We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“An enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7
Ranked #75 of 115 Hotels in Birmingham
Basildon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“An enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

We enjoyed an overnight stay at this hotel prior to attending an athletics event. The rooms were good vaue for money. We asked for quiet rooms for athletes and we were not disappointed. The rooms were clean, nice bathroom, comfortable bed and lots of programs on the T.V. The restaurant was rather expensive although the food was nice. I would opt for a Harvester if I stayed there again which is much better value. The breakfast was £14 each which is ok if you have a big appetite but rather expensive if you only want cereal and a croissant.
The pool was lovely and the members of the health club were very friendly. It was lovely to relax in the sauna. There is also a fitness room.
The hotel caters for dogs which is useful to know and it is next to fields, ideal for exercising them. Everywhere is spotless,
On the whole it was an enjoyable stay and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on booking but if you have a disabled or elderly person with you make sure they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janwhitfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    236
    184
    92
    71
See reviews for
204
122
59
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tyne & Wear
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

just back from staying here, the rooms are as you would expect... clean, spacious (well except for the tiny bathroom), all updated with flatscreens in the rooms etc.
I've stayed in many Holiday Inn's and always found the service to be one of their strong points but sadly in this case its the total opposite, so much so its encouraged me to write my first ever review.
The staff where abrupt, confrontational and slow is an understatement. The hotel wasnt especially busy yet was asked to wait in the bar for 30mins before being able to eat in the restaurant (that had 3 customers in), 1 hour later we had to ask what was going on, no apology just shown to a seat to wait some more. In that time we heard another couple being served a meal with cream rather than mayo, when they complained they were actually asked if they had ordered cream? I mean seriously? as cream is often ordered with steak and chips! as the restaurant manager proceeded to argue with them for another 5mins leading to more delays!
Holiday Inn sort your recruitment/training in Birmingham out as its they are seriously letting down your brand

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mitchw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
mitchw1,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Got a very warm welcome from the lady behind reception desk, she was great a mature lady like myself and made me feel at home.

Rooms were clean and functional, everything I needed for my short stay.

The restaurant had a curry buffet which i didn't chose but the Salmon was tasty and again the friendly staff made me feel welcome, they gave me a nice table and offered me magazine as I was dining alone which I thought was a nice touch.

Breakfast was good too, nice selection and again friendly team.

Really good value for money as I have paid more and got a lot less!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyliss L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Checked on around 10 pm. Got a complimentary drink as not upgraded. Walked to room, about half a mile to find room key didn't work. Receptionist quite flippant despite me carrying two heavy bags (NO LIFT). Think twice before staying here. Uhh need to start to do dome mystery shopping. Happy to help if you need me.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffswork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, ihgcare at Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Dear Jeffswork,

Thank you for advising us of your dissatisfaction towards our Front Desk service. Please allow me to apologize for any inconvenience or negative impression this might have caused you. I understand why you are disappointed, let me assure you that this is not our usual level of service. Our management has taken note of this and proper action has been taken to ensure that situations of this nature will not reoccur in the future. Again, thank you for all your comments which help us identify areas of improvement. We hope to welcome you back to be able to demonstrate to you the true InterContinental service.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

had a wonderful stay and kids really enjoyed....helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laksh g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Great Barr Hotel
#88 of 115 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#36 of 115 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7

Property: Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7
Address: Chapel Lane | Great Barr, Birmingham B43 7BG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 115 Hotels in Birmingham
Price range (per night): RM267 - RM650
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Birmingham M6 Jct 7 is situated 7 miles north of Birmingham City Centre set in 7 acres of Landscaped grounds on the edge of green belt with ample free parking and easy access to the motorway network, M6 Jct 7, M5 Jct 1, M42, M54 and the M6 Toll Motorway.The National Exhibition Centre (NEC), Birmingham International Airport (BHX) ) are 25 minutes drive away. New Street Station, International Convention Centre (ICC), National Indoor Arena (NIA) and Symphony Hall are a 15 minute drive away The hotel offers High Speed Internet access, Kids Stay Free, Eat Free, Traders Restaurant, Hub Bar and modern Lounge to enhance the food and beverage experience at the Holiday Inn M6 J7. Relax in the Spirit Health and Fitness Club, exercise classes, indoor pool, spa, gym, sauna and steam room. More guests choose Holiday Inn because we offer a Great nights sleep, a Great value breakfast and a rewarding loyalty scheme, Priority Club. Together with our Can-Do friendly service and a global reassurance of quality and standards you can feel at home no matter where in the world you stay. Unique to the hotel, we have our very own Helicopter Landing pad. Please contact the hotel direct if you wish to use this service. Pets are allowed at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, IHG and AAE Travel Pte Ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Birmingham m6, Jct. 7 Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7 England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing