We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent stay, lovely place and great facilities.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Holm Oak Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
maryannea...
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent stay, lovely place and great facilities.”
Reviewed 12 November 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Very well set up and thoughtfully planned house. Particularly suitable for people with difficulty getting about as its all on one level. The en suite bathrooms are also very good. The nearby nature reserve is a great bonus.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2016
Thank you, each bedroom has an en suite and one of them can be used by wheelchair users. I'm glad you enjoyed the nature reserve, it is all around us. I saw a green woodpecker in the courtyard garden today.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We chose Holm Oak Barn for it's location close to family and we were very surprised at how lovely the accommodation was. Beautifully restored, cosy, clean and superbly appointed. Whether you decide to cook every day or have takeaways, the kitchen was extremely well equipped. Fragrant lavender right outside the front door, the walled gardens were well stocked and a pleasure to walk around. The barn felt like a home away from home. The immediate environment was peaceful, yet not too far away from shops. We are looking forward to visiting again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2016
I'm so glad that you enjoyed the gardens, they are getting quite established now and seem to have something of interest all year round.the underfloor heating and good insulation ensures that the barns are warm and cosy and our housekeeper Sue works really hard to keep everything clean and tidy. Best wishes, and please do come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kjc273
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 17 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Lovely property in beautiful surroundings which was excellent for elderly people to get around. Outside seating area could have been larger to assist aged people. Excellent service from the owner when we had a problem with the fridge. Would definitely recommend this property.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2016
Thank you for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and that we could help by replacing the fridge.
Best wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo A
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb in every way!”
Reviewed 6 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We just returned from a fantastic break with our little girl. The accommodation was fantastic, location extremely pretty and relaxing - just exactly what we needed! The communal areas were immaculate and very family orientated. Would highly recommend this to anyone and we will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Not applicable - liked everything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2016
Thank you, so pleased to hear that you wish to return- always a sign of a good holiday!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superbly appointed accomodation in beautiful tranquil setting”
Reviewed 27 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We booked Holm Oak and Cartlodge Cottages for a reunion weekend of 9 ladies.Both cottages were spacious, tastefully furnished, had everything we needed.Plenty of bathrooms as virtually everyone had an ensuite.We cannot fault in any way.Masses of hot water, tea coffee cake AND flowers on our arrival.
The location next to the wildlife reserve is peaceful and cottages have views over fields and adjacent barns, across an attractive and well designed courtyard.
We particularly loved the peacock who seemed to enjoy our company too !
In summary,BRILLIANT.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The high quality of the accommodation
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2016
Thank you so much, I popped over to see you while you were all out to check if everything was OK for you. I'm glad you enjoyed yourselves and had a comfortable stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing