We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$164
US$129
Hilton
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Holiday Inn Express Bath(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$98/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$213
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$166
US$138
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$160/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Brooks Guesthouse(Bath)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$119
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Cranleigh(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aquae Sulis Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
High Beeches(Bath)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$103
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bailbrook House Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$124
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SACO Bath - St James Parade(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$91
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$108/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,509)
Filter reviews
2,509 results
Traveller rating
1,331
822
252
81
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,331
822
252
81
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbrasserie blancfeature roomqueen squarecar parklovely hotelsuperior roomafternoon teacentral locationclassic roomnespresso machineper nightthird floorbed was very comfortablewalk in showerroyal crescentmain attractionswithin easy walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
976 - 981 of 2,509 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2015

Stayed here for one night to visit our daughter who's at Bath Uni, and to visit the Christmas markets and do some shopping. The hotel was superb, our room was very comfortable with a separate seating area/living area, had free tea/coffee, two TV's and an ipod dock. The décor was beautifully finished and the bathroom was clean and well kept. Great room, with a great view over the city. Room was extremely quiet. Bed was very comfortable.

We arrived and the staff were excellent and helpful throughout our stay. WE had breakfast which was superb.

Because we were shopping all day we wanted to leave our bags at the hotel and this was dealt with with great ease.

Overall a great place to stay, in a good location; would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: 2nd floor facing the city is very nice.
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, Hotel Excellence Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2015

Dear Ben L

Thank you for your positive feedback; we appreciate you sending in a review and hope to see you on your next trip to Bath to visit your daughter.

Kindest regard
Shaun Mitchell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2015

Fantastic location, turn right and walk straight into Bath shops, etc. Lovely warm welcome with help carrying luggage. We found all the staff on Reception extremely friendly and helpful. The room was a bit cold upon checking in, we had to fiddle for a while with the settings to finally bring it up to a comfortable temperature at a particularly chilly time of the year. Nice room, not huge but perfectly adequate for our 1 night stay. Lovely fluffy clean towels and robes (although we thought we'd been shortchanged with just 1 robe til we found the other in the wardrobe!) Nicely and unusually decorated, a general theme that I loved about this hotel, not your boring generic contemporary decor, bright and funky. Bathroom was nice, could do with a little tlc around floor edges, bottom of shower tray, just those little bits if you're looking closely but overall clean. Shower could be hotter, had to set to maximum and still could have been hotter in my opinion but was fine. Nice and big but I really don't know why it can't have a shower screen all the way along, these modern 'halfway' ones just don't allow for the splashes and the floor/bathmatt ends up completely saturated after 2 people have showered. Extremely comfy bed and covers/pillows. Loved the beautiful big flower arrangements on the stairway landings, nice touch. Breakfast was fabulous! Huge variety on the buffet, from the 'create your own' granola with the dried banana, coconut, nuts, berries and variety of honeys, to the scrumptious and moreish smoothie shots and fresh pastries. And that's before the cooked brekkie - can recommend the veggie breakfast, tasty and perfect proportions. Abundant tea/coffee/toast served by lovely waiting staff. A little disappointed with the bar, v.quiet, wines v.expensive and the barman was possibly having an 'off' night, civil but did not reflect the general friendliness of the rest of the staff, the complimentary nibbles were welcome tho. All in all a short but lovely stay thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank VickyRVN1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, Hotel Excellence Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2015

Dear VickyRVN1980

Thank you very much indeed for sending in your feedback following your stay. It is great to read all your positive and constructive comments and hope we see you on your next trip to Bath.

Kind regards
Shaun Mitchell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2015

We've stayed at this hotel for about 10 years now so we were very happy to be told we had a free upgrade. The room was one of the quietest we have been in. Overall the service was excellent and room very good


  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with MGallery Hotels
Thank tonyjX3074OJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, Hotel Excellence Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2015

Dear tonyjX3074OJ

Thank you very much for sending in your feedback; I do hope we can welcome you back once again in 2016.

Kind regards
Shaun Mitchell
Hotel Excellence Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2015

Nice hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Room (322) at rear of hotel was quiet. Smelt a little damp on arrival. Shower was lukewarm on first morning, but was dealt with efficiently by maintenance dept.

Breakfast was 7/10, and overpriced at £20.00 per head. Ours was included in the deal we booked via Hotels.com

Car park at rear of hotel at £15.00 per day. Even so an inconsiderate Audi (had to be) driver did his best to block us in, by parking outside of any of the designated parking spaces and disappear without leaving any keys. We just manged to squeeze out with the assistance of the hotel management.

All in all a pleasant stay, and right in the centre of the city. We would definitely book the Francis again.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms at the rear.
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, Hotel Excellence Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2015

Dear Christopher P

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay; your feedback is valuable to us and we have taken all your comments on board.

We very much look forward to your return visit to The Francis Hotel Bath.

Kind regards
Shaun Mitchell
Hotel Excellence Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2015 via mobile

Went for a couple of nights at £240 per night expect a very good package for that but disappointed. First there is very restricted parking on site and it cannot be booked, so arrived in dark and wet, to be sent to a public car park on open ground done 10 mins away - not fun.
The room was OK a bit small and overlooking the car park. Main problem, incredibly the bathroom, which was spacious, had not heating of any sort. All though there was a switch for a heated towel rail the rail did not exist. Two problems the bathroom was cold in the morning and there was nowhere to hang towels, just one small rail so towels had to be draped over shower.
One tip the breakfast by the hotel is overly expensive, you can get the same thing by paying directly to the Brasserie Blanc which is physically connected to the hotel.
Staff were very good and tried to help but could not solve the intrinsic problems of no heating in bathroom and insufficient parking.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancisBath, Hotel Excellence Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2015

Dear John H

Thank you for your feedback.

Sadly, parking in Bath is very much at a premium. We are very lucky to have parking on site, albeit limited as not all city centre hotels have space. We are also fortunate to be located within walking distance of Charlotte Street car park, a long stay car park, when we are full.

The breakfast that we offer to our guests is an a lar carte option including a Continental buffet with pastries, cake, breads, fresh fruit etc. If a smaller breakfast is preferred Brasserie Blanc, accessible through the Hotel, can offer a lighter option.

Kindest regards
Shaun Mitchell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews