the pool and gym and added bonus. This made for an excellent conference and i cannot thank the staff enough for the excellent service

Room Tip: Any room starting 4 (this is second floor and to the back..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Syksey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

If I had read an advance review of this hotel and our room - four poster bed, overlooking gardens - I would have expected something charming, but instead we found it rather ordinary. The room was spotlessly clean and very spacious, with a good bathroom. Hairdryer, iron/ironing board, safe, mini-bar all provided. However, the room lacked character and colour (very plain decor, not at all sumptuous), with a strange mixture of prints on the walls. To be fair it was winter, so the garden wasn't at its best, but someone should tell them to do something with the rather strange wooden beam things (umbrella holders?) which looked rather like gallows! The staff were very efficient and welcoming. A little too far out of Bath, it was a longish walk or taxi ride into the centre. Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluesky91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We had a lovely stay in Bath. The hotel staff couldn't be more accommodating and when we arrived we were upgraded.

I was suprised how expensive hotels were in Bath and although this is still a 5* it wasn't as expensive as the Royal Crescent. This was mainly to do with location.

We loved the hotel, the beautiful grounds it was on and the service. The room was spacious and the bathroom was huge with a big bath and walk in shower.

I felt a little disappointed in the spa. Not enough not to return. Don't get me wrong. The treatments were great but the relaxation room was like a fridge. The pool, saunas and steams were in abundance in terms of choice but I felt that it was a little uninviting. In a spa hotel like this, I expected the spa to be a real luxury but it felt more like sports facilities. Also there was water everywhere - I didn't see anyone sweeping the water away or picking up towels.

On a huge positive, the weather was beautiful so the outside hot tub was outrageously gorgeous and worth a visit for this alone.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosyro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Just spent another fantastic weekend in bath and returned for our third stay at the bath spa hotel. The staff as always are polite and helpful, however our favourite part is the spa. The facilities are so relaxing and with a new jacuzzi, heaven. If you are staying, we would recommend that you book treatments and a table in the resturant in advance, as they get busy on the weekend. We treated ours selves to massage, facials and reflexology during our stay and it was total bliss, thank you Kim, Francesca, Laura and Georgina, we will be back. The food as always was wonderful, thank you to all the kitchen staff. We look forward to seeing you all when we return for the Christmas Market.

Room Tip: ask for a garden view, beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank georgy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.3 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.6 km away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
3.5 km away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#8 of 33 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
3.0 km away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#20 of 33 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
2.6 km away
The Bath Priory Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Property: Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Address: Sydney Road, Bath BA2 6JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bath
#6 Business Hotel in Bath
#8 Family Hotel in Bath
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price range (per night): RM779 - RM1,865
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated in the heart of historic Bath and within walking distance of the major attractions and city centre, Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is one of the leading five-star hotels is this popular destination. With years and years of history behind its wall and rich in character, the history is subtly complimented by modern facilities and amenities such as a relaxing spa and outdoor hydrotherapy pool. The food at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is simply outstanding and awarded two AA rosettes for quality and service in the popular Vellore Restaurant. Unwind overlooking the fabulous grounds with stunning views over the city. For that extra special treat, consider booking an Imperial Suite with its very own butler service, one of the best ways to stay in historic Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com and AAE Travel Pte Ltd so you can book your Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Bath Hotel Bath
Macdonald Hotel Bath
Bath Hotel Spa
Macdonald Bath Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing