We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food/lousy table position”

Purchases Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 260 Restaurants in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$21
Description: Independently owned Fine Dining restaurant serving Modern European dishes, with a cocktail and wine bar with seating and an wonderful outdoor garden area, very popular with the theatre crowd perfect for a light snack or a that special meal.
Restaurant details
Description: Independently owned Fine Dining restaurant serving Modern European dishes, with a cocktail and wine bar with seating and an wonderful outdoor garden area, very popular with the theatre crowd perfect for a light snack or a that special meal.
Reviewed 9 October 2017

A relatively quiet Tuesday evening with a booking for after 8 we were shown to a table between the door to the garden and the kitchen when there were a number of alternatives available.
The food however was excellent. A 3 course dinner menu for £24.95. Starters of a trio of beetroot with goats cheese mousse, horseradish cream and walnuts were incredibly tasty. My wife had the marinated crayfish - beautifully presented and cooked.
Mains were a succulent braised ox cheek and a pan fried fillet of sea bream. Both beautifully cooked and presented.Just room for the vanilla rice pudding (a very generous portion).
The food deserves 5 stars - just make sure you are happy with your table before you sit down.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TheAFCWombles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateMarketing, Marketing Manager at Purchases Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thank you for your comments from your recent dinner with us at Purchases, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your meal and your feedback and praise will be passed over to our kitchen team. I do apologise for your disappointment with the table position, that particular table is also one of our most requested due to it's location in the conservatory and we understand that our customers have different preferences, although I completely understand your reasoning. When you next book with us, please do let us know that you dislike this position and of course we can add this to your customer profile to ensure you aren't seated there again.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Kate Pinder
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 178 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

I booked a table for 11 for my birthday and it was amazing... from the moment we arrived the staff were attentive and gave us lots of time in the bar. We were shown to our table when we were ready and offered some fantastic walnut or olive bread. We had some brilliant starters- the butternut squash soup and the tagliatelle were superb! The mains were also of exceptional
Quality and the portions were just the right size. What I didn't realise throughout the whole meal was that all the staff were aware that my partner had planned to propose to me, and the chef wrote will you marry me in chocolate for my partner to
Bring out after our meal. It was such a perfect evening, I cannot wait to return! Highly recommend Purchases for any special occasion.

1  Thank georgie2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateMarketing, Marketing Manager at Purchases Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Georgie,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your amazing review of your special meal with us at Purchases! From all the team, we send our massive Congratulations to you both and we were very pleased to have been part of your evening and that you will always have that special memory with us, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,

Kate Pinder
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

Starters and desserts bordering on Michelin star. We had the lighter lunch mains as didnt have a huge appetite and wanted dessert! Fishcakes were as nice as big fishcakes can be. There seems to be a posh amazing menu and a light lunch posh sandwiches/salads menu with it but we picked from both. Saw a few mains come outfrom the main menu and looked big portions for a lunch.

Amazing food and maybe a lot of variety for a reason. Just the main menu would be enough but the lighter menu looked great as well.

The setting is superb. Get the feel of a high class restaurant. Staff friendly and attentive, not stuffy at all.

Thanks for the great holiday meal.

Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateMarketing, Marketing Manager at Purchases Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your feedback on your recent meal with us at Purchases, we are extremely pleased you decided to choose to spend your holiday meal with us.
It was great to hear that you enjoyed everything and that you managed to have one of our divine desserts, these truly are a special treat!
You are correct in thinking we have a lot of variety on our menus, we want to be able to cater for all our customers depending on their appetite, budget and time schedules, with our lighter menu, set menus and then a la carte.
We appreciate your feedback and high rating, without your support we would not be the success we are on TripAdvisor and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Kate Pinder
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

This place has potential because it’s trying hard to be a bit different and generally succeeding. What is really disappointing is the price of their drinks £8 for a glass of wine?! - Really? Word spreads fast in Chichester and there’s an opportunity being missed here because each time I walk past the bar it’s usually empty. There’s a lot of money in Chichester but insulting prices are a real turn off.

Thank BizbozRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateMarketing, Marketing Manager at Purchases Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thank you for your comments, we do have an extensive wine collection full of different tastes, flavours and values, with something to suit all our customers. One of our most popular wines at Purchases, the Pieno Sud from Sicily, Italy in white, rosé and red is priced at only £3.90 for a glass and we do also offer our specialist wines being priced from£6.00 per glass.

Kind regards,

Kate Pinder
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Visited for dinner last Saturday on our wedding anniversary. The staff were efficient and attentive and gave very good service. The starters were very good and well presented. The main courses were less good. The sirloin steak was well cooked but the dish lacked any sauce option. The grouse breast came with a 'grue de cacao sauce' which completely overpowered the delicate flavour of the grouse. The desert of coffee ice cream was good as were the cheese and biscuits which came with a good variety of cheeses and crackers plus grapes and celery in just the right quantities. The restaurant was full and had a good atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Graham Arthur J... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateMarketing, Marketing Manager at Purchases Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Graham,

Thank you very much for leaving your feedback on your recent meal with us at Purchases. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your starters and dessert and found the service attentive, your comments regarding the grouse dish have been passed onto our team of chefs for further consideration.
I hope we do see you back at Purchases again soon.

Kind regards,

Kate Pinder
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Purchases Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to Purchases Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing