We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (261)
Filter reviews
261 results
Traveller rating
178
68
11
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
178
68
11
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall hotelantique bedtown centrecomplimentary teano hesitation in recommending this hotelcar parkst mary's churchlovely hotelwithin easy walking distancekippersabbey gardenslittle gemgreene king brewerybreakfast was excellentbreakfast room iswould stay againperiod property
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 261 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

We've just come back from a great three day family break at the Chantry Hotel. The hotel is centrally positioned but the road isn't too busy/noisy despite the location. It's also really handy having parking immediately at the hotel premises however there is only one space per room. It wasn't an issue on this occasion but often my wife and I travel separately for short weekend breaks because of work commitments. We did consider several alternative hotels within Bury St Edmunds before booking but this was one, however none appeared to have parking on the premises.

We each had superior double rooms and they were all tastefully decorated and very clean.

Breakfast was great with a good choice of both continental and cooked options.

We would like to say a special thanks to the Manager Peter who looked after us throughout our stay & booked us several taxi's.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank ZacharyC-J96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chantry1, Manager at The Chantry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2016

Hi ZacharyC-j96,

Thank you for your lovely review of the Chantry Hotel.

Wonderful to hear you were happy with your choice of Hotels for your family break.

All of our staff are here to make your stay that little bit easier so hope to see you again in the future.

Pete
(Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016

I stayed at the Chantry Hotel whilst my husband and I attended a friends wedding at St Mary's Church. Its a lovely hotel, clean, comfortable and really friendly. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Bury St Edmunds - this hotel really is exactly what we wanted & I can't wait to find an excuse to go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 5 which has beautiful high ceilings and a large bathroom. It was perfect.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank hellome2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chantry1, Manager at The Chantry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2016

Hi hellome2016,

Thank you for your review of the Chantry Hotel.

It Great to hear we met your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you on your next Visit.

Pete
(Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2016

Hotel in perfect situation for a Bury girl returning to her roots and wanting to stroll through memory lane without going on a route march.Really comfortable room. Breakfast suited us both. My husband a full English fan; everything on the plate top quality. For me fruit and yogurt was tasty, porridge one morning really enjoyable, pastries the right side of decadent and out toast was lovely granary style bread. Service was great. Friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: If you can negotiate winding staircase opt for second floor room
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank tique1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chantry1, Manager at The Chantry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2016

Hi tique1945,

Thank you for your review of The Chantry Hotel.

Lovely to hear you had an enjoyable stay whilst revisiting your Home town. I will certainly pass on your kind words to the rest of the team.

We hope to see you again for your next visit.

Pete (Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2016 via mobile

When we rang to arrange the booking we were promised a large room which overlooked the road. When we arrived we were told that this room had already been allocated.

We were then shown to a VERY small room at the top of some steep winding stairs at the back of the premises. (My partner has angina problems). The room was so small we could hardly walk around the end of the bed! The manager was cold - little eye contact - full of excuses.

Breakfast was average. We would not stay here again.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank CassandraCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chantry1, Manager at The Chantry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2016

Hi CassandraCritic,

Sorry to hear you had a bad experience, This is very Unusual.

We do not recall your visit in April 2015

This has not been brought to our attention until now.

If you wish to discuss this further please contact the Hotel directly.

Pete (Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2016

We have stayed in other "angelic" hotels in Bury, but this one gets our 10/10 for quality, very comfortable room and bed, spacious Ensuite, friendly hosts, and delicious breakfast with plenty of options. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chantry1, Manager at The Chantry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2016

Hi Alison C,

Thank you for your lovely review of The Chantry Hotel.

Wow 10/10!...

I will pass on your kind words to the rest of the team.

We hope to hear from you soon to book your next trip to The Chantry Hotel.

Pete (Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews