We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveller rating
92
68
29
20
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
92
68
29
20
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews village green wowcher voucher henry viii lovely country pub walk in wardrobe wooden beams four poster bed course evening meal olde worlde sunday evening old building full english breakfast pudding large bathroom tea and coffee night stay a lovely stay
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 239 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2017

We had Sunday lunch here and, while the food was absolutely gorgeous, there was absolutely no atmosphere in the dining area. I have eaten at this pub on a few occasions over the years and always come away thinking they are missing their potential to be so much better. Music playing would help. Candles/fairy lights, fresh flowers etc. As it is the room is very stark, with cold stone flagstones on the floor and no frills or softness to speak of. It also didn't help that whenever I have eaten there the dining room has been incredibly quiet (only one or two tables occupied)...

Anyway - as I say, the food really should be commended - particularly the roasts on Sundays. There is no menu to speak of - just a choice of roasts - so if you were hoping for a pie or a steak instead of a roast on a Sunday, then you can forget it... but what they do offer, they do spectacularly well. The puddings were also very nice and naughty.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tropicaltease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashok N, Owner at The College Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Thank you very much for your kind review. We have taken your suggestions on board. Next time you visit you will notice the changes that are still ongoing. Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017

28 of us descended on Ash and the College Arms for Christmas Dinner. Choice of starter, Main and Dessert plus cheeseboard, mince pies and coffee.
Service was great, couldn't be more attentive, food amazing and very good value for money.
I would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Fiona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

Booked in 28 family and friends for lunch on Christmas Day and wasn't disappointed. £48.50 included a glass of fizz on arrival, choice of three starters, main courses and deserts, a cheese board and mince pies and coffees. All beautifully cooked and presented and served with a smile. Wonderful atmosphere. Thank you very much to Ash and his staff for making our Christmas meal very special.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank CEG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2016

Lovely country pub. Delightful historic building. Old stone and oak beams. Good hearty food. Very friendly staff. We visited on a cold wet Thursday and found the pub almost empty but that did not detract from our enjoyable visit.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robmV7052YP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

good night meeting friends. great local pub Good selection of drinks on draught and spirits. Have also had a great Sunday dinner here a few weeks ago. I will be back for food and drink with family and friends.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank buttons76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews