We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch ”

Tomahawk Steakhouse Newcastle
Ranked #117 of 1,248 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$53
Description: Specialist city steak restaurant situated in the heart of Newcastle Quayside, serving up the finest Himalayan salt dry-aged steaks, Yorkshire Wagyu and other great locally sourced meat, fish & vegetarian dishes.
Restaurant details
Description: Specialist city steak restaurant situated in the heart of Newcastle Quayside, serving up the finest Himalayan salt dry-aged steaks, Yorkshire Wagyu and other great locally sourced meat, fish & vegetarian dishes.
Reviewed 26 October 2020 via mobile

Originally had a table booked at Ponteland who rang us 15 mins before our table was booked to say they'd ran out of Sunday dinner!!!! We rang the Newcastle branch and the manager (didn't get his name) reserved a sharing Sunday dinner board for us. Due to covid we haven't managed to have food out together in a while and it was a special occasion so I thought this was lovely of him. The drinks and food were absolutely stunning. Would 100% come back for Sunday lunch.

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank 632rebeccac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomahawksteakhouse, Guest Relations Manager at Tomahawk Steakhouse Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2020

Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such amazing feedback,
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent Sunday Lunch with us and that the manger sorted everything out and reserved you one of our Sunday Lunch sharing boards and that you found the food to be absolutely stunning !
We will certainly look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 181 of 657 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2020 via mobile

Hi there. I had no plans to leave a review until I received your email so I thought I would respond. I was hoping we just came in on a bad day.
Sadly, our trip was less than good.
We ordered 5 breakfasts as below:
1. 2 x Full English with fried eggs.
Unfortunately, the eggs were dried up, to ‘toast’ inedible as it was literally a huge crouton, way way over grilled, it was literally like dust if you tried to bite into it and the beans were lukewarm at a push.

2. Full English with poached eggs.
Another issue with the eggs – they were like bullets, rock hard. Also, the same issue as above with the beans and the toast. We received fresh poached eggs, however by the time they arrived along with the re-heated beans, the rest of the breakfast had been eaten otherwise it would have gone cold. So my daughter sat with a bowl of 2 undrained poached eggs with the rest of her breakfast gone.

3. Full English with scrambled eggs.
Again an egg issue – came with dried up poached eggs and was a slice of bacon missing. Same issue again with the cold beans and rock hard crouton. The eggs were replaced with scrambled as originally ordered, again the rest of the breakfast was eaten by this point so it didn’t go cold. We did receive extra bacon due to the lack of a slice.

4. Eggs Benedict with bacon
Another issue altogether here as what actually turned up was a full English with dried up fried eggs! I don’t think I need to elaborate on this one. Sadly this was served on a rock hard crouton rather than the toasted English muffin as per the menu. By the time the correct meal was made, the rest of the party had finished.

Very disappointing and not a particularly enjoyable morning after more than a 40 minute wait with so very many errors. We presumed this was as it was dinner time at this point and maybe staff were concentrating on the lunch menu?

Unfortunately, I feel I can’t recommend Tomahawk based on this (our very first) visit.

All in all it was a bit of a shambles! I will however leave you with a positive. The staff were lovely, apologetic and we ended up not paying for breakfast. This was exactly the right thing for them to do and saved any embarrassment for us if we had to question being charged.

I would like to think we would try again at some point and come out raving about how good the place is!

Date of visit: October 2020
3  Thank EnglandDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomahawksteakhouse, Guest Relations Manager at Tomahawk Steakhouse Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2020

Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback,
We apologise for the mix up with your breakfast, we serve many breakfasts and this is the first complaint where there were so many issues, we are pleased however to hear that our team were very apologetic and obviously did not charge you for your breakfasts. We do hope that in the future you give us another chance and then can have the true Tomahawk experience !

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2020 via mobile

Visited this place a few weeks back. It was clear that social distancing was not a priority as I was sat closer than 2 meters from other guests.

Tomahawk have since tried to entice me back by sending an email which says I can book a table for up to 30 people, providing I say it’s a business meeting.

If you don’t mind catching COVID-19, then by all means... visit this place. I won’t be returning.

Date of visit: October 2020
1  Thank Geordie_Ranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomahawksteakhouse, Guest Relations Manager at Tomahawk Steakhouse Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2020

Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review,
We would like to assure you that we have implemented many new procedures surrounding the government guidelines and all our tables are correctly spaced out within the government guidelines of 1 meter plus . The safety of our guests and our team are of paramount importance especially in the times we are living in now.
With regards to the email we were simply advising as mentioned in the government guidelines " Government guidance stipulates that up to 30 people from different households may meet indoors for work purposes, as long as the place they are meeting is set up to follow Coronavirus guidelines " many of our guests are self employed or freelancers and don't have an office base, so we were simply advising our guests as in the government guidelines that it is possible for them to use our premises for working lunches as we are covid safe.
So we are not doing anything wrong, however we appreciate your opinion and if you don't want to return to dine with us that is your choice and we completely respect that.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2020 via mobile

We visited Tomahawk Newcastle Friday 23rd October 2020 at 7.30pm. We were allocated a table facing the outside area which was great.
The food we ordered was outstanding. We had chicken skewers and belly pork for starters and sea bass, porterhouse steak, dauphinois potatoes, fried eggs, broccoli and bone marrow gravy. WOW!!! My husband didn’t want the steak to end.
Would we come again. Omg yes no questions asked.
Also, service was exceptional. The young lad who served us was really friendly. Don’t know his name but had blonde short hair. Thank you so much.

Date of visit: October 2020
2  Thank lazytow
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomahawksteakhouse, Guest Relations Manager at Tomahawk Steakhouse Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2020

Good evening,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review,
We are very happy to hear that you came to celebrate dining with us a special occasion, and that you found the food to be outstanding and the service to be exceptional !
We will certainly look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2020 via mobile

I’m fussy at times but I’d struggle to avoid giving their 3 course £15 early special top marks.

After a couple of calamari starters with a spicy coleslaw base we then had a delicious flank steak and Katsu chicken followed by a limoncello creme brûlée and sticky toffee sundae. Amazing value.

Despite a ‘main course arriving before starters” moment the food was great and service was good too.

Definitely recommend the early bird (even if some in your company can double the bill with wine choice).

Date of visit: October 2020
3  Thank sleep007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomahawksteakhouse, Guest Relations Manager at Tomahawk Steakhouse Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2020

Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review,
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit with us and that you found our Early bird menu to be very good value and that you found the food to be great especially your steak which you found to be delicious !
We will look forward to your next visit with us.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tomahawk Steakhouse Newcastle also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Tomahawk Steakhouse Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.