We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great T-bone ”
Review of Windsor Grill

Windsor Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Windsor Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 274 Restaurants in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$44 - US$63
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Our passion for "simple, honest, food using only the finest ingredients" continues. Serving dry aged 35 day hung Aberdeenshire steaks and a large choice fish and shellfish. Windsor Grill is a real gem, just a stone's throw from Windsor's Long Walk and two minutes from the town centre. A warm welcome greets any visitor, a cosy ambiance is created by pretty wall lights and table oil lights which gently illuminate the abundance of wall hangings and soft furnishings.For meetings and social gatherings our private dining room is stylish and a discreet hideaway. Open Monday to Saturday dinner from 5.30Pm
Reviewed 16 December 2014 via mobile

Small place but great food. Make sure you book in advance or come early enough to get a table. Atmosphere is cosy, service good, wine card is interesting and the meat is delicious. If you love meat like i do, put the Windsor Grill on your map!
I would suggest the Cedre Heritage Malbec to drink with a great T-bone. ...

3  Thank yf7003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 315 of 523 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2014

To be honest I have been to the Windsor Grill twice before when it was owned by AWT. I'm not a big meat eater but do like a good Steak au Poivre.
I have quite a few food intolerances and it's quite difficult to find a restaurant with a varied menu that I can eat.
The steak was sublime as was the rest of the meal. The atmosphere is friendly and the staff are attentive without being in your space all the time.
I had some gifts under the table and was asked if it was my birthday. I was given a complimentary glass of bubbly to celebrate.
Would I come back for a fourth time? You bet. I have always had good food every time.

PS: the house champagne is very good, so give it a go!

Date of visit: December 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Melly57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2014

We went to Windsor for our wedding anniversary and this restuarant was recommended to us as good place for a steak dinner by the hotel concierge, as the hotel restuarant was closed for a Christmas function.
We were not disappointed, we had a lovely selection of fresh bread given to us, we decided to forgo the starter for a desert after our meal.
We both ordered the 9oz Fillet steaks which on the waitress recommendation were butter fried as we like our steaks done medium - well ( I know scralidge to Chefs ) but that's how we like them.
When they came to the table they were plated beautifully and tasted absolutely fantastic, we do enjoy a steak meal on special occasions and without doubt this was one of the best tasting steak meals we have enjoyed.
For food and service it is the place to visit should you like us enjoy your steaks, if this is number 22 of 168 on the ratings then other 21 must be something else !
Maybe it's becuase the Windsor Grill is not the largest restuarant in Windsor, and as its popular and due to the amount of covers it can due in one sitting, they do look to double up on table bookings.
As in our case we dined early 6.45pm as we left it late to book and we were informed on booking that the table had another booking at 8.30pm, this still gave us plenty of time to enjoy our meal and we never felt rushed.
Mr & Mrs Gibbs

Date of visit: December 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 909gibbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2014

In a town where many of the restaurants are mediocre, The Windsor Grill never disappoints! You'll be hard pushed to find better food locally, cooked to perfection by the wonderful David and his team. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming, and small attention to detail, combines to deliver a level of service that is second to none. That's why we keep returning, because they just get it so right! Brilliant, thank you.

Date of visit: December 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elles2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2014

And the fish sharing plate to start was super yummy. A little pricey but the right dish can make all the difference

Date of visit: September 2014
Thank juneyspoony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Windsor Grill also viewed

Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Old Windsor, Windsor
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to Windsor Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing