We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$164
US$129
Hilton
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Holiday Inn Express Bath(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$199
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$166
US$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$159/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Brooks Guesthouse(Bath)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$119
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Cranleigh(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aquae Sulis Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$93
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bailbrook House Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$124
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
High Beeches(Bath)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$103
US$97
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SACO Bath - St James Parade(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$93
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$106/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (423)
Filter reviews
423 results
Traveller rating
314
75
21
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
314
75
21
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswashing up liquidwine coolerbar bistroholiday parkthree bedroomon site restaurantsmall gymwalk in wardrobeself cateringcheddar gorgepeaceful locationboth bedroomslong weekendrobes and slipperson arrivalminute driveliving area
Filter
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 423 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

After driving through the set of shameless to get there we were quite worried...it was like Baghdad in 1999 but alas there it was at the end of the road....a beautiful majestic driveway that led to a fresh looking park that was warm and welcoming.
The lodges themselves where attractive to look at and very spacious with 4 nice comfortable bedrooms and 2 onsuites.

A few points I would like to add are as follows:

Don't shower all at the same time the water goes to a trickle.

The animal friendly lodges had gates to stop the pets getting out....they should do them to all of the cabins as we had a small toddler that tried to escape.

There were lots of stingers right next to our lodge...not ideal with children....or adults for that matter.

We tried to book for the restaurant for 5pm to be told it's was booked solid....we looked in at 5.15....4 people were in there!!!a little poor if you ask me.

A shop on site would be an advantage.

On a whole a nice place that's high on security and clean.

Bath and Bristol are beautiful cities and well worth the visit.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Travis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William P, General Manager at Bath Mill Lodge Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Thank you for your recent review following a stay with us at Bath Mill Lodge Retreat. Guests often comment on how relaxing the site is and how they feel like they are in the middle of nowhere, so we are extremely saddened to hear your opinion of the local area and that it impacted your stay. We are pleased to hear that you felt the lodge was attractive and spacious and we will be sure to take your comments on board regarding the child gate. Our grounds team at Bath Mill work extremely hard to keep the site well presented and free from weeds, we are not sure where you found 'stingers' but we will be inspecting the site today to prevent this from becoming an issue in the future. As for The Brook Bar and Bistro, I'm sure that you can appreciate that due to its size it may have seemed empty at 5pm however we would have had bookings coming in within the hour that would have prevented us from double booking the table which I'm sure you can understand. Thank you once again for your feedback, it will be discussed with the team to ensure that we improve the service that we deliver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

We wanted somewhere to stay in Bath that was self catering and peaceful. The lodge provided exactly that, at least when we stayed which was during term time. The lodge was very well furnished, comfortable beds, plenty of space, well sound proofed, clean, and it had everything we needed; no complaints at all. The area was very quiet despite proximity to other lodges, which may depend on the families along side. We found it ideal and very peaceful.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarolBartlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William P, General Manager at Bath Mill Lodge Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review, we are so pleased to read your comments. It is great to know that you had a peaceful break and that you found the lodge to be well equipped. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

Have stayed here with our grown up family for the first time.Pleasant surroundings and the grounds are well maintained and security is good.Lodge was well decorated and furnished and had it's own car parking space.It was not as clean as I would have liked and we recleaned it on arrival, as we were tired from travelling and could not be bothered to walk to reception to complain e,g the bottom of the bin was covered in sticky substances which smelt and the bin bag had just been placed on top.Blinds in the bathroom was covered in weeks worth of dust.No instructions on how to use equipment and we had a problem with the tumble dryer.On asking for help at reception staff were rude, MY DAUGHTER HEARD THEM SAY "what has the stupid woman done now"then realized she was standing at the desk. the security man came to help who was lovely. He would tell visitors of places to visit and is an asset to this place.You can eat and drink in the restuarant and we were greeted with "have you booked",the restuarant was virtually empty.The burgers were amazing.There are two pubs serving good food 3 minutes drive away.The bus stop into Bath is a little walk away from the front drive to the site.For the same money you could drive to the park and ride at Newbridge minutes away.Taxis will cost £8 to £10 one way.
We had a relaxing holiday which the brochure emplies despite the near two chalets being very noisey but that was not to do with Bath Mills Lodge ,just people being inconsiderate but for the money we paid we would probably get a hotel in central Bath next time.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank VJFSI13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William P, General Manager at Bath Mill Lodge Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your recent stay. We are delighted to hear that you found the surroundings pleasant and the site secure. However, we are extremely sorry to hear that you felt a re-clean was needed upon your arrival and we completely appreciate that you didn't want to complain after a long journey although we wish we had been able to resolve the situation for you. We are also very disappointed to hear your comments regarding the reception team, we have spoken to them about this and they cannot recall a situation with a broken tumble drier. If you could contact the park direct on 01225 333909 and ask to speak to the General Manager so that we can receive some further details regarding the incident it would be greatly appreciated. The team at Bath Mill Lodge Retreat pride themselves on professionalism and great customer service, so I am sure you can appreciate their concern after reading this review. Your comments regarding the restaurant and security teams will also be passed on, they will be delighted to hear your comments I am sure! Thank you once again for your feedback, we discuss all reviews in order to improve the service that we deliver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

My husband, our daughter, son-in-law & baby grandson stayed here, we enjoyed it so much we stayed an extra night.
The lodge was great- modern, clean and fully equipped with all you could need. The owners had thought of everything from toiletries to wine cooler!
The decor was very tasteful, furniture very comfortable.
The bistro building is also very tastefully presented with plenty of outdoor seating overlooking the brook and a small children's play area.
We were lucky enough that our lodge hadn't been booked for the Saturday night so we paid to stay an extra night.
The only point I'd make is that the site is actually in Twerton not Newton-St-Loe, just to help with your sat-nav as we got lost on arrival.
Thank-you to the management for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jnart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William P, General Manager at Bath Mill Lodge Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review following a recent break. We were so happy that we could help with the extension of your stay and we are delighted that you wanted to stay with us longer! It is lovely to hear that you found the lodge to be modern and clean and that you liked the comfort and style of the main building! We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Bath Mill Lodge Retreat again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

We booked a lodge for 6 at Bath Mill to attend graduation in the city, it is excellent value for money in a very quiet location and beautiful surroundings. Rather than rewrite the positives I would urge you to read the 5 star reviews as this is what we experienced. Thanks also to the staff who are some of the most friendly and professional people I have met. We ate in the restaurant on Wednesday for steak night which did not disappoint and again excellent value. Top tip ... a taxi to bath is about £13 and a visit to "the book barn" 20 mins up the A39 is a great way to spend a couple of hours (lovely cafe too).

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank KaineJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William P, General Manager at Bath Mill Lodge Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following a recent stay. We are so pleased to hear your comments regarding the team, we are delighted that you felt well looked after. It is also lovely to hear that you enjoyed Steak Night in The Brook Bar & Bistro! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews