We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downhill slide”

Tomahawk Steakhouse Newcastle
Ranked #107 of 1,240 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$55
Description: Specialist city steak restaurant situated in the heart of Newcastle Quayside, serving up the finest Himalayan salt dry-aged steaks, Yorkshire Wagyu and other great locally sourced meat, fish & vegetarian dishes.
Restaurant details
Description: Specialist city steak restaurant situated in the heart of Newcastle Quayside, serving up the finest Himalayan salt dry-aged steaks, Yorkshire Wagyu and other great locally sourced meat, fish & vegetarian dishes.
Reviewed 15 September 2021 via mobile

Poor, way too busy for the staff to cope. Staff rushed off their feet making mistakes and a manager who couldn’t cope.
Our meal was far from perfect and neither was that of our table neighbours, also the other diners in the bar area left waiting were left to stare at us eating our meals… not pleasant

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank O2438PCrobd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Tomahawk Steakhouse Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed by certain aspects of your visit with us. We were at the last minute several key team members short and our team were doing their very best to copy with the busy shift, so again our apologies if the service was not up to our usually very high standards.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 648 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2021 via mobile

The restaurant has a nice atmosphere and the food is decent however the higher management must be appalling: the staff were overworked and taking the brunt of the complaints from customers that was managements fault due to for poor organisation. We had to wait half an hour for a table that we had booked and both food and drinks took a very long time.
Would not return and I feel for all of the staff working there- higher management needs to sort themselves out

Date of visit: September 2021
1  Thank pastapol
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Tomahawk Steakhouse Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed by certain aspects of your recent visit with us and that you had to wait a little while for your table to be ready. All our team work exceptionally hard and we were unfortunately several key members of our team down that day so apologies if this caused a delay in certain aspect of your service.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2021 via mobile

We visited the Tomahawk steakhouse after the Great North Run on Sunday. We had the sharing steak platter and it was delicious, steak cooked to perfection and tasty sides. Good value for money, would definitely recommend to those on a trip to Newcastle.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank lauraj11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Tomahawk Steakhouse Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review.
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent dining experience with us and that you enjoyed your steak sharing board and found the steaks were all cooked to perfection and that it was good value for money !
We shall certainly look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2021 via mobile

Visited for Sunday lunch today, although this restaurant is lovely and I have enjoyed previous visits, the Sunday roast came out stone cold. I was looking forward to this, however the meat was cold, as was the veg that came out. Felt too awkward to complain, but I can imagine the other diners had a cold Sunday roast too, it was like it had been kept under a hot plate for ages and just dished up on order. We were told the beef would be pink which is fine as I prefer rare meat, but the beef was so chewy I’m still thinking about how raw it was now.

Never again, sorry tomahawk

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank soggytravels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Relations, Owner at Tomahawk Steakhouse Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2021

Good evening,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed and found your Sunday Lunches' to be cold. Obviously if you had brought this to our attention when you were dining we would have rectified this straight away with fresh new meals been brought to you or the bill adjusted accordingly so sorry if you felt you were not able to mention anything to us at the time.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2021 via mobile

Joe is a sound bloke GIVE HIM A RAISE AND MANY FREE STEAKS, nicest man I’ve ever been served by

My grandma loves him

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank 826benjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Tomahawk Steakhouse Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2021

Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit with us and that you received amazing service from Joe !
We will look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tomahawk Steakhouse Newcastle also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Tomahawk Steakhouse Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.