We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food and excellent service”
Review of Goodfellows

Goodfellows
Reserve with OpenTable
Goodfellows is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 89 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$86 - US$86
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 24 April 2018

If you are anywhere near Wells this restaurant is the very best reason for for making a detour to enjoy the food and ambience of Goodfellows in the heart of this beautiful city.
My two starter fish courses,fresh crab meat with crispy wonton and scallops with samphire and a champagne sauce, were delicious as was my wife's parma ham wrapped pork.
The restaurant was busy but the service was excellent.
We shall be back again as soon as possible.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank norman w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2018 via mobile

We booked for 7.30 pm and arrived on time. The dialogue with the front of house person was as follows.

" Hello we booked a table for 7.30."

"Your table isn't available yet. "

End of. No follow up such as "please wait over here" or "why not have a drink at the bar?" let alone "so sorry your table isn't ready on time - please have a drink on us while we sort out the delay."

So I said " What do you suggest?"

Answer " Why don't you wander around for a bit?"

20 minutes later, when we had been comfortably settled for some time at the excellent Antonio's restaurant down the road, a telephone message came through from Goodfellows to say our table was finally ready.

How not to manage customers.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

Visited lunch time and was told it was fully booked!! However, on asking whether they could recommend somewhere near by - they "released" a table - this confusion was down to a "misunderstanding" . Whatever, it was well worth the effort - their two/three course lunch time menu was very good - food of a high standard and extremely well presented. It may not be the most ambitious menu - but if in Wells, it is well worth a visit - just persist when asking for a table!!

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Famrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018

We’ve often walked past Goodfellows and not eaten there as it looks very cramped and unexciting from the outside - and that’s exactly what it’s like on the inside too! But like some of those restaurants you stumble across on a European holiday, it’s full of locals for the simple reason that the food is very,very good. As it was a celebration we both chose the scallops and samphire even though at £22 it was rather on the pricy side. It wasn’t a very generous portion either, but it really was cooking of the highest order - the most satisfying main course I’ve eaten in many years! I think we’ll probably make this a regular eating place for us, even if another time we choose something more modestly priced.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Eddylevel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

Really good food, well prepared and presented. This is a restaurant that knows how to prepare and cook fish properly.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Park_Hall_Barry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Goodfellows also viewed

 

Been to Goodfellows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing