We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,162)
Filter reviews
1,162 results
Traveller rating
417
472
164
70
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
417
472
164
70
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wetherspoons pub luxury room city centre new street station bottled water german market nice room central birmingham single room train station christmas market great central location few minutes walk good size saturday night tea and coffee making facilities reception staff
Filter
Updating list...
385 - 390 of 1,162 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2016

Booked for the value, was pleasantly surprised by the excellent quality. Stayed for one night- the lovely room was on the top floor, with a big window, tea, coffee and biscuits. Beautiful building. Staff (reception, cleaners and bar) were extremely friendly and helpful. Was worried that it would be noisy because of the bar but it was fine. Great value breakfast, with plenty of choice. Also, the bar had a vast collection of ales and spirits and even served me a glass of milk (yes, milk!) at 11pm! Perfect location 2 minutes from the train station, within walking distance of the Town Hall, Museums etc. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
Thank elenxen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2016

Dear Elenxen,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5* review.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and found all of our staff helpful.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,
The Briar Rose Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016

Very clean and tidy good location staff very helpful. Ideal for our stag weekend right in the middle of the city.
Nothing was to much trouble for the staff to help us with our first visit to Birmingham

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
Thank Tallpauldj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2016

Dear Tallpauldj,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5* review.

We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff were helpful.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Many Thanks,
The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016

We arrived very late but the receptionist was very helpful. Our room was excellent although we could hear the beat of music from next door. We didnt really use the good facillities in the room as we had a train to catch.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marnia22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2016

Dear Marnia 22,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5* review.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, for the few hours you were hear.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

On the positive side ...
Excellent location.
The room was very good. Plenty of tea, coffee and bottled water. A sofa bed had been set up for my daughter to sleep in (did not look to comfortable to be honest - but she had no complaints about it...)
The bathroom was very good - excellent shower... A MUST for any hotel!!
The staff were very friendly and helpful - thank you for the extra towels and pillows!

On the negative side (the reason for a rating of only 3)...
The noise from the bar/bars along the street until 1am was difficult to deal with. The windows should really be more sound proofed...
The breakfast in the morning was very disappointing. It came out cold and looked like it had been cooked last week. (This was not included in the price by the way so we could have gone elsewhere...)

Conclusion... Not a great place for a family to come to (due to the noise) but if you are not planning an early night this would be perfect.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank DaveWidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2016

Dear DaveWidd,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and found our staff helpful.

We are very sorry to hear about the noise disturbance you encountered during your stay and the issues you had with your breakfast, but we thank you for bringing them to our attention so we can continue to improve.

We do hope the above issues don't discourage you from stay with us again.

Many Thanks,
The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2016

Location wise this is a great hotel after you battle your way through the throng of teenagers smoking and hanging around outside.
This is not a 'beautiful' or 'boutique' hotel. The lift was broken, ok that happens but it would have been nice if someone could have helped carry my suitcase up five flights of stairs.
After the assault up the stairs I arrived to a room that was hotter than a sauna. No fear there's a fan in the corner, that will be needed later. Then I noticed the noise from the ventilation units coming from the roof.
Definitely not a room with a view - the bedroom window faces straight on to a wall that is less than 1m away from it. Never mind I wouldn't be spending much time looking out the window.
On my return to the hotel that evening I told reception that the room was really noisy. The girl told me that it was because of the kitchen fans and they would be turned of at 10:30.
I fortunately took the lift back upstairs and laid in bed with the windows closed expecting the fans to go off any minute. They never did, all night!
At 2am the room was even hotter so I went to the fan to position it and gave in and opened the windows. The stand completely fell off it and i was left holding the stem. I then spent at least 10 minutes trying to rebuild it and lean it against a wall so it wouldn't fall over.
I was glad to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Yates82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist. at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2016

Dear Yates82,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel.

Please accept our deepest of apologies for the issues you encountered during your stay. Our staff do try there vest best to keep the front door clear for guests, however they are not always able to move along pedestrians.

The Noise disturbance you encountered during your stay was unfortunately from a neighbouring building, therefore I'm afraid we do not have any control over it. We are very sorry that our staff informed your incorrectly as to what this noise was.

once again please accept our sincerer apologies, and if you do wish to discuss this matter further please contact us via telephone:0121 634 8100

Kind Regards,
The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews