We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,177)
Filter reviews
1,177 results
Traveller rating
390
437
227
90
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
390
437
227
90
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe executive loungemarriott hotelsrace coursesteam roomleisure facilitiescity centrebus stoppublic areassaturday nightpleasant stayroom was spotlessstandard roomhotel is situatedbuffet stylecar parkfollowing morningmember of staff
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 1,177 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

Booked for two nights at a rate cheaper than a Travelodge. Handy for Freeman Hospital. Which is what I needed.
I’ve stayed in this hotel on several occasions from it breakfast no a Trust House Forte to a Marriott and now a Britannia.
Even in this transitional period you’d never notice the hand over.
The staff were excellent. Friendly, more than helpful and nothing was a problem.
It’s a tired hotel, but the staff make up for this. Couldn’t fault it in any way.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Aly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice D, Executive Personal Assistant at Grand Hotel Gosforth Park Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you for your very kind words. The hotel team are most certainly the hotel's biggest asset and it is very pleasing when this is apparent. We look forward to seeing you again and to being of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

The hotel has recently changed ownership and now belongs to the Elite Events Group. The quality of food at dinner was poor, there was no wine list and only house wine offered. A Shiraz and Sav Blanc where ordered and we were shocked to be charged £58. We then ordered 6 drinks after dinner which included a tea a coffee a pint and 3 glasses of wine which costs £63. My room on the 3rd floor overlooked a roof compressor that ran 24hours and prevented me sleeping well.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice D, Executive Personal Assistant at Grand Hotel Gosforth Park Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

It is always our intention to ensure our guests receive the best possible standards and service and we would ask that any element of dissatisfaction be brought to our immediate attention, as this will allow us the opportunity to make amends. We have recently transitioned to a new owner and are working towards ensuring new menus, wine lists, etc. are put in place. We hope that you have the opportunity to return at some time in the future when the hotel is established under new management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights for business purposes. The hotel offers a quality standard of accommodation. The rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated. Bathrooms are bright and clean and good shower. Staff are very helpful and attentive to need. Ate in tge restaurant one evening and roon service one evening. Food was good. Lots of choice to suit a variety of tastes at breakfast Would certainly recommend

Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
Thank jochg2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice D, Executive Personal Assistant at Grand Hotel Gosforth Park Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you for your recommendation and the lovely feedback provided. I know the team will take great encouragement from your very kind words and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018 via mobile

Very clean room with all amenities. Very fiendly staff at the check in counter. The cleaning staff were very accommodative to our needs. Huge property gives a sense of privacy from the city life. Only improvement needed is the flow of water from the shower. Water flow is very slow. Other than that this is an excellent hotel to stay.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank sriravichelvan2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice D, Executive Personal Assistant at Grand Hotel Gosforth Park Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you for your very positive and constructive comments. It was a pleasure to be of service to you and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

We stayed just before the hotel changed hands. We have used a lot in the past but it is about 3 years since our last visit. Lovely light and airy suite. But there was a dull hum from the ventilator or whatever on the roof. Reception claimed nobody had ever complained before - they must be deaf or something had changed the day we arrived. (room 401). Very disappointed in the steak bar type food offer in what was the (sadly missed) executive lounge. Quality not brilliant either. In the old days there used to be daily specials which tasted as though they had been cooked on site. Not this time. Narrow wine list mainly non-European. Breakfast and staff fine. Overall we were so disappointed in the food and wine offering that we were already considering alternatives for our next visit. Shame because it was so convenient. Will watch developments under the new ownership with interest! Luxury price but mid-range quality.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank redgraverose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice D, Executive Personal Assistant at Grand Hotel Gosforth Park Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

It is early days following the transition and there have been many changes put in place and also proposed for the future. We will endeavour to go from strength to strength and hope that you will return when we are established.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews