We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice country pub, bit expensive ”

The Wheelwrights Arms
Reserve with OpenTable
The Wheelwrights Arms is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #225 of 620 Restaurants in Bath
Price range: US$16 - US$34
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Wheelwrights Arms Country Inn is nestled in the peaceful village of Monkton Combe and surrounded by picturesque hills and valleys on the edge of Bath
Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile

Went with a friend as had heard God things. The service was good and waitress friendly, food arrived quickly a was really nice and good sized portions. Puddings were expensive for what you got but still tasty. The pub itself is lovely and quaint, really nicely decorated with a log fire that really warmed you up.
However, found it a bit cheeky to include a service charge as it wasn't restaurant level service or food and the meals weren't cheap to begin with. Would definitely go back, but not regularly due to the price.

Thank 242soph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2017

Stopped off for lunch here halfway through a long walk. Food okay and reasonably priced, but when I checked the bill after I got home I was very surprised to find that there was a service charge. I am fortunate to be able to eat lunch out a couple of times a week, either in pubs or three and four star hotels, and I have never had a service charge at any of them before. Won't be returning.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Calendarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

After staying locally in the Tucking Mill View, we could not fault our food from starter to dessert. It was truly outstanding. The choice is limited yet caters for all which means everything is cooked to order, is fresh and is delicious. The Camembert starter is HUGE!

The mains consisted of fish and triple cooked chips, chickpea curry and the rump of lamb (was the best we had ever had!) was excellent.

The service was good - attentive yet not too obtrusive. The only downside we could see was that there was no comfy seating area to enjoy an after dinner drink but this is certainly NOT a complaint!

A must if you’re in the area!

Thank Ashley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Overpriced Sunday lunch, tiny portions, served barely luke warm. The manager could also do with some customer care training. Quite shocking.

1  Thank bevp321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

I really like what they have done with the rooms that face the pub..a mix of old and modern. In the summer time I can imagine it might be really noisy as the rooms face the pub/beer garden. Had dinner at the pub, the ladies serving us were wonderful and the food was decent. One big disappointment was service at the front desk..especially when we came down for breakfast half an hour late ( we thought it closes at 11). We weren't even offered coffee/tea and cereal which I would have expected from a friendly country pub. Understand if hot food wasn't possible, but at least something as we had already paid for breakfast. Just a blunt "we are closed"..I have worked in hospitality a lot and that kind of attitude does not keep customers happy. I wish they were willing to flex a bit and be more warm and welcoming!

Thank misukisu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WheelwrightsArms, Owner at The Wheelwrights Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you for your kind comments about the pub and our food.
Your comments about breakfast etc are unfair.
All our guests are informed that breakfast is for 8 am to 10 am (also on the website) and we are always happy to extend that a bit but not for half an hour.
We were not impressed that you left without paying and it is only due to our staffs persistance that we did get paid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wheelwrights Arms also viewed

 

Been to The Wheelwrights Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing