We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“£5.25 for a hot dog??!!”
Review of Cadbury World

Cadbury World
Ranked #62 of 300 things to do in Birmingham
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Uncover a world of chocolate delights and enjoy a fascinating, fun-packed day out at Cadbury World. From learning how your favourite confectionery is made and uncovering the fascinating story of Cadbury chocolate, to playing in chocolate rain and adding your favourite treat to a delicious pot of warm liquid Cadbury Dairy Milk. You'll discover the origins of the cocoa bean amidst trees and waterfalls in the Aztec Jungle, before jumping on board the magical Cadabra ride and visiting the brand new 4D Chocolate Adventure zone, a 4D cinema experience featuring Cadbury's most popular characters. Cadbury World is located in the grounds of the original Cadbury factory, but isn't a tour of the factory itself. Instead, you'll discover the history, the making and the magic of Cadbury confectionery as you journey through our chocolatey zones.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Ok so yes it was Easter Weekend and busy, but this place is terrible. I'm usually a 'glass half full' kind of a girl and always try to be positive and look on the bright side, but there are no other words to describe it!
Ridiculous pricing, £5.25 for a hot dog, not a hot dog and chips, not a hot dog and drink just..... A hot dog on its own.
Way too many people being allowed into attraction at one time, very poor little car ride thing, staff tried to help, magician in queue lovely guy, cafe dirty and again on the expensive side.
Do not expect Willy Wonka, there is honestly nothing to this place other than a couple of 'free' chocolate bars (£1.00 for a bag to carry them round in), and a random green screen for a £10 photo??! Quite what that has to do with chocolate I'm not sure, but another good money making souvenir plot I suppose.
In short complete rip off, I honestly wouldn't waste my time, try somewhere with a bit more too it, and better value for money!!
Sorry Cadburys love your chocolate but your 'World' needs some serious work!!

Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CadburyWorldUK, Marketing Assistant at Cadbury World, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave Cadbury World a review.

As you can imagine Cadbury World is very popular with families and we do tend to be particularly busy at weekends and school holiday periods. We understand how frustrating queuing can be at attractions and have endeavoured to reduce congestion by controlling the time at which all our visitors enter the exhibition. However, speed of progress through the exhibition varies greatly from visitor to visitor, and occasionally this results in congestion at certain points.

In regards to the comments about food pricing and cafe cleanliness; You have my assurance that I will be raising this issue with Amadeus Food who manage the Cadbury Cafe and The Cabin for us.

We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your visit and felt you did not receive value for money. We do believe that our prices are fairly based especially when judged against other tourist attractions. Additional items purchased such as souvenirs and photographs are bought at your own discretion.

We strive to offer a customer experience that suits everyone so we are always happy to read your feedback.

Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,935)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"free chocolate"
in 943 reviews
"melted chocolate"
in 486 reviews
"cadabra ride"
in 311 reviews
"play area"
in 544 reviews
"bournville experience"
in 137 reviews
"love chocolate"
in 131 reviews
"chocolate lovers"
in 121 reviews
"chocolate shop"
in 101 reviews
"chocolate tasting"
in 95 reviews
"bournville village"
in 110 reviews
"magic show"
in 113 reviews
"time slot"
in 201 reviews
"great family day"
in 96 reviews
"on arrival"
in 181 reviews
"booked online"
in 80 reviews
"school holidays"
in 115 reviews
"great for kids"
in 79 reviews
Filter

131 - 135 of 7,935 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018

Easy to find, shop reasonably priced but would of been nice to have a bigger selection of retro sweets. I liked the history bit at the beginning but found the rest quite boring. The ride wasn't very long. The kids enjoyed it and that's who it's really aimed for. The 4D cinema was good. The all experience is more aimed at kids.

Thank Erika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CadburyWorldUK, Marketing Assistant at Cadbury World, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave Cadbury World a review.

Thank you for you comments regarding your recent visit to Cadury World.

We do believe the Cadbury World experience is a mixture of activities for both adults and children to enjoy. The beginning of the exhibition concentrates on the history of Cadbury and Bournville while other zones provide fun and interaction for children and little ones such as Purple Planet, our 4D Chocolate adventure and the Cadabra ride.

At Cadbury World we strive to offer a customer experience that suits everyone so we are always happy to read your feedback and recommendations.

Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

First of all, book in advance, as this is the only way to be sure to get in. On the day tickets are in short supply, because the majority book. The 4D show had me in stitches. The staff and arrangement of the place are very good. The cafe is expensive (as is the entrance fee) but it was a nice experience to have a hot chocolate at a chocolate factory. The final show, which takes you on a small trip can carry with it a long wait. It was great to finally see what I have heard about since I was little. There was very little chocolate making to be seen. What we did see was pretty cool. It is more of a child's day out, with some information on the companies history. Unlike theme parks, this is not a place I would pay to enter on a weekly basis. Maybe in a few years, when they have added new stuff, I will go back. It is free to enter the shop, although walking out is not; only because you will not be able to resist buying something.

1  Thank Vincent K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CadburyWorldUK, Marketing Assistant at Cadbury World, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave Cadbury World a review.

We are delighted to read you enjoyed your recent visit to Cadbury World!

We do believe the Cadbury World experience is a mixture of activities for both adults and children to enjoy.The beginning of the exhibition concentrates on the history of Cadbury and Bournville while other zones provide fun and interaction for children and little ones such as Purple Planet, our 4D Chocolate adventure and the Cadabra ride.

At Cadbury World we strive to offer a customer experience that suits everyone so we are always happy to read your feedback.

Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Visited Good Friday. Was very busy, which is expected as it was Easter holidays. Very enjoyable experience, lots of free tasters as you go around and a good gift shop at the end.

Thank lauramichelle892018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CadburyWorldUK, Marketing Assistant at Cadbury World, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave Cadbury World a review.

Fantastic to read you enjoyed your experience at Cadbury World!!

As you can imagine Cadbury World is very popular with families and we do tend to be particularly busy at weekends and school holiday periods.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future for another visit that is choc-full of fun :)

Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

We booked as part of a National Holidays two day trip and were really excited to visit. We expected it to be busy with it being Easter Saturday but the staff were just unable to organise anything. The tours were running 30 minutes behind, when the tour starts you are herded into rooms that packed no seats were available. We actually stayed in one room twice so we were able to see the film showing properly. The queues in the tour were horrendous. Adults were bored. Kids were bored and miserable and crying. 30 minutes to see someone temper some chocolate - not worth the wait. The positives, the 4D cinema viewing was great and my highlight of the day but it can be a bit scary for some kids (looks like you are falling out of the sky), the history of Cadbury and Bournville is interesting and the gift shop chocolate is cheap compared to high street price. Book in advance as they stopped selling tickets before midday and if you are only coming for freebies you will be disappointed. I think booking weekday or late afternoon for the tour could be more beneficial. The place does have potential to be an amazing day out if they coordinated things better.

1  Thank Liam_v1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CadburyWorldUK, Marketing Assistant at Cadbury World, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave Cadbury World a review.

We are sorry you were not completely satisfied with your recent visit.

Thank you for highlighting the problems you experienced with queuing inside Cadbury World. As you can imagine Cadbury World is very popular with families and we do tend to be particularly busy at weekends and school holiday periods. We understand how frustrating queuing can be at attractions and have endeavoured to reduce congestion by controlling the time at which all our visitors enter the exhibition. However, speed of progress through the exhibition varies greatly from visitor to visitor, and occasionally this results in congestion at certain points.

We strive to offer a customer experience that suits everyone so we are always happy to read your feedback.

Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cadbury World also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Cadbury World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing