We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didnt bother to book ...”

The Barn at Lichfield
Ranked #52 of 166 Restaurants in Lichfield
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Unless you have a wedding party of 50+ don't bother. We enquired about booking a table in July for a small intimate party and received texts back. First was quite accommodating, asking about the size of the party etc, second was more along the line of you're wasting our time. Even by text, the attitude sucked! Found somewhere else far better (The Plough Shenstone) and we're really looking forward to it.

Ps and for the record, just because I mentioned 'small' and 'intimate', doesnt equal cheap. We will be looking to pay £700 plus for one sitting so it's a loss to the barn!

3  Thank Cooperdoopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy L, Owner at The Barn at Lichfield, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Hi Cooperdoopa,
Many thanks for taking the time in reviewing the Barn in Lichfield. Here at the Barn, we cater for all sizes, big or small. Only last week, we held a small and intimate wedding held in our Leamonsley Suite, with the party being 11 guests in total. The party we extremely happy with how we accommodated them as nothing was too much for our guests. We apologise for any dissatisfaction with how you felt you were treated when booking. However, I can confirm that our booking system is done professionally through an email or telephone not via text message. Our Events Manager is a professional, who takes her job extremely seriously and endeavours to meet every single one of our guests needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 485 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018

We ended up eating here Good Friday, despite no reservation and it being busy we managed to make an area for 11. Food was served in a timely manner, good quality nice potion size, only grumble was the lukewarm hot chocolate and the chicken pizza was mouth-wateringly too spicy.

1  Thank Thisisour0pinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy L, Manager at The Barn at Lichfield, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you for your review, we do apologize for the hot chocolate and the pizza being overly spicy. I have passed this on to the kitchen.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

We visited The Barn for dinner one evening this month. It's certainly a nice setting, and very tastefully decorated inside. Contrary to other reviews, the staff were actually very polite, attentive and helpful. In some ways, I felt sorry for them, as the food itself does them a disservice.

It was busy when we went, though not overly busy, and there were empty tables around. Sadly the music was so loud, it was almost impossible to hold a conversation. This is such a shame, because with loud music, people just talk louder...thus, it gets louder and louder. as they compete!

The food itself was, in my opinion, fairly poor. I had the lamb shank with buttered greens and garlic mash. The lamb, which although cooked to perfection, had absolutely no flavour at all. Similarly, the mash had no flavour, and certainly hadn't been near any garlic. The greens were good, but they shouldn't really be the star of the plate. The sauce, unfortunately looked like a 'packet sauce' with an overriding taste of dried mint. This was such a shame. The whole dish could have been improved with just being seasoned: it's such a basic error. Certainly not £14 worth.

Desert, which was ginger cake with salted caramel sauce and vanilla ice cream, was better, although if we're going to have sauce, let's have a sauce, not a few dots on the plate. Not convinced it was worth £6 though.

If The Barn wishes to raise their game, they urgently need to improve the quality of their food. It needs to be flavoursome and hot. The menu claims it is all cooked to order, but it doesn't give that appearance.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Memoriser12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy L, Manager at The Barn at Lichfield, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you for your review.

Thank you for your kind comment about the design of the decor and the staff.

We are so sorry about the experience you had with our food as everything is cooked and prepared fresh, i will pass all these comments on to the kitchen.

Hope to see you again soon for another chance.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Our family visit at the barn was not a good one, We chose this venue because of the lovely setting and wanted something special for my parents to celebrate their 60th wedding anniversary with close family. The pub was very busy with 2 other large occasions going on and we felt that reflected on the service and the quality of the food. On one occasion I overheard the staff making jokes about my parents cake and how they were going to present it by saying do we sing happy anniversary to the birthday song. The food was terrible and the staff making mistakes all the time. It was very disappointing on an occasion that should have been very special. We will not be going back or in fact recommend this venue to anyone else.

4  Thank kim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy L, Manager at The Barn at Lichfield, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Kim,

Thank you for your review, i am so sorry to hear about your experience at the Barn. This is not acceptable in any way, and i will be looking into this . Staff Training does happen on a regular basis and we will make sure that things are put into action.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Visited The Barns for a birthday party, barstaff very friendly and I can't fault them. Food was very good, The Barns is very clean throughout but my only complaint is there was hardly any chairs put out for so many guests. All ages attending so chairs were needed, obviously incompetence by who ever is in charge with bookings. When we asked for extra chairs staff pointed the finger towards their management that this was a problem caused by them. Nice room for a party but if you can't even get seating arrangements sorted what's the point in booking one.

1  Thank moderniste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy L, Manager at The Barn at Lichfield, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you for your review, i do apologize about this and will be something we take into consideration for future events to put out more chairs for customers.

Thank you for kind comment about our bar staff and food, we aim to meet the best standards possible in all areas of the restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Barn at Lichfield also viewed

Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 
Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 
Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Barn at Lichfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing