We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good location”
other travellers have booked this property
Lilac Cottage and gardens to the front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lilac Cottage and gardens to the front
Lilac Cottage, Thatched House and gardens View to Glastonbury Tor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
55 reviews
Lilac Cottage and gardens to the front
Lilac Cottage, Thatched House and gardens
View to Glastonbury Tor
Lilac Cottage
Lilac Cottage
Gardens to the front
Open plan Living Area
Kitchen and Dining Room
Sitting Area
Sitting Area
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bedroom 1 Ground Floor
Bedroom 2 Upstairs
Secret Picnic Area
Secret Picnic Area
Views to Glastonbury Tor from the Secret Picnic Area
Some of our Chickens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Glastonbury, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Pelster20...
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 4 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed as a family of 4, my husband and 5 year old twin boys. We stayed from the 29th March- 2nd April 2015. The cottage was very well equipped with all the things we needed and it in a great location for visiting all the near by attractions. We ate at the pub next door which serves basic food, you can better food and a friendlier atmosphere eating at Rose & Portcullis in Butleigh which is less than 5 miles away.

We visited Wookey Hole which was not worth the money. We did the Glastonbury Tor which was great, it was very windy day which the children really loved because you felt like you were flying. We went to LongLeat which was amazing and worth every penny. If were to visit again we would do the combine deal of cheddar Gorge and Longleat.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr Geoff...
1 review
“Excellent base for exploring the area”
Reviewed 24 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Very nice comfortable cottage, good for being able to take dogs, need to be careful with the kettle as it doesn't pour well but that's the only criticism, well appointed very clean and nice people

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: location
Liked least: kettle
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2015
We are glad you enjoyed your stay, I will look again at the kettle and see if it needs replacement. We would love to welcome you and your lovely dogs back to expore some more.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin E
1 review
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 8 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had a lovely time at Lilac Cottage, we'd definitely go again, and very well might!

Very convenient for Glastonbury, only a short drive away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Reasonable but not Special”
Reviewed 28 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The location of Lilac cottage is convenient, easy to find and could be the let you are looking for if you are seeking a reasonably priced get away to Glastonbury. It was not however, the peaceful retreat that I had envisioned, perhaps because I had hoped for greater levels of quiet and comfort. The proximity to the main road meant that I was very conscious of traffic noise in the morning, there was a lot of heavy goods traffic. Perhaps this may not be a problem for you if you are used to traffic noise but I found it disruptive. I struggled a bit with the steep stairs up to the loft bedroom which taxed my knees, the bannister rails felt a bit insecure and perhaps need a check up for tightness. Upstairs the headroom for my tall 6ft 6 husband was limited. I found the couch in the living area uncomfortable and this meant that I did not really relax in the way I had hoped would be possible. There were a number of frustrations like a kettle that sploshed water when pouring, pots and pans with non stick material scuffed away and rusting at the base which made basic catering a bit lack luster. I enjoyed a lovely hot bath, and the excellent water pressure made showering a pleasure. The owners were helpful and unobtrusive. I would recommend this let? Yes I think you could have a pleasant stay at Lilac Cottage if you are happy with a basic level of accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot shower with great water pressure.
Liked least: Traffic noise
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2015
My apologies if you found the road too noisy, we do advertise well that we are on an A road but set well back. The saucepans were only mentioned to me the week before your stay and I have already replaced these now with new stainless steel to prevent the issue reoccurring.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon C
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Convenient, comfortable cottage.”
Reviewed 3 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Attractive cottage, comfortable and well-equipped, though some of the pots and pans had seen better days. On a main road but set well back so not too noisy. Friendly owners in adjoining house. Well situated for Glastonbury, Wells and the Somerset levels, with views of Glastonbury Tor within a few minutes walk. Good lanes to walk our dog close by (Laurel Street). Internet access very useful. Central heating with a smallish hot water tank, so can't have too many showers in a short time. Nice to have fresh milk provided as well as tea, coffee etc. Pub next door was very dog- and people-friendly and served good food.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Small hot water tank
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing