We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lasagne to die for”
Review of Mascalzone

Mascalzone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Pizza , Sardinian Tapas ,pasta , lasagne , seafood Salads , Breakfast Menu , Cakes ,Croissants , Deli , Sandwiches , Coffees , Teas , Wines and Beers
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

We went as a party of 8 with 4 children. Some of us are vegetarian. There’s not a huge list of vegetarian things on the menu but what there is is pretty sensational. The stuffed pasta was delicious and so is the tiramisu. So good, planning to go back soon.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank AmbikaN2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 583 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

This restaurant is amazing. The food is simply exquisite. The chef is a very talented man. We had antipasto to start. Delicious. Then my friend had lobster ravioli. I had pasta with Sicilian sausage. The service was impeccable also. The flavours balanced perfectly. This is a chef who is one talented man. I urge you to try it. Where is the Michelin star? Wonderful night. Xxx

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

5 of us met at this interesting restaurant. Never heard of it before. I will return in due course. Service was excellent. Food was yummy. Will return with my wife soon. Lovely atmosphere. Great choice.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Cuxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

Had passed this restaurant a few times and decided to have a late lunch one day, wish I had kept walking instead. Don’t get me wrong, the food was nice but the portions were small and the prices were a bit steep. An out of town restaurant charging city centre prices !!!

Date of visit: July 2018
5  Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018

We stumbled across this place whilst wandering around Jesmond on a Thursday evening looking for a restaurant for dinner. I don't know the area but I would say that this was a little off the beaten track.

Although the restaurant was busy, the staff were very accommodating and found us a table with the warning that we would only have 1 hour and a half before the table was required for a booking.

The restaurant had a great atmosphere, the staff were very friendly and the service very good.

We shared a number of tapas dishes as a starter and each chose dishes off the "specials" menu for our main course. My fish dish was excellent. The usual pasta and pizza dishes were available as well as fish and meat options.

I would suggest that booking is probably a good idea as if we had turned up any later, there would not have been a table available.

The weather was pleasant that evening and there were tables outside as well as inside.

This restaurant is well worth searching out and I would not hesitate to return if we were ever in the area again.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank EpsomJaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mascalzone also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Mascalzone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing