We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield(Lichfield)(Great Value!)
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$64
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St Johns House(Lichfield)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveller rating
134
176
91
33
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
134
176
91
33
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno lifttown centrefull englishfriendly hotelbreakfast was excellentonly stayed one nightsome tlcbridal suitegood sizebottled waternight porterwedding receptionpleasant stayfree parkingvisiting lichfieldroad noiselovely staff
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 450 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

Hotel situated on a corner, up the slope from the Cathedral.
Spacious car park. 24 hour reception. No lift. Breakfast
cooked to order, plentiful and of good quality.
Check out is 10.30am
Short walk to the Cathedral, which is noted for its
three spires.
The centre of the City has over 230 listed buildings,
including examples of Georgian architecture.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank brianjwpalacio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela B, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Thank you for posting your 4* rating.

Our family owned hotel is located in the heart of Lichfield, just a short walk from the city centre and the magnificent cathedral, this charming hotel offers cosy rooms, each with a flat-screen plasma TV and free Wi-Fi access. All rooms have an en suite bathroom with a power shower over the bath.

So pleased that you enjoyed access to the spacious car park, 24 reception and a plentiful good quality breakfast.

We hope to be able to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Stayed here for a date night in lichfield. A lovely little hotel at a great price. Closely situated to lichfield a short stroll your in the centre of lichfield. Room was clean and comfortable with nice crisp bedding. Staff were welcoming and friendly. Bar prices are good for a hotel with a nice relaxing bar area to enjoy a drink before hitting lichfield. Breakfast was fantastic, lovely dining room with an array of cereals, fruit, juice, pastries. Cooked breakfast was delicious, served to a high standard. In all a great nights stay and great value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tat30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela B, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you for choosing our family owned hotel for your overnight stay for date night and for taking the time to post your great review.

So pleased that we met all your expectations and you both enjoyed a comfortable stay which was great value for money. We hope that you will choose Cathedral for your next date night, our friendly team look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

After we booked our 2 night stay we tried to book dinner for the first evening, only to be told the restaurant was not open in the evening. Not a good start but we were given a discount for dinner at sister hotel The George down the road which was excellent. We echo the positive comments on the breakfasts by other reviewers.
Our room 207 was spacious and quiet but too warm, due to a very hot towel rail in the bathroom. The curtains did not keep the light out, because they were not wide enough and they were not secured at the end. An attempt by the staff to fix them did not work.
These minor grumbles did not spoil our stay as we knew the hotel is being improved by the new owners and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We would certainly return if we came back to Lichfield.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank NickandSue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela B, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thank you for choosing our family owned hotel for your 2 night stay. Sorry that we don't serve an evening meal at the Cathedral, however I am pleased that you chose to take a stroll to our sister hotel, The George, where you enjoyed an excellent dinner.

Thank you for your positive comments regarding the lovely breakfast and quiet room. We are working hard to enhance the hotel and we are pleased that the improvements required in your room did not spoil the overall enjoyment of your stay.

We are pleased that you would consider a return visit if you visited Lichfield in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed a few nights in this hotel last year. Our room was spacious and clean. Full English breakfast tasty and plentiful.
The hotel also has a bar which I unfortunately didn't get the chance to try but it looked pleasant enough. There's a supermarket about 5 minutes walk up the road and pubs, restaurants etc all pretty close by. All in all a pleasant stay.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sethonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela B, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

Thank you for choosing Cathedral Hotel for your stay and for taking the time to post your review.

I am pleased that you had a very pleasant stay and hope that you will come back and visit us again when you are in the area.

Our friendly team look forward to welcoming you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018 via mobile

Stayed here on Saturday night, following on from a function at the hotel, we had our 2 twin granddaughters aged 2 in the room with us, the staff are amazing and accommodating with the little ones, nothing was too much trouble, the whole team made an extra special effort with us all to enable a safe and comfortable stay. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend them, Louise was helpful with information prior to our stay and she didn't disappoint on our stay.
Thank you all staff at the cathedral hotel.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank anne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela B, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

WOW. Thank you for your fantastic feedback following your comfortable stay with your two twin granddaughters.

We are very proud of our dedicated team and the fantastic service they offer our guests, and I am delighted to hear that the whole team ensured your visit was thoroughly enjoyable.

Our amazing team hope to be able to welcome you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews