We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$142
View deal
Hotels.com
US$142
View deal
Booking.com
US$99
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreamsUS$99
Trip.comUS$144
HurbUS$154
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,921)
Filter reviews
1,921 results
Traveller rating
893
575
255
122
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
893
575
255
122
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thermal suite driving range swimming pool leisure facilities bar area small balcony night break steam room short break restaurant staff my mum evening meal lovely view food was lovely a lovely stay good nights sleep superior room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 1,921 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2021 via mobile

I have been a member of the gym for over 6 years and have been forced to say this due to a lack of action from the management.

DON'T SIGN UP TO BE A MEMBER.

During the last 18 months the the cleanliness has declined massively. Changing rooms smell awful.
Showers are broken and not maintained. The water from them is either cold or way to hot. Not good for families with children.

They never appear to be cleaned with any real attention and often pools of water are left over the changing room floors.

Coming out the changing room to the pool there
Is often a putrid smell coming out of both changing rooms.

Once up the steps you head around the pool to the sauna and steam room. The sauna has currently been out of use for 5 weeks and the steam room three weeks prior to that.

Should you be able to enter the sauna you will find the doors and floor are filthy, the back wall giving way and the lights not working.

The steam room is equally dirty and also quite smelly.

Moving on to the hot tub. The temperature is usually inconsistent from day to day.

Should you wish to sit on the cheap plastic furniture around the pool you will also see the build up of dirt and scum on them.

Recently members have been handed a membership fee increase citing the cost of maintenance which is clearly not happening.

The only good thing is the friendlyness of the gym staff. This does not include management as they are never seen. The turnover of the young staff is significant and usually a sign of low pay and poor treatment.

I remain a member at the moment only because of a social network built up over my time there. But as my friends gradually stop showing so will I .

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JamesT3780
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T Robertson, Other at Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2021

Dear James

Despite your review we are delighted to read that you are still remaining a member of the Health Club. We are thrilled to announce that we have now had a change of management, with James Friend as our new Health Club and Spa Manager, and Jaz Samson as our new Assistant Health Club Manager. James and Jaz come with a wealth of experience in the leisure industry and are already proactively making positive changes and improvements - both will be very visible around the Health Club and Spa. We now have a dedicated daily cleaner for this area, as well as the current leisure team regularly checking and cleaning as part of their regular duties. We are also in the process of appointing an external company to do a complete deep clean of the changing rooms, poolside and Thermal Suite and the poolside rattan furniture. We are as disappointed as you with the failure of the sauna - we have been awaiting delivery of spare parts which had been delayed with the current delivery shortages, once delivered it was clear that the wrong part had been sent by the company - very frustrating for us! We are therefore awaiting delivery of the correct part which should then get this back up and running. We are confident therefore that you will continue to see improvements and that you will continue to find us value for money, following our first price increase in many years.

Kind regards
Max Moussa
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2021

Good location, clean, tidy, and the room was alright. Sadly, I felt, that the seating arrangements and the table settings were inferior to the other part of the restaurant, obviously due to the fact we were a coach party. Why should that be? More, school dinners, than relaxing evening meal. Staff worked hard but service was slow. After reading reviews as far back as 2018, it appears this hotel has a permanent staff shortage.

Date of stay: September 2021
Thank junebF6912KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T Robertson, Other at Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2021

Dear June

Thank you for your comments following your recent coach trip to Ufford Park, and we are indeed an ideal location for visiting Suffolk's local towns and historic attractions. Your 'package' is agreed in advance with the travel company, so they set the budget for the meals and work with us to agree menu choices. I do however disagree that your seating in our Restaurant is 'inferior' - we do allocate an area depending on the size of the party to ensure that we are able to give you all the best and most efficient table service that we can. Staffing can be a challenge at times, as is the nature of hospitality but we do have a good hard working team throughout our complex. We do hope that if you are back in Suffolk that you will visit us again.

Kind regards
Max Moussa
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2021

Location was very nice with pleasant views of golf course and a good base for visiting Suffolk. There was a mix of good staff and not so good - no huge issues but could be more professional with some managerial direction as most of the staff were quite young and probably inexperienced. Reminders were needed to wipe tables - our breakfast order was forgotten about and I also had to provide proof about a particular payment. A nice greeting goes a long way and we didn't really get that at reception but there was a very friendly lady at the breakfast buffet.
The hotel is dog friendly but there is no standard process for having breakfast with your dog if you dont want to leave in room - would be better to make pre-arrangements with guests.
Swimming pool has a rule a needing footwear but doesn't advertise this in advance in the literature.
The decor could do with a bit of updating and the upholstery is a bit old and dusty in the bar area.

Room tip: Best rooms are ones with view of golf course and with balcony
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Q4161WQyvonneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T Robertson, Other at Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2021

Dear Yvonne

Thank you for your review and we are delighted that overall you had a good stay with us. Our location in the heart of the Suffolk countryside does make us ideal for visiting local historic towns and villages. Unfortunately for us we did lose some excellent experienced staff to University just recently, and are proactively recruiting for new staff, so I am working hard with our new team members to ensure that they do grow in confidence and skills and therefore do not need reminders regarding table clearing and wiping. We are indeed dog friendly and dogs are welcome in most areas of the hotel, however we do not allow dogs in the Restaurant. We do however allow dogs in our bar and lounge areas, so would have been happy to have seated you in those areas for breakfast. I am confused as to your footwear in the pool comments - we certainly do not allow footwear in the pool area (unless slippers for the Thermal Suite). We do have a continuous refurbishment programme so are working our way around the hotel making updates and improvements. We hope therefore that you (and your dog) will return again soon!

Kind regards
Max Moussa
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2021

We arrived at ufford park on friday 24th sept 2021 for a round of golf and one night stay,our round took 5 hours where we was waiting on every shot and did not see a marshall in the entire time we were out there.we finished the round and booked into our rooms and then went straight to the outside seating of the bar.A waitress took our order and we then waited 40 mins with no drinks,I went into the bar and spoke to the bar manager to which he apologised but still no drinks came.After waiting 1hour and 5 mins a waitress then came to us to take our money for drinks we had not received at which point we got up in total disgust and disbelief and walked 20 mins to the nearest pub/restaurant who's standard of food and service was impeccable.We got up the next morning and decided to have a coffee outside before breakfast where we waited 20 mins with no one serving us so we went in for breakfast,we were shown to our table which had been half cleaned and cutlery missing.All in all this was an awful experience and am still flabbergasted at how a place of this size can offer such incredibly poor service

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank davidbV4720GI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T Robertson, Other at Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2021

Dear Reviewer

Further to your review you did stay on an exceptionally busy weekend, which in return did slow down play on the course. We do not employ Marshall's during the week, but do have voluntary Marshall's at weekends. We can only apologise for the below standard customer service you experienced during your stay. We did sadly lose some experienced staff to University this month and are currently proactively recruiting additional team members to improve this area of the business. We do hope this has not put you off returning as we do have a great product, dedicated staff, and are a lovely place to stay.

Kind regards
Max Moussa
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2021

The staff in the hotel was very helpful the rooms were spotless and the treatments that my wife and her friend had was very nice. Unfortunately in the golf shop the staff was not very accommodating and said that me and my friend was not aloud to play the golf course because it was fully booked out this was very unprofessional as we were guest staying in the hotel we spent one night there and was left disappointed .

Room tip: Best room facing golf course
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 97lennyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T Robertson, Other at Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2021

Dear Reviewer

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel and thank you for your positive comments regarding our hospitality, your spotlessly clean bedroom and your wife's treatments in our Spa. You did stay in one of our busiest month's for years, with many golfers being booked in for many months after having had to move their breaks from either last year or earlier this year due to the pandemic. We therefore were completely booked during your stay so were unable to allow you to play on the course. We do always advise pre-booking golf (and Spa treatments) in advance to avoid disappointment. We do hope this has not put you off returning - if you do decide to return then please call us direct and we can make all the bookings for you to ensure you are able to play on the course.

Kind regards
Max Moussa
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews