We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous! ”

Parham Airfield Museum
Ranked #7 of 38 things to do in Woodbridge
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The 390th Bomb Group Memorial Air Museum and the Museum of the British Resistance Organisation are housed in the original war time control tower, associated quanset (nissan) huts, and include the Percy Kindred Library and cafe. Situated on open fields the museum is signposted from the A12 North of Woodbridge after passing through Little Glemham. We are open on Sundays and Bank Holiday Monday’s from the first Sunday in April to last Sunday in October and also on Wednesdays during June, July and August. FREE Kids activites:- Ink Stamper Trail, Lego Table, Activity Sheet FREE parking, FREE Admission DONATIONS GRATEFULLY RECEIVED
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

A wonderful day out. Information, stories, and fantastic memorabilia. A gem in the Suffolk countryside. Free admission to a real treat. Lovely tea shop, knowledgable staff. All volunteers!

Thank Sandersandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenwren120, Volunteer at Parham Airfield Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

You are so kind. Thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"control tower"
in 13 reviews
"german invasion"
in 2 reviews
"resistance movement"
in 2 reviews
"free admission"
in 3 reviews
"little gem"
in 4 reviews
"suffolk countryside"
in 3 reviews
"cakes"
in 4 reviews
"wonderful place to visit"
in 2 reviews
"friendly volunteers"
in 2 reviews
"picnic area"
in 2 reviews
"bro"
in 5 reviews
"bomber"
in 5 reviews
"stories"
in 12 reviews
"organisation"
in 6 reviews
"war"
in 8 reviews
"aircraft"
in 7 reviews
"memorabilia"
in 6 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Visited here today on Easter Sunday. It is staffed by volunteers who are very knowledgeable and are happy to tell you about the exhibits etc. This is a great place to spend a few hours, with bits of planes, uniforms and stories of hero's. We should all take the time to listen to these stories which are poinient and touching. This museum has Free admission, but donations are gratefully received. There are disabled facilities, ample car parking, and a lovely cafe. I would definitely recommend visiting here and will return in the future.

Thank Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenwren120, Volunteers at Parham Airfield Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you so much for the lovely words. We are very proud of our museum and it is so nice to hear you liked it too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

I have been several times taking students. The staff are so knowledgeable and wonderful with the students. It is a great little museum with fantastic volunteers. Well worth a visit!

1  Thank MiniMammoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenwren120, Volunteer at Parham Airfield Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Thank you for your review. We especially like speaking to our younger visitors and telling them of our ‘boys’. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

we really loved this museum and thoroughly enjoyed talking to the volunteers who are happy to show you around. Teas and cakes and a great little shop.

Thank ancienttraveller80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenwren120, Volunteer at Parham Airfield Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit. We open again in April so please come again and see if you can spot any new exhibits!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2017

A fascinating collection of items connected with the base’s role in WW2 – it is a direct link to those days. For most visitors these days, it might as well have been part of deepest history – almost impossible to believe that it all happened within living memory. It is so important to preserve the artefacts and the stories they tell. Of particular interest is the Museum of the British Resistance Organisation. I, and I’m sure many others, had no knowledge of this - there are people who were part of it and still will not talk about it. This is the only museum dedicated to those who served in this secret organisation. The volunteers are helpful, knowledgeable and keen to tell you what they know. Nice café too to complete a special place. Oh - and there is no charge - donation on leaving.

1  Thank SussexBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenwren120, Volunteer at Parham Airfield Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thank you so much for leaving such a detailed and generous review. Our whole aim is to preserve history and honour those boys who died in service.
The BRO museum is indeed very special and we are very proud of it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Parham Airfield Museum also viewed

 

Been to Parham Airfield Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing