We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs more knowledge in how to cook a steak ”

Tomahawk Steakhouse Newcastle
Ranked #126 of 1,254 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$54
Description: Specialist city steak restaurant situated in the heart of Newcastle Quayside, serving up the finest Himalayan salt dry-aged steaks, Yorkshire Wagyu and other great locally sourced meat, fish & vegetarian dishes.
Restaurant details
Description: Specialist city steak restaurant situated in the heart of Newcastle Quayside, serving up the finest Himalayan salt dry-aged steaks, Yorkshire Wagyu and other great locally sourced meat, fish & vegetarian dishes.
Reviewed 29 November 2021 via mobile

Lovely surroundings waiting staff lovely. Food was ok very expensive to what we got. We ordered the Chaton (excuse the spelling) we asked for this meat to be medium it turned up medium well at one side and rare at the other, my husband is a chef and we both no with this being a very nice piece of meat it should be cooked all the way through to your preference. Anyways when we came to pay they automatically add a service charge which I think is wrong it should be upto the customer whether they leave a til or not. I also asked the waiting staff If they recieve there tips she said she did but I asked again if managers and owners also took a cut in them and they did again I think this is wrong so unfortunately no tip was left by us. Improvements need to be made.

Date of visit: November 2021
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Tomahawk Steakhouse Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2021

Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback,
We are sorry to hear that your steak was not quite cooked consistently through out. With regards to the 10% service charge it is completely optional and should have been pointed out when you were paying the bill. We can assure you that not any part of any tips go to our senior management and definitely not the owners so we are unsure why you were told that it is all shared equally between the team that work at the branch only.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (672)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 672 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2021

Nothing special in the slightest. Was very disappointed by food and service.

If you are looking for somewhere to enjoy a really nice steak meal don’t even consider here for a second.

Could get better served in a school canteen.

Date of visit: November 2021
Thank Miabal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Tomahawk Steakhouse Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2021

Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed by your recent visit with us and that you were disappointed by the food and service. We obviously have no idea why your were disappointed so if you would like to contact our customer relations team so we can look into the matter in more detail.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2021 via mobile

Came in today with my husband and kids. The staff couldnt have been more pleasant. Our waitress Courtney was very attentive and helpful. The food was amazing. Definately will be returning

Date of visit: November 2021
Thank shellyNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Tomahawk Steakhouse Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2021

Good evening,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent meals with us and that you found our team and especially Courtney to be very pleasant and helpful and attentive and also that you found the food to be amazing !
We will look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2021

WE both tried the 8oz Wagu from the huge range of steaks on offer and it was ok. There was a large lump of gristle at one end that was so tough my knife wouldn't cut it but to be fair they did offer to replace it. my plate was hot but my wife's was
much cooler. Expensive for steak and chips but not too bad.

Date of visit: November 2021
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Tomahawk Steakhouse Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2021

Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
We are sorry to hear that you were a little disappointed by your Wagyu steaks, they are the best quality cuts of meat available which is reflected in the pricing. We shall certainly pass on your feedback to the kitchen team there.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2021

My partner and I recently visited Tomahawk Steakhouse in Newcastle and it was bar far the most amazing steak experience we’ve ever had.

The sharing board for 2 with the 4 sides and 2 sauces was sensational. The value for money was terrific and the taste of the peppercorn sauce was out of this work and the cuts of steak were cooked to perfection.

We already can’t wait to return as this might be our new favourite place to eat.

Date of visit: November 2021
Thank ElMatador0420
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Tomahawk Steakhouse Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2021

Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent dining experience with us and that you found it by far to be the best steak that you have ever eaten ! We are also very pleased to hear that you found the sharing board to be great value for money and all the steaks were cooked to perfection !
We will certainly look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tomahawk Steakhouse Newcastle also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Tomahawk Steakhouse Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.