We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for RWC visit to Newcastle!”

Review of Roman Well Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Gill M
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for RWC visit to Newcastle!”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Roman Well Cottage. Dave was a very generous host leaving wine, cereals, milk, juices, tea and coffee! Loved the spotty crockery - classy! The cottage was extremely well equipped and in a perfect position to visit the surrounding countryside and only a short hop on the train into Newcastle from nearby Wylam. There are lovely walks from the cottage door along Hadrian's Wall to a brewery, which sells lovely jams (and beers) and serves very nice coffee - a good half way point on our 2 hour walk. There's a great Camra pub in nearby Wylam. Down the road in Corbridge there is a very nice restaurant called The Duck House. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George S
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location to explore Northumberland”
Reviewed 23 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here while visiting family which we turned into a small holiday in Northumberland. A remote but lovely place to stay to explore the surrounding area such as Alnwick, Beamish, Newcastle, and Hadrian's Wall. A lovely cottage with good facilities and a warm welcome from the owner. Lovely spacious cottage, free Wi-Fi, nice kitchen (although the freezer didn't work), and comfortable environment in which to rest after our activities.

Will use again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen
Liked least: Bathroom (inconvenient location)
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jc230394
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A beautifully furnished cottage in a wonderful location.”
Reviewed 18 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We enjoyed a wonderful stay in the beautiful Roman Well Cottage. Very tastefully equipped, would highly recommend. A great rural location only 25 minutes by car from Newcastle.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhiannaMe...
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage! Doesn't disappoint”
Reviewed 15 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Spent a brilliant 3night long weekend in this cottage. Clean, well equipped and welcoming. We took our 8month old and the travel cot and highchair provided were ideal. We recommend this as a great base to explore the area :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip E
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic setup and location for a family holiday.”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for a week and had a brilliant time. From the warm and friendly welcome from David & Gill to the end of a fantastic week sightseeing and walking in the area we had an amazing time. The cottage is perfectly located for easy access to a number of the historic sights along Hadrian's wall, and also a very short drive to the towns of Hexham, Corbridge and Prudho. Newcastle is also a quick trip down the road so all holiday tastes can be catered for here. We went with our 2 boys aged 10 and 6 and they loved the freedom and space in the grounds of the farm and spent hours playing hide and seek outside. Simple pleasures :-)

We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly welcome
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing