We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb!”

Review of Pitlands Barns

Pitlands Barns - south facing gardens
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pitlands Barns - south facing gardens
The Granary - kitchen The Granary - spacious entrance hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Pitlands Barns - south facing gardens
The Granary - kitchen
The Granary - spacious entrance hall
The Granary - spacious open plan sitting room
The Granary - spacious open plan living area
The Granary - dining table seating 14
The Granary - bedroom
The Granary - garden
The Cart Shed
The Cart Shed - kitchen
The Cart Shed - sitting and dining area
The Cart Shed - bedroom
The Stables
The Stables - kitchen
The Stables - sitting room
The Stables - bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
7 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Chichester, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lamalyred...
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed 21 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

A delight, from the warm welcome, complete with home made cake and a bottle of wine, to the beautifully appointed sitting room, kitchen, bedrooms and bathrooms. A big basket of logs stood ready next to the wood burner, complete with kindling and fire lighters, with milk in the fridge and teabags at the ready, we were soon lounging in front of a blazing fire admiring the view of the South Downs. We will return in the summer to enjoy dining on the patio, taking more long walks in the woods and dropping into the two nearby pubs for tasty meals. This time we stayed in the Cart Shed as there were only two of us, for next time we plan a family gathering - occupying all three barns. Can't wait! See you then Kelly and Philip! And thank you for a wonderful stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie N
Newquay, United Kingdom
1 review
“Pitland barns: The most luxurious accommodation in an idyllic setting”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We booked all three barns for our family, whom are scattered all around the world, to gather together and celebrate our lovely mums 70th birthday. The barns are stunning, designed and equipped to the highest possible standard. The setting was idyllic surrounded by the beauty of nature, deers, badgers and woodpeckers were regular sightings. It was so peaceful to just sit, in the south facing garden, and lap up all the tranquility and beauty the area had to offer. We had some lovely family fun walks through the woods. Den building and swinging from the tree swings was had by all. The 'Granary' was huge, the dining table comfortably accommodated 16 people and the lounge had four large sofas and a gorgeous log burner. We had some lovely meals and family times which we will remember forever. We can't thank the Huxham Family enough, a warm welcome from Kelly and Philip on our arrival and you so kindly accommodated all our needs and allowed the 2 dogs to join the party too. The tasty cake and wine went down a treat as well. We definitely hope to be back again. So many great memories thank you.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will T
1 review
“Beautiful, homely and a pleasure from start to finish”
Reviewed 19 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We hired all three self contained houses for a week in Jan 2015.
My wife's family flew in from Israel and my family drove down from Surrey + London.

The owners are fantastic! They were a pleasure to communicate with, prompt at responding to emails, and easy to reach once on site. They were very accommodating with our 2 large rhodesian ridgebacks.

Each of the 3 properties has its own modern kitchen and living rooms. You need only arrive with a smile and toothbrush as sheets, pots & pans, vacuum cleaners and even milk are provided!

Our favourite was using the enormous dining table (and living room) in The Granary for big family meals and breakfasts. The surrounding area is stunning to walk in and there is SO much to do locally (Portsmouth, Chichester, many beautiful National Trust parks + houses, many pubs).

Pitlands Barns has given all family members many VERY happy memories. All agreed they couldn't wait for me to book it again, only this time in summer. THANK YOU!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All 14 family members could sit at the Granary's enormous table + living room
Liked least: We had to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzie61L...
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Relaxing Stay in Wonderful Location”
Reviewed 9 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We have just enjoyed a relaxing stay in the most glorious setting. Pitlands Barns is set in beautiful Sussex countryside surrounded by many things to do. The accommodation (we were in The Granary) is luxurious, a first class conversion. The Huxhams were so welcoming to us throughout our stay, helpful and friendly. We were greeted on arrival with a bottle of wine an delicious sponge cake. Every last comfort is included and is of an excellent quality. The living area is spacious and comfortable... the log burner was much appreciated on a December evening. There are plenty of comfortable sofas for relaxing on and seating at the dining table for large parties. The kitchen had everything you could need. The bedrooms are spacious and the beds very comfortable. The bathrooms highly appointed. Everything has been thought of and is of top notch quality. I highly recommend this holiday home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling of luxury
Liked least: It was all excellent
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare B
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful stay in the most beautiful setting!”
Reviewed 8 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed at Pitlands Barns for my sisters hen weekend and couldn't have been more delighted with our choice of accommodation. The barns are stunning and done to such a high standard. The Huxhams were also incredibly welcoming - lovely cake and bottle of wine when we arrived. Thank you, thank you, for the most wonderful weekend.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing