We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best!”
Review of The Chantry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Chantry Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2016 via mobile

Great hotel, beautiful rooms, spotlessly clean. Great ambience and surprisingly for a hotel of such high quality, dog friendly. Breakfasts excellent. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Chantry as its central location and availability of offstreet parking makes it the perfect place to stay whether on business or for leisure.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank JGN65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chantry1, Manager at The Chantry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2016

Hi JGN65,

Thank you for your review of the Chantry Hotel.

Its lovely to hear you would recommend us and you all enjoyed your stay with us.

We are very dog friendly and always enjoy seeing them.

Look forward to seeing you on your next Visit.

Pete
(Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 80 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

We've just come back from a great three day family break at the Chantry Hotel. The hotel is centrally positioned but the road isn't too busy/noisy despite the location. It's also really handy having parking immediately at the hotel premises however there is only one space per room. It wasn't an issue on this occasion but often my wife and I travel separately for short weekend breaks because of work commitments. We did consider several alternative hotels within Bury St Edmunds before booking but this was one, however none appeared to have parking on the premises.

We each had superior double rooms and they were all tastefully decorated and very clean.

Breakfast was great with a good choice of both continental and cooked options.

We would like to say a special thanks to the Manager Peter who looked after us throughout our stay & booked us several taxi's.



Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank ZacharyC-J96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chantry1, Manager at The Chantry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2016

Hi ZacharyC-j96,

Thank you for your lovely review of the Chantry Hotel.

Wonderful to hear you were happy with your choice of Hotels for your family break.

All of our staff are here to make your stay that little bit easier so hope to see you again in the future.

Pete
(Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016

I stayed at the Chantry Hotel whilst my husband and I attended a friends wedding at St Mary's Church. Its a lovely hotel, clean, comfortable and really friendly. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Bury St Edmunds - this hotel really is exactly what we wanted & I can't wait to find an excuse to go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 5 which has beautiful high ceilings and a large bathroom. It was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank hellome2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chantry1, Manager at The Chantry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2016

Hi hellome2016,

Thank you for your review of the Chantry Hotel.

It Great to hear we met your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you on your next Visit.

Pete
(Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2016

Hotel in perfect situation for a Bury girl returning to her roots and wanting to stroll through memory lane without going on a route march.Really comfortable room. Breakfast suited us both. My husband a full English fan; everything on the plate top quality. For me fruit and yogurt was tasty, porridge one morning really enjoyable, pastries the right side of decadent and out toast was lovely granary style bread. Service was great. Friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: If you can negotiate winding staircase opt for second floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank tique1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chantry1, Manager at The Chantry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2016

Hi tique1945,

Thank you for your review of The Chantry Hotel.

Lovely to hear you had an enjoyable stay whilst revisiting your Home town. I will certainly pass on your kind words to the rest of the team.

We hope to see you again for your next visit.

Pete (Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2016 via mobile

When we rang to arrange the booking we were promised a large room which overlooked the road. When we arrived we were told that this room had already been allocated.

We were then shown to a VERY small room at the top of some steep winding stairs at the back of the premises. (My partner has angina problems). The room was so small we could hardly walk around the end of the bed! The manager was cold - little eye contact - full of excuses.

Breakfast was average. We would not stay here again.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank CassandraCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chantry1, Manager at The Chantry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2016

Hi CassandraCritic,

Sorry to hear you had a bad experience, This is very Unusual.

We do not recall your visit in April 2015

This has not been brought to our attention until now.

If you wish to discuss this further please contact the Hotel directly.

Pete (Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
0.3 km away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
1,268 reviews
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
545 reviews
2.2 km away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
320 reviews
4.5 km away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#6 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
662 reviews
4.8 km away
The Ickworth Hotel
The Ickworth Hotel
#1 of 2 in Horringer
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chantry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chantry Hotel

Address: 8 Sparhawk Street, Bury St Edmunds IP33 1RY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range: RM 620 - RM 752 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chantry Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chantry Hotel is situated in the heart of historic Bury St Edmunds. It is close to the town centre,shops and restaurants. It offers 14 en-suite rooms with a bar/lounge for the guests to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Chantry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chantry Hotel Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing