We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5)
Filter reviews
5 results
Traveller rating
4
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
Reviewed 25 July 2010

We had a wonderful experience staying at Grey Lodge on a summer weekend in July. It delivers on everything you would hope for when booking an English B&B. It's a attractive building with a lovely garden located on a quiet country lane within easy reach of Bath and is a overlooking a small valley of woods and fields. Jane and Anthony are wonderful hosts and their character was reflected in the 2 charming and well appointed rooms we stayed in, both with views across the valley. After a quiet and comfy night's sleep, the breakfast was the 'piece de resistance' with choices of fresh fruits and berries, cereals, smoked salmon or poached fish, homemade preserves and an English breakfast as good as I've had anywhere. A thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noelkenno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2009

Our family of four booked the family room at Grey Lodge for 2 nights to wind down in the Easter holidays. Jane and Anthony were were friendly and we enjoyed our stay very much! The breakfast was excellent, the room was clean and with a great athmosphere. Travelling with 2 kids (aged 1 and 5 years) can be a challenge, but at Grey we felt very welcome, and both Jane and Anthony were very warm and friendly. The house itself is like a little castle, and the garden is fantastic. There is a pub with great caribean food in walking distance from the house. We strongly recommend Grey Lodge!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2007

We managed to get a room at very short notice for the Easter break, so I wasn't sure what to expect, we had to pretty much take what we could get. I can't believe how lucky we were, when we got to Grey Lodge it far exceeded my expectations. It is the most beautiful old stone house on a hill, overlooking miles of countryside. Our hosts were extremely friendly, kind and helpful and cooked up a delicious breakfast the next morning, with a choice of home made jams, fresh fruit or the full works.

The room itself was lovely in a very traditional way, blue and white colour scheme, enormous bed which was so comfortable our own bed at home hasn't seemed the same since. They even provide binoculars so you can have look out of your window at the rabbits and deer frolicking about in the fields below. In the bathroom they have lovely M&S almond and cocoa toiletries and provide little extras like cotton wool for you.

A 20 minute walk down a footpath and a country lane is a great local pub which serves great food or you can get a cab into Bath or a bus up the road, it's only about a 5 minute drive into the centre of Bath.

Also worth a mention is the adorable resident dog Blanche who is slightly unruly but very affectionate.

I would highly recommend Grey Lodge, much more fun than staying in a faceless hotel, lots of character and even better, extremely reasonably priced.

Stayed: April 2007
4  Thank Mrs_Sando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews