We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time machine”

Escape Live - Birmingham
Ranked #2 of 82 Fun & Games in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Escape Live is Birmingham's premier live escape game for groups of 2-6 people. You have 60 minutes to complete a mountain of puzzles and mysteries. The aim is simple: get out... before it's too late.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Played as a 2 (3 if you count baby bump) and enjoyed it - just got out with 4 mins to spare. Needed a few more clues than another room here but enjoyed it and the pressure to not get stuck in time! The room worked well with only 2 people. Thanks to Yewande for being a fab Time Princess!

Thank Megan1185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EscapeLiveUK, Public Relations Manager at Escape Live - Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Hi Megan!

Thank you for your feedback!

Well done for escaping Time Machine! There is always that pressure of being stuck in time and space forever, but at least you were the lucky ones to escape it!

We're so happy you all enjoyed your experience with us! And we look forward to you returning to us with your new little escapee! Congratulations to the pair of you!

And thank you for your kind words for your Games Master, our very own resident Time Princess "Yewande" will be thrilled that you had a great time!

Thank you and see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,787)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"escape room"
in 228 reviews
"dr wilsons office"
in 115 reviews
"great fun"
in 363 reviews
"game master"
in 106 reviews
"machine room"
in 46 reviews
"seconds to spare"
in 72 reviews
"team building"
in 72 reviews
"visited escape"
in 36 reviews
"wilson room"
in 28 reviews
"walkie talkie"
in 24 reviews
"explained everything"
in 37 reviews
"work colleagues"
in 36 reviews
"brilliant experience"
in 34 reviews
"escape game"
in 27 reviews
"birthday treat"
in 30 reviews
"great night"
in 25 reviews
"lab"
in 270 reviews
Filter

426 - 430 of 2,792 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

Thoroughly enjoyed our escape - managed to get out with 15 minutes left and only 2 clues having being told it was their lowest escape rate game for 2 people - although technically we were a 3 with the bump! Only downside is one of the locks is able to be opened without the correct code - they could do with getting this fixed. Ollie was a great game host

Thank Matt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EscapeLiveUK, Public Relations Manager at Escape Live - Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Hi Matt!

Thank you so much for your feedback!

15 minutes with 2 clues!? And only two/three of you!? Bravo!

We're so happy you all had a great time with us here at Escape Live!
Congratulations and good luck to the pair of you, and we look forward to seeing you both again soon, with a new junior escapee!

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Great evening out (or locked in!) at Escape Live, the room was challenging and rewarding and the staff (in particular our host Ellis) were really great, highly recommended!

Thank cabyrne2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EscapeLiveUK, Public Relations Manager at Escape Live - Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Hi there!

Thank you very much for your feedback from your visit with us!

We're so happy you enjoyed your "Night out Lock in" experience here at Escape Live, and we look forward to having you join us again soon!

Thank you for your kind words about our staff, we take great pride in our customer service, and we have passed your feedback onto your games master "Ellis".

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

The Lab escape room was brilliantly thought out, with the six of us thoroughly enjoying it. It was an immersive experience (which I don't say often), fully complete with in-date technology which integrated the puzzles well, graphics and actors that enhanced the aesthetics beautifully, and we were even supplied with our own dedicated lab clothing!

We have only tried out the Lab thus far, but we think this escape room in particular may be a bit too linear for six people. Although it was still plenty of fun coming up with ideas - and banter - for the latter half of the escape most of us were just standing around and watching the other two or three people do the physical side of the puzzle solving. But with that being said, this is minor and it certainly didn't subtract from the experience.

Rob was our game-master; a great host who explained the synopsis perfectly and enthusiastically. He might have been a bit quick to give out some of the hints, but otherwise they were written in a way that didn't outright give the answers, as well as written in a tone that understands the humour of our group. That alone makes myself and the others want to come back when we're around the area again, but combining that with the genius of the room designs means a solid thumbs up and a hearty recommendation from us.

Cheers!

Thank JoshuaW7080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EscapeLiveUK, Public Relations Manager at Escape Live - Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thank you for the kind words of feedback.

We are sorry you might have found the style of The Lab a tad linear for your group. I might recommend Time Machine for a more sporadic style of game play that sends the whole group in different directions.

Rob is indeed a great host, and tries to cater each game to the individual group. Here at Escape Live we try to avoid scripted responses where possible as we feel each set of escapees does indeed have their own sense of humour.

You must come back and see us again soon, we would love to hear what you think of your next room!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018

We did 2 of their rooms today.

First one was their hardest one, The Lab and we did it in 45 minutes… so not that hard then. It was by far the best room and it ranks as a decent better than average compared to others we’ve done. But not by much.

Puzzles were pretty good, but there are a lot of “do not touch” stickers. I mean, a lot. And one of the puzzles broke. But on the whole, an ok room. It’s not the best, but worth the trip.

Room 13, on the other hand, was a room full of pad-locks; a very average room. Bit disappointing and even more “do not touch” stickers, only this time also featuring green “do not mess” up stickers!

What let’s this place down is they’re far too concerned with having to reset the room. There’s a lot of stuff put in there to make it easier for them to reset the room after you’ve gone. And so you see loads of locks you can’t use with loads of these stickers all over the place.

We’ve done around 15 rooms at other places; lots of “do not stickers” - is not normal. They usually remove the redundant locks. Neither is: don’t look in here, because I’ll have to reset it.

They’re ok rooms though, but just: ok.

Thank steffp01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EscapeLiveUK, Guest Relations Manager at Escape Live - Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thanks for your feedback.

We were surprised to hear you felt there were "a lot" of do not touch stickers in the Lab. There are only in fact 2 in the whole game and having nothing to do with room resets. They simply house puzzle and prop mechanisms and therefore don't need to be accessed for you to enjoy your experience.

We we also surprised you felt there "loads of locks you can't use". That's simply not the case. If there is a lock or a puzzle in the game, it's there to be used.

At our venues we aim to have a cross section of games which use traditional locks and some that are more technology based with limited locks to cater for a cross section of customers.

We hope this answers your points and look forward to welcoming you to one of our venues again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Escape Live - Birmingham also viewed

 

Been to Escape Live - Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing