We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasteful, elegant, small hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kennard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Kennard
Ranked #11 of 192 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Tasteful, elegant, small hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

This is an absolutely lovely small hotel in walking distance to everything in Bath. The owners/hosts are most gracious, and the breakfast is as elegant as one could hope for, in a lovely room with beautiful place settings. The rooms are charming, though I would advise booking early and getting as large a room as one can as the rooms are typically "snug" by non-European standards. I highly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms are small, so investigate which one of the rooms would be the largest (and, of course, one sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpatDBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    889
    108
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
137
547
91
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Topeka KS
Level Contributor
173 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

I spent four nights at the Kennard, and could not have been happier with the accommodation. It might be the best small hotel I've encountered on my travels.

Let's start with the location: just across the Pulteney Bridge from the center of the city, it is an easy and pleasant walk to the Abbey and the Roman Baths. I never had trouble securing a parking place near the hotel (parking permit is provided), and at night, it was blissfully quiet.

I stayed in a double room, which was located on the ground floor. A full-size window looked out over the classic garden in back. The room was supremely comfortable, with a good bed, plenty of storage, a small but pristine bathroom, flat-screen television, a good WiFi signal, coffee/tea service, excellent lighting, and cozy radiator heat. Another plus -- the entire hotel is non-smoking.

The breakfast room was just two doors down from my room, but I was never disturbed by noise, even during the breakfast hours. And the breakfast was superb -- an excellent cold buffet (cereals, pastries, yogurt, juices, etc), followed by your choice of cooked-to-order hot items. I really appreciated the lovely coffee selection (made just for you in a French press), and the wonderful, locally sourced bacon, sausages, and eggs. It was filling, delicious, and carried me through most of my active day.

What really sets the Kennard apart from most hotels is the small details and the gracious service. Little things really make a difference when traveling -- like well-lighted and full-length mirrors, wonderful Molton Brown soaps, lotion, and shampoo provided in the bath, plenty of electrical outlets, and the rapid response to problems like forgetting to pack a plug adapter for one's battery charger and curling iron. Nothing was overlooked, and all was delivered with style and kindness.

Bath is a stunning city, rich with history, culture, and wonderful restaurants. If you're fortunate enough to visit there, the Kennard is an excellent value, and a perfect choice for your stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reefwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

I stay in Bath regularly for work and was recommended The Kennard by colleagues. It is very central and serves excellent breakfast (it is hard to turn down the Full English!). The rooms are comfortable and the facilities perfect. Why I made do with the Travelodge for broadly the same money I'll never know!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PMousley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

I chose to stay at "The Kennard" due to the fantastic reviews I found on Trip Advisor. I am now glad to say that I am going to echo the wonderful comments I found.
The location of the hotel was fantastic, just a couple of minutes walk from the centre of Bath and the train station, but on a lovely quiet, traditional Georgian street. The hotel was beautifully decorated, clean and had many additional facilities including a robe, slippers, tea tray with coffee, teas, biscuits and bottled water. My room was a little small, however I don't usually go away on business or on holiday to spend the majority of my time in a room! The breakfast was delightful, a large range of locally sourced foods to choose from off the cooked menu and also a massive choice of croissants, jams, fruits, yoghurts, cereals etc. to choose from off a continental buffet. The service was brilliant, a lovely warm greeting and I was given plenty of advice on where to eat and how to get to various locations with a handy map.
If I had to go to Bath again, I would choose no other place to stay, a great value for money and I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LakelandMints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

The Kennard's location in a quiet side street is minutes from the centre of bath. Immaculately decorated in period style and spotless from top to bottom. A full English breakfast with a range of fruit juices, jams etc was largely localy sourced The service is in line with the finest of city hotels. Parking is not a problem as a single line outside the hotel allows loading and unloading. A free parking pass is provided for use within the street. We were even allowed to retain this for a few hours after we had checked out so that we could continue exploring the city without having to move the car! I have the Kennard locked into my satnav and will be returning along with family and friends in the near future. Look no further, this is the place to stay!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 km away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.4 km away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#8 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
0.0 km away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#14 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
0.5 km away
The Gainsborough Bath Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kennard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kennard

Property: The Kennard
Address: 11 Henrietta Street | Off Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 6LL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price range (per night): RM607 - RM879
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kennard 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian townhouse bed & breakfast in the centre of Bath. Free permit for on street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Kennard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing