We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value and not too far from the main part of town.”
Review of The Railway Inn

The Railway Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aldeburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Railway Inn
Ranked #9 of 16 Aldeburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Our room was clean if a little small, but as I didn't intend to live there it was fine. The bathroom was clean and efficiently spaced. The shower heat control was not working too well but I'm sure they fixed that now. Our window overlooked the road to the traffic island but seemed very quiet for the time of year. It is no more than ten minutes walk to the beach down a well-lit road or take a stroll through the parklands between there and the town, which we did. Very pleasant and rural. Breakfast was pleasant and unrushed, if you don't mind pictures of Elvis, The Beatles and the Rolling Stones watching you eat. We were left in no doubt as to the landlady's musical preferences... which were not all bad. (My era too) On the day we left, the Grand Cycle Tour of Great Britain was finishing a stage in Aldeburgh so we high-tailed it out of there (sorry, Elvis is rubbing off on me...) straight after breakfast and managed to miss all the Lycra Louts. The Landlady was very friendly, quick and attentive and the place reflected her care. Unfortunately (or not?) the bar was very quiet that night with only 4 or 5 locals in. Their jokes weren't bad though!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cybermouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2017

I stayed in the single room for 2 nights. It is very small - including the en-suite shower room the total floor space is less than 4 times the size of the single bed - but if you want value for money I doubt you can do better, because this amazing town attracts a lot of visitors and there is limited accommodation. The room was modern and clean, with TV, tea and coffee and basic toiletries provided. It was very hot weather but there was a portable fan provided too. I was able to use the pub's free wi-fi in my room most of the time. Breakfast was very good. You can't park right outside, but you should find a space within a minute or two's walk. It's a 10 minute walk to the seaside and high street, and access into the building is convenient if you come back late. I felt very welcome and I would be very happy to return.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

We came to this pub for the first time this evening. What a surprising evening! Friendly, lively, great crowd, the Karaoke was super fun. Definitely a place to recommend. Beer is well kept and staff helpful and friendly. ...in ten years of owning a place here I ask myself, why didn't I come before? We will return. Fab!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank MikeyLondonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shirley b, Owner at The Railway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2016

Thank you for your lovely comments.
We hope to see you again soon!
Kind regards
Shirley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2016 via mobile

We called into this pub whilst visiting Aldeburgh. It wasn't very impressive compared to other pubs that we visited locally and they served a very poor pint of Adnams Broadside. Although this was the nearest pub to our accommodation, we weren't tempted to go back.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank multiplexor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shirley b, Owner at The Railway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2016

Hello
We are sorry you didn't enjoy your visit to our lovely pub.
Do wish you had told us about the broadside- we would have dealt with your complaint immediately.
Regards
Shirley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2015

Very friendly folk and a good pint. Real locals pub. Cribbage. Quizes. Dartboard. Pool table. Juke box (free on Thursdays!). Well kept Adnams ales. Probably a very lively place on a Friday or Saturday night. We where there on a Thursday! Pretty quiet, just us and the crib players plus one or two locals.

They don't serve food though, so you'll need to go into town but that's only a half a mile stroll down to the seafront where there's plenty to choose from.

Accommodation looked to be recently renovated and was clean and comfortable with everything you could need.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptainBovril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aldeburgh hotels
5.1 km away
The Butchers Arms Freehouse
The Butchers Arms Freehouse
#13 of 16 in Aldeburgh
25 reviews
1.2 km away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,053 reviews
0.7 km away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 km away
Tirah Guest House
Tirah Guest House
#1 of 1 in Aldringham
188 reviews
0.7 km away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,519 reviews
0.1 km away
Toll House
Toll House
#4 of 16 in Aldeburgh
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Railway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Railway Inn

Address: Leiston Road, Aldeburgh, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Aldeburgh
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing