We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of The Railway Inn

The Railway Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aldeburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Railway Inn
Ranked #9 of 16 Aldeburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We arrived and were shown to our room, it was a twin bedded room right at the front of the pub which meant we were pretty much over the bar, the room was small and the toilet/shower room was absolutely tiny and dirty, you could only open the door just over halfway because it hit the bed. After going out for a superb dinner at the Lighthouse we returned to the Railway around midnight expecting it to have started to quieten down, this was far from the case the pub was in full flight and the music was loud. It was a very warm evening but we were unable to have the window open due to the location of our room and the noise level outside. Even with the window closed we still had the thud of music from the bar. We declined breakfast (despite being woken by hammering on the door to tell us we would miss it if we were'nt down in 10 minutes) the following morning and asked to check out. We were more that a little annoyed to be informed that they had completed the transaction for the full outstanding amount without out us being present (we had given the owner our card details for the holding deposit) I will be speaking to my card issuer to confirm whether this is permitted. Our room was £70 and I felt it was tired, dirty and really should have been a single. I would also suggest that the owners advise future guests that will end up in this room of the noise levels from both the outside seating area and the bar prior to accepting the booking.

Room Tip: Although the wiFi was free the signal,was next to useless
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shirley b, Owner at The Railway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hello Alan
I have only just been alerted to the review you put on Tripadvisor last week. Suffice to say my husband and I are very upset and also baffled as to why you didn't tell us there was a problem at the time. The twin room measures 4x4.4 metres with an added reasonable size ensuite. The room is not above the bar but above the kitchen which is not used in the evenings as we are not a food pub. The music from the juke box finishes at midnight, the night in question was unusually quiet as there were several local private parties on elsewhere, one of them fairly close on the estate next to our pub-I'm sure you must realise I have no control over what happens outside of here. There will always be some background noise with rooms over a pub which is to be expected. The charge is £70 a night, we take card details to confirm booking, if for any reason the customer has to cancel as long as it is 48hrs before there is no charge, otherwise we take the payment. This is all explained when we take the booking. Breakfast wise, the information book in your room tells you breakfast is served between 8.45 and 9.30. I did knock on your door to see if were coming down as it was 9.25 and didn't want you to miss it. Cleanliness wise, we do our utmost to keep it clean and try to update rooms when we can. This week the twin room is due to be redecorated and fit a new carpet. We have 3 rooms and they are all done periodically. It is a real shame you left without telling us your complaints, I distinctly remember asking you if everything was okay and the answer was yes! Shirley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Popped into this pub one evening and found it a pleasant and inviting place. Have to say the staff were very good even though it was reasonably busy. I have not stayed or eaten here but if I were looking for a no-frills B&B in the area it would have to be considered. Note it is slightly out of town, ten minutes walk to the high street. Parking here is no problem.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Eastbourneoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We were greeted pleasant landlady who showed us our room. We enjoyed our stay. The location was nice, the people were nice, the food was nice, the room was roomy, clean and provided tea/coffee making facilities. If we visit the area again we will definitely stay there again unless we are unlucky and they are fully booked.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My partner and I had a family engagement in Aldeburgh and booked a twin room at The Railway Inn for £70/room/night.
On checking in to the Railway on a wednesday lunchtime we noticed the bar was full of friendly locals enjoying a pub quiz. We were met by Shirl who was extremely helpful in sourcing some toiletry items as I had forgotten to load the suitcase in the car before leaving home!
The room was light, bright, airy and spotless. A nice touch was the pair of wine glasses and a corkscrew. It had an en-suite which, although small, was more than adequate. The beds were very comfortable.
In the evening the bar was once again full of very friendly locals who, like us, enjoyed the international soccer on the big-screen TVs.
The full-English breakfast was a gastronomical delight. Plenty of everything including juice, tea/coffee, marmalade/jam and toast. The sausage is worthy of particular recommendation.
The only negative is the lack of car parking but there is ample room in the adjacent road.
We shall definitely be staying there again when next in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed in the single room. Very small but quite adequate for one person. Everything I needed...excellent shower in the little en suite, hospitality tray, hairdryer, tv and towels with shower gel and soap provided. Extremely comfortable bed. Generous breakfast with quality sausages and friendly hosts who cared about their service. Clean and comfortable bargain priced stay just ten minutes walk from sea front. Hope to stay again. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melliewoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aldeburgh hotels
5.1 km away
The Butchers Arms Freehouse
The Butchers Arms Freehouse
#13 of 16 in Aldeburgh
25 reviews
1.2 km away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,054 reviews
0.7 km away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 km away
Tirah Guest House
Tirah Guest House
#1 of 1 in Aldringham
188 reviews
0.7 km away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,519 reviews
0.1 km away
Toll House
Toll House
#4 of 16 in Aldeburgh
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Railway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Railway Inn

Address: Leiston Road, Aldeburgh, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Aldeburgh
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing