We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calling all cyclists....”
Review of Stable Coffee Shop

Stable Coffee Shop
Description: Right next to Bolam Lake, near Belsay in Northumberland, The Stable Coffee Shop is a family run business with lovely food, a warm atmosphere, and extra friendly staff. Nothing is too much trouble and it is popular with locals and visitors from further away. It is also a Caravan Club CL site and we would love to stay there if it wasn't only 20 minutes from home!!
Restaurant details
Description: Right next to Bolam Lake, near Belsay in Northumberland, The Stable Coffee Shop is a family run business with lovely food, a warm atmosphere, and extra friendly staff. Nothing is too much trouble and it is popular with locals and visitors from further away. It is also a Caravan Club CL site and we would love to stay there if it wasn't only 20 minutes from home!!
Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

Our usual cyclist cafe stop in this area would be the cafe at Bolam lake... not any more!!... 10 cyclists arrived unannounced... served quickly, food was quick and arrived at the same time for everyone... great cuppa... and all with great friendly service... will definitely be using this cafe stop again... wheely wheely good! ;)

1  Thank Soona73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise N, Manager at Stable Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Thank you for your comments, we always like to welcome everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

We called in yesterday for a rest at the end of our 7 mile walk....it appeared a few local wasps had the same idea! My partner is really not a fan so the lovely owner appeared to take the task in hand to deal with them for him!! He was jumping around in the doorway, I was frantically removing my scarf as I thought it in me and the owner is taking swipes with a fly swatter....it was like a scene from a carry on film not the serene tea room I guess it had been before we arrived! Sorry about that! Such a good laugh though and lifted our spirits after feeling very weary from the walk!
We opted for the apple and caramel tart with ice cream and it was delicious! Nice food, lovely quaint place and excellent friendly staff! Thank you from "the wasps"

1  Thank laurarob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2016

Whether it's been for coffee and fruit cake or for a more substantial meal of chicken & ham pie and salad, The Stables excels. Its setting is perfect - sufficiently far from the madding crowd - and with Bolam Lake just a few minutes away you'ld be hard pressed to find anywhere better.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank peterbrewisx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016

We stayed for 2 nights at the caravan site at Bolam West Houses Farm. The Stable Coffee Shop is on this site. If you want wonderful views, glorious sunsets and tranquillity this site certainly fits the bill. The owner of the site is friendly and very helpful too. The facilities for a CL are excellent. There are wonderful walks and plenty of places of interest near by If you also want to taste the most delicious cakes (I had the best lemon meringue I've ever had) the Stable Coffee Shop is certainly worth a visit. We would not hesitate to return and recommend the site.

1  Thank susansmith571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise N, Manager at Stable Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Thank you for your favourable review on trip advisor , hop to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2016

Really enjoyed our visit and extremely laid back about our situation. Couldn't have been more accommodating. Thanks

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Thankyouforhavingme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise N, Front Office Manager at Stable Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2016

You're more than welcome! See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stable Coffee Shop also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Stable Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing