We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$138
US$116
Hilton
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
High Beeches(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$101/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Express Bath(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Brooks Guesthouse(Bath)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Cranleigh(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$116
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aquae Sulis Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$93/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Bailbrook House Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$116
US$109
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harington's Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$131
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
SACO Bath - St James Parade(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,585)
Filter reviews
1,585 results
Traveller rating
649
581
236
80
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
649
581
236
80
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsart barski barroman bathshotel barperfect locationmanvers streetlovely hotelno air conditioningcar parktrain stationsmall roomchristmas marketbooked this hotelcity centreone night stayafternoon teathermae spa
Filter
Updating list...
217 - 222 of 1,585 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

Lovely little boutique style hotel in the heart of Bath. Just steps from great restaurants, pubs and "Mad Max" Tours pick up out front!!!
Staff was absolutely friendly, helpful and charming!
Breakfast was £10 pounds each, but well worth it!!! Love,y buffet p,us a hot breakfast menu to order included.
The decor and bar area is delightfully eclectic.
A one of a kind and location cannot be beat!!!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Cate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew F, General Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Dear Cate M,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review, your comments are very much appreciated. We pride ourselves on our city centre location so it's great to hear that you enjoyed the vibrancy of Bath. Thank you also for your kind comments about our staff, restaurant and rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Kind regards,
Andrew Foulkes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

Let me start with the positives as this hotel does have a number of great positives
• Amazing location, you couldn’t ask for a better location, within 3 min walk to the Roman baths and lots of amazing restaurants and bars near by
• Although the hotel doesn’t have a car oark, the car park is a 2 min walk and is reasonably priced at £12.50 for 24 hours. They also have a loading only bay (make sure you get the sign from reception to display in your car) which allows you to unload your luggage and check in (max 20 mins)
• The Hotel check in staff were really friendly
• The hotel has some amazing bars (Igloo and the hotel bar)

It was our 1st wedding anniversary and they gave us complimentary drinks which was a nice touch.
However there are some negatives with this hotel, which lead us to check out very early the next day and head home
• The hotel room (108) was like a shoe box. Appreciate hotel rooms can be small when you stay within a city centre, but I couldn’t move in that room without asking my husband to mind out the way
• The toilet was right next to the bed. No privacy what so ever and ideally I would not sleep next to a toilet
• I could hear this awful drain, fan noise throughout the entire night. It was so LOUD
• No where to hang clothes, they provided coat hooks which left the room looking like a complete mess
• We paid £200 for one night stay in the worlds smallest room and it didn’t even include breakfast which I think is insulting! You would get more for your money staying in london

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachaelmusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew F, General Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Dear Rachaelmusk,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, your comments are appreciated. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us here at The Abbey. But please do let me apologise for your dislike of our room. Of course if you had informed a member of my team we would have been more than happy to move you to a more suitable room should we have the availability. When booking of course you do have the option to book breakfast and also when you check into the hotel we do offer discounted rates.
We would love to welcome you back at some point in the future and hopefully provide you with a more relaxing stay next time.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for our 6th wedding anniversary.Upon booking the credit card was charged instantly leaving us with no flexibility for cancellation.
When we saw our room for the £190 price tag,which did not include breafast,we were outraged! Tiny,tired with the constant drone of the kitchens extractor fan outside our window.
When we complained we were abruptly told it would go off at 10pm and on again no earlier than 8am..6am we were woken by it!
This was our first night away without the children in 3 years and it was extremely dissapointing,and would have been had we paid half the rate.
I have left photographs of the run down shoe box which was our room,I could only manage to get some of the bed and window which gives an idea of how small it was!
We will never stay here again and will definatley not be reccomending to anyone.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank moomolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew F, General Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Dear moomolan,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, your comments are appreciated. I'm sorry to hear that you were disturbed by noise during your visit - this is sometimes unfortunately unavoidable as we are located directly in the centre of the city. Being a Grade 1 listed building our rooms are all individually shaped and space does not always allow for a larger room. If you had informed a member of our team I am sure we would have moved you to a more suitable room should be we have the availability. If you book through an online travel agent then they change the card details to a temporary card we are provided with to take the funds. This is a policy of theirs not our but i apologise of this caused you any inconvenience.
We would love to welcome you back at some point in the future and hopefully provide you with a more relaxing stay next time.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

Nice and unique hotel right in the heart of Bath. Top spot for taking a long walk around the historic town. The room was small but very comfortable and the lack of size made up for by the view. Breakfast was excellent if a little on the expensive side. The casual lounge in the front of the hotel was great to sit and people watch but being non smokers we were a little annoyed at this be a smoking zone. We had a one night stop over and would stay again if in Bath.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew F, General Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Dear Mark H,
Many thanks for your lovely review. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the hotel location; thank you also for your kind comments about our helpful and friendly staff. Sorry to hear that you were disturbed by smoking on what i assume was our terrace, i can assure you we do not allow smoking in any part of the property in accordance with the law but we do allow smokers on the terrace as it is an outside space. We would be more than happy to move you to another part of the terrace if you wished. Do come and see us again next time you find yourself in Bath!
Kind regards,
Andrew Foulkes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

The location in pretty great, close to most attractions in Bath, plenty of restaurants around and easy parking. We were however disappointed with the room we got. The window gave to an inner part of the building, so no view at all. They had forgotten a towel used by a previous guest in the bathroom. Don't know if we got this room because we didn't book directly with the hotel or if we were just unlucky. We only stayed 1 night, so in the end it didn't compromise that much, but if we were to stay longer we'd have asked to change rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alaurentino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew F, General Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Dear alaurentino, Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind review. I'm very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here, particularly the location, due to the shape of our building some rooms do not have a front facing view but if you had asked of course we would have been more than happy to change your room given availability. Do come back and visit us again soon! Kind regards, Andrew Foulkes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews