We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For drinks, for food, for cocktails”

Ego Mediterranean Pub & Restaurant
Ranked #38 of 582 Restaurants in Stoke-on-Trent
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$28
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Enjoy freshly cooked Mediterranean food, wine, cocktails and cask ales in a beautifully restored early 1900 character pub nestled between Leek and Stoke. The Hollybush is a must visit for its Mediterranean food, family friendly dining, kid’s playground and a stunning fully enclosed glass terrace, perfect for all year al fresco dining. This Mediterranean inspired pub and restaurant is ideal for large groups, special occasions, family celebrations and intimate dining.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Really nice and vibrant atmosphere - Ego does a decent job at not seeming like a chain, and I hope it tries to maintain this. There are lots of little pockets of space, each with a different feel. Equally, the food is served with thought and attention and doesn't seem like it's just been rolled off a mass-produced menu. There's a good range of options, including for vegetarians - and everything I've tried has been really good - not madly amazing - but really good food. It's almost as if the homely touch of the old Hollybush has been kept in mind.
For after-work drinks, there's a decent selection of spirits, including a nice gin menu - and the two-for-one cocktail deal isn't bad value. Having said that, beer options can be a bit limited - but it's not really that sort of place.
What I would say is that the menu is fractionally expensive for what is on offer, and likewise in some cases with the drinks (if you don't take up the two-for-one offer, you end up paying high prices for a decent, rather than high-price cocktail, for example). The place can, justifyably, get a bit busy - so parking can be a problem. We also found it odd that despite booking a table, there was still a considerable predicted wait for food - but the staff are really sharp and professional and all the meals came out much quicker than predicted anyway.
Overall - about as good an option there is in this part of the world - very good food, great atmosphere - and not impossibly expensive.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank princeflorian86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Guest Relations Manager at Ego Mediterranean Pub & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Hi there,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review - we really appreciate you letting us know about your experience.

Don't forget, you can always join our Ego club online to receive great weekly offers and discounts and special treats.

We will look forward to welcoming you back to the Hollybush again soon..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (953)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 119 of 954 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018

Excellent food and service. You need to book because it is very popular. We will deinately eat here again.

1  Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Guest Relations Manager at Ego Mediterranean Pub & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Brilliant news Rachel - thank you very much!

See you again soon..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Went for a meal with my boyfriend last night and booked a table for 9pm. Whilst admittedly this was a late reservation we were totally forgotten by the restaurant staff! Waited nearly an hour for food, had to ask twice for a drink that we ordered which took nearly 20 minutes as the staff were all too busy at the bar! My boyfriend ordered the hanging kebab but it came out just lay on the plate and the juice had made both the wraps go soggy, not sure how they can justify the £18 for this dish? Asked for the bill and then had to search for someone to take our money, needless to say we didn’t leave a tip! This is most certainly NOT comparable to The Orange Tree, The Wayfarer, The Swan with Two necks or The Blockhouse yet they are asking the same prices. Everything about this place is average/poor!

2  Thank natthomas14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Guest Relations Manager at Ego Mediterranean Pub & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Hi there,

Please could you forward your contact details to info@egorestaurants.co.uk with the date and time of your visit and the reference STB3103 and one of our management team will be in touch to discuss your review further.

Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

The food was beautifully cooked (can recommend the mussels and the cod loin!) The atmosphere was up-beat and pleasant, and in spite of it being very busy our waitress Jesca Martin bright and bubbly and added to the experience. Thank you Jesca and all the staff. Lovely evening. We'll be back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jaxboredge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Guest Relations Manager at Ego Mediterranean Pub & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thanks so much for your great review Jax - we will pass on your great feedback to Jesca and the kitchen team and hope to see you again soon..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Went for a lunchtime meal and was served by Jesca Martin, the food and service were exceptional as usual.

1  Thank maggieturner2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Guest Relations Manager at Ego Mediterranean Pub & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Wonderful news Maggie - thanks so much for letting us know that you had such a lovely time!

We will let Jesca know and look forward to seeing you again very soon..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ego Mediterranean Pub & Restaurant also viewed

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Ego Mediterranean Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing