We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Ceredigion Museum

Ceredigion Museum
Ranked #4 of 25 things to do in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Ceredigion Museum is a living mediator between the past and present. We aim to reflect the history of the county through material evidence. Ceredigion Museum is based at the Coliseum, Aberystwyth, with additional facilities throughout the county. Along with the permanent displays the museum has a lively programme of temporary exhibitions and events. Admission is free
Reviewed 9 May 2018

Free entry and a lift to all floors made this a very pleasant attraction for me (I am in a wheelchair). Excellent local history exhibits.

Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly O, Marketing and Sustainability Officer at Ceredigion Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Hi Steven,
So glad you enjoyed your visit.
Hope to see you again soon
Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"music hall"
in 12 reviews
"three floors"
in 7 reviews
"tourist information"
in 10 reviews
"local history"
in 13 reviews
"on display"
in 14 reviews
"rainy day"
in 18 reviews
"welsh cottage"
in 4 reviews
"farm implements"
in 3 reviews
"household appliances"
in 3 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 17 reviews
"ground floor"
in 4 reviews
"interesting things"
in 3 reviews
"free entry"
in 10 reviews
"picture house"
in 3 reviews
"lovely setting"
in 3 reviews
"little gem"
in 5 reviews
"step back in time"
in 3 reviews
Filter

35 - 39 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2018

This is a great little museum to explore Aberystwyth's history, as well as a few other bits of history that aren't completely local.

Although not the biggest of museums, it is well worth a trip and to add to it, it is free so there is literally nothing to lose by popping in although I believe they ask for donations if you are able to.

It is filled with information about each piece of history and it is fascinating to learn more. I really think it's worthwhile for children and is a great place to spend a few hours on a rainy day.

There is a cafe on site which does lovely food and has a play area for children so that grown ups can attempt to eat in peace! My toddler had a really fantastic meal there for a reasonable price and they were more than helpful when he leftover some of his food and wanted to take it home.

It is wheelchair and pushchair friendly.

Thank Charlotte N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly O, Public Relations Manager at Ceredigion Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Hi Charlotte,
What a lovely review, thank you :)
We have lots going on over Summer for grown ups, kids and families so please keep an eye on our website and facebook page for details. In particular you might like our FREE Puppet Making workshops which will be led in both English and Welsh and our exciting puppet shows which are just a few £s each. Dates and times can be found on our website.
Hope to see you again soon
Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

Worth a visit to this free attraction to see Aberystwyth life in the past. Lots of displays of artifacts and pictures all housed in an old theatre. Excellent café on site. Also Tourist information bureau on ground floor. There is a lift to Museum.

Thank Trufflesnuffler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly O, Public Relations Manager at Ceredigion Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Hiya,
Thank you for your lovely review.
I hope you will pop in again to see our current exhibition Hope in the Great War which will be followed by Making a Splash on 14th July.
Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018

caffee not so good used to be brilliant now service not good food not so good prices gone up . wont go again

Thank jim1s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly O, Public Relations Manager at Ceredigion Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Hi Jim,
I am sorry you had a disappointing coffee. Thank you for letting us know, I will pass this on to the Coliseum Coffee House who I am sure will appreciate the feedback.
Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Loads to look at and there are often interesting activities for children. We visit every time we are in Aberystwyth and the children always enjoy themselves. The cage is brilliant and has a lovely little area for children to play too.

Thank higginsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly O, Public Relations Manager at Ceredigion Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Hiya,
Thank you for your lovely review.
Just to clarify for anyone who hasn't visited we don't have a "cage" for kids to play in (as far as I know) but we do have a brilliant "café" serving delicious food, cakes, coffees and smoothies and there is a little play area for kids ;)
Please keep an eye on our website and facebook for details of our Summer events programme, its packed with things for grown-ups, kids and families.
Hope to see you again soon,
Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ceredigion Museum also viewed

 
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 

Been to Ceredigion Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing