We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Easter Break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 1 The Hamlet

Flaming June and everyones' idea of an English Country Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Flaming June and everyones' idea of an English Country Cottage
A view of the back garden Cosy and warm even without a fire. Plenty of books and games to enjoy
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Flaming June and everyones' idea of an English Country Cottage
A view of the back garden
Cosy and warm even without a fire. Plenty of books and games to enjoy
Lots of books and games to enjoy
The well equipped Shaker style galley kitchen
Quirky antique bathroom with huge corned bath which mum's and weary walkers adore
Sunroom has plush window seat with views over the garden.
The light and airy Mediterranean sunroom
A view of the November garden from the sunroom
Downstairs double. Favourite with older and disabled guests.
Newly refreshed double . Grey beams and like an art gallery
Table for two in self contained double
The luxurious Kingsize bedroom
The Kingsize room is sunny and well lit
stylish single bedroom
Ancient door and beams in single lead through to twin bedroom
twin double is a great hit with children of all ages!
The garden in spring
comfortable chairs to enjoy an outdoor meal or smoke!
Roses covering the upstairs bedroom window in June
The gate which leads onto a fieldpath into Bidford on Avon
A  lovely place to sit and relax and watch the wildlife. Take care with very young children
Back entrance . A blaze of colour in May
Wildlife pond. Shallow but take care with very young children
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Terri S
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Easter Break”
Reviewed 6 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The overall experience from start to finish has been exceptional. Geoff the owner is fantastic, and the cottage itself is exactly how I imagined.
A lovely quaint cottage in a lovely village.
Will definitely stay again.
It made it so much easier than staying at hotels the fact I travelled with someone disabled - it meant for the stay the property was ours and we could come and go as we pleased.
The only issue was parking - and it would be great if you could use the property at the end to turn. As a woman driver I panicked , but did manage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The village
Liked least: Parking
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2015
So glad you had a super holiday . Thanks for your positive feedback. Be lovely to see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
122karina
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014

we stayed at the cottage for new years eve and it was amazing, the cottage is cozy and beautiful surrounded by country side. Each room is spacious and living has a nice dining table which was enough for 7 of us. I really enjoyed my stay and the owner was very friendly and welcoming. And the price is definitely is good.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2015
Thanks. You were a lovely group of young people and I'm glad you had a jolly party.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann J
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice qaint cottage in lovely hamlet”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This cottage was ideally located and offered enough room for two families. This place is especially interesting for those that like a bit of warmth and atmosphere in a holiday place. The plus points for us were: spacious, large garden, fireplace, good location, quaint
typical Cotswolds, comfortable, good beds. On the minor side: it was very dusty and some places in the kitchen could do with a good clean and I think the cottage would benefit from another shower room, for instance upstairs. But overall, a very nice place to stay.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay at The Hamlet. It's a very popular large cottage and booked almost 100% of the time. Consequently here is limited opportunity for really 'deep' spring cleaning between guests so there may be a few out of the way areas which gather a bit of dust.
I'll so my best to access them.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard G
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in a lovely area”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This lovely stone cottage was an ideal home-from-home during our holiday. It is very nicely decorated and welcoming, the provision of lots of books and videos was welcome, and snuggling around the fireplace on a colder evening was delightful. Enough space for 5 of us, but any more will find there's not sufficient sofa room for everyone.

The kitchen was well-equipped with everything you'll need for everyday cooking, nice to have a dishwasher and washing machine too.

The accommodation was good, with a double bedroom downstairs and three bedrooms upstairs (note that you have to walk through the single bedroom to access the twin, my kids weren't bothered at all but some may prefer more privacy). One minor niggle - the downstairs double bed is very squeaky!

The garden is a decent size, and well-maintained with some interesting topiary!

Free wi-fi was much appreciated by my iPad-obsessed sons. Note that mobile 'phone reception is a bit patchy here however.

The tiny village of Marlcliff doesn't really have any facilities, but Bidford-upon-Avon is a couple of minutes drive or 20 mins walk (along the scenic river bank), and has restaurants, take-aways, bakery, adequate supermarket etc. It's a short drive to Stratford-upon-Avon, and you can drive to central Birmingham in 45 mins. Alton Towers was a bit more of a hike though, taking almost 2 hours.

You can't park directly outside the house; you can park in the lane just 50 yards away, but space can be a bit tight if the neighbours have all parked their cars there too.

Overall this is a beautiful, characterful house with lovely walks right outside, and I'd happily return if holidaying again in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character and beauty of the house
Liked least: Squeaky bed.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2014
Glad you enjoyed yourselves. You were a jolly group and certainly made the most of the area. The double bed is squeaky as it was hand made from an old ship! I think I will replace it though as it could be a major embarrassment to someone!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lily S
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A perfect location for a family gathering”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We've just returned from a week's holiday at this cottage. It was just right for what we wanted. The cottage itself was lovely and with enough rooms to house us, our kids, grandparents and Aunt and Uncle. Really well equipped and well maintained property. The garden was beautiful and a good size for young children to play in (though requiring supervision due to the pond). We found plenty to do in the surrounding area for a weeks worth of holiday and could easily have done more. Particularly enjoyed a lovely little walk down to the local park, which was an especially good one. And of course Stratford is very easy to get to.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2014
Thanks for your positive comments. I admire the way you made the most of the cottage and its immediate environment. I love to think of families meeting up and enjoying themselves but having enough space and privacy for some quiet time as well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing