We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD OVERALL - BUT THE ODD NIGGLE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex, England
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“GOOD OVERALL - BUT THE ODD NIGGLE”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Stayed two nights on their all-in rate, which was good value. Hotel has real character and lots of sitting space. Dining room lovely and food and service good - all freshly cooked. First class, well chosen wine list. Staff really pleasant and helpful throughout, though bar staff a bit stretched in the evening.

Only downsides are that the set menu changes very little, so I would not eat there for more than three nights running. Also sound proofing needs attention; we were in a feature room (large and very nice) on the Water St side as we had asked not to be on the main road, but there was still a lot of noise from traffic and passing pedestrians - also we could hear almost every word from the room upstairs. Clearly with a very old, listed building soundproofing is not easy (or cheap), but we have experience of such buildings and things can certainly be made much better than they seem to be.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FirstclassSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    812
    255
    82
    20
    16
See reviews for
151
767
24
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Anglia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

There’s not a lot more one can say that past reviewers haven’t already said. Yes perfect on location, service, staff, and food to die for. Yes a tad overpriced in the bar and the restaurant for the area but they don’t seem short of customers even in February, they must be bulging at the seams in the height of the tourist season. With such an old building sound insulation is a problem wherever you are in the hotel, but we did not find it unbearable despite being next to the main road.
Our main complaint as others have mentioned, the service is a bit slow. Our evening meal order was taken at 20:20, and we were shown to our table five minutes later but our starter didn’t arrive until 25 minutes later then the main course 20 minutes after that. Great food just slow to serve. Breakfast, as others have mentioned, should be buffet for the juices and cereals and order service after that. It was frowned upon for us to fetch the sugar for the cereal. As there is no management responses to any of the reviews I have read one can assume that they are happy carry on without any review suggestions. Top points for reception staff, waiting staff, decor and food. Much less for speed of service and aloofness.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rogshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I recently stayed at the Swan Hotel with a number of dear friends on a dinner/bed/breakfast deal! What a deal...a little bit of luxury in a fabulous hotel, originally 3 houses built in the 14th/15th century and then an inn from the 17th. A labrinth of beamed corridors - lead to light airy stylish bedrooms, with beds so comfortable you will want to take them home with you at the end of your stay. Afternoon tea was yummy as was the evening meal and breakfast. In fact we were so well looked after that we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mauragarrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Myself and my partner stayed for one night on 2nd February on a dinner/bed/breakfast deal.
The staff are extremely courteous, polite, helpful, and professional, but not in an 'over the top' type of way. Our room was a delight, it was cosy, tasteful, and spotlessly clean. Dinner in the restaurant was perfect, an interesting menu to choose from, beautifully presented and delicious, with immaculate service, as was breakfast.
This hotel is full of character. I've stayed in lots of hotels in various parts of the world, and I have to say that this is up there with the best I've ever used. Try as I might to find fault, the only thing I can think of is that the bar prices are a bit on the expensive side, but that is a minor quibble.
I will be back, and I can't recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaydeejnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

This place is a piece of history. Very relaxing and good public areas with fireplaces with roaring fires etc. perfect for a winter getaway. Worth paying more for the better rooms. At 240 for a feature room we had twice the space of friends in a regular room at 200. Restaurant is top end uk classics, though the breakfast organisation was overengineered and should either be a buffet or have more staff on duty. Whoever described the pancake as 'american' has never been to america. But that din't spoil a great stay. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas_and_Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lavenham
25.7 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
17.6 km away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
993 reviews
29.0 km away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 km away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,166 reviews
9.1 km away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,112 reviews
30.5 km away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham

Property: Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Address: High Street, Lavenham, Babergh District CO10 9QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Lavenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Price range (per night): RM620 - RM1,502
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the Suffolk countryside, between Bury St. Edmunds and Sudbury, is The Swan Hotel & Spa in Lavenham, perhaps one of England's most iconic hotels. The Swan dates back to the 15th century when it played a key role in Lavenham's wool trade. Today it is a quintessential English country hotel and restaurant, proud of its achievement of AA 4 Red star, two AA Rosettes & Visit England Large Hotel of the Year 2013. Ancient oak beams and inglenook fireplaces blend beautifully with rich furnishings and fabrics to create the perfect ambiance for rest and relaxation. The historic old bar boasts a wonderful collection of memorabilia, including a wall signed by British and American airmen stationed at Lavenham Airfield during World War II. The Swan is a wonderful place in which to celebrate a variety of special occasions, including romantic weddings, christenings and family get-togethers. It is also a unique venue for seminars, meetings and conferences, where 15th century inspiration combines with 21st century innovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavenham Swan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing